We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping ground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley-on-Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swiss Farm Touring and Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the Swiss Farm camp on a number of occasions this year, from spring through to late autumn. We experienced it when it was absolutely full, when the weather was hot and also in the wet and cold.(The gravel pitches make camping in the wet a mud free experience) Swiss Farm is one of the best camps we have stayed in whilst touring the UK. The facilities were always clean and well kept, even during Regatta time when it was so incredibly busy. The position is convenient for walking into town where there is an excellent range of shops, bars, cafés and restaurants. (A special word for The Kenton Theatre.....do see a show or play if you can. Very professional but small and intimate.) However what really makes this camp is the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they ALWAYS have a smile. We will be back next year.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Farm_Henley, Owner at Swiss Farm Touring and Camping, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you always find the team helpful and happy. I will pass on your comments to all concerned. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 561 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here twice last year. Once in May when it snowed and again in August for the Rewind festival. On both occasions the staff were very friendly and the facilities were exemplary. We will be going back again this year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Farm_Henley, Manager at Swiss Farm Touring and Camping, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review! We look forward to welcoming you to the park again in 2014 when we will have added a few little improvements to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, friendly, clean, safe, well thought out, organised. No complaints whatsoever about this site and would certainly recommend anyone to stay there. Location is excellent and Henley is a lovely town to visit and only a short walk away. Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank il0velife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Farm_Henley, Owner at Swiss Farm Touring and Camping, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time at Swiss Farm and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Swiss Farm for 4 nights at the end of August. It was only our second family camping trip, the first was to Hurley, a few miles up the road.

Swiss Farm had been recommended to us as it had a swimming pool and a small bar open in the evenings. It's a big site, lots of caravans as well as tents and there are two shower blocks. The main block is modern, shiny and kept nice and clean. It also has a bath if your children don't like showers which was really handy.

We were in field 1 which had a bit of a slope down towards a fishing lake, and was closer to the second shower block. Sadly I didn't see a cleaner there all week and although they left cloths out for people to clean up after themselves they often didn't bother. The result was that by10am the loos and showers were full of hair and a bit smelly.

The site itself was well looked after and the staff were lovely, really considerate and helpful - when we were there a couple arrived with a trailer tent but couldn't figure out how to put it up and one of the wardens came to help. They were also very observant regarding noise and disturbance.

Pool is cold, obviously, as its outside, but its clean and a great facility to have.

Overall Swiss Farm would probably be better if you were camping in a bigger family group, but for us it was a bit too big and the cleanliness of the showers was definitely an issue.

Room Tip: Try and get field 2 if you have children - it's near the pool and the play area and is flat - mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stripeyslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Farm_Henley, Owner at Swiss Farm Touring and Camping, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We generally get very positive feedback about our cleaning and we work hard to maintain high standards. During busy times we are unable to clean during the morning rush (between 7 and 10am) and you may find the facilities are not at their best by 10 am however they are swiftly dealt with and returned to their normal condition. Cleaning is carried out twice daily and I can assure you that this was the case during your stay. I am however sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and hope that we can do better for you if you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stopped a week at Swiss farm. Camping how it should be.No real noise after 10 30ish as all people who stop here respect each other. The toilets were spotless and cleaned at least twice or three times a day. The pitches are great with lots of private space. The walk into lovely Henley is less than 10 mins ( even with teenages!!) The shops in Henley are lovely and the restaurants were great too. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the two young bar staff they were not rude in anyway but a friendly smile would of gone a long way. We went to lovely pub in Henley instead with a really friendly and very helpful barman in the pub called Queen Victoria up the top end of Henley. Excellent campsite with excellent facilities and very friendly and helpfully reception staff.
We will return as soon as possible
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouldybaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss_Farm_Henley, Owner at Swiss Farm Touring and Camping, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your very positive review! I am glad that you enjoyed the park and were happy with the facilities and location. We have lots of plans for improving the park over the next few years and hope you will have a chance to visit again and see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here mid august and enjoyed the wide open space and the open air swimming pool . Nothing to grumble about here ! Great toilets great showers and loads of space for your kids to roam around . It also had a lovely little bar if there are no kids with you then you could relax and enjoy a few beers . A really good chill out campsite ....cool

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elfinlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our 5th time camping and we went with 3 other families for 3 nights. We stayed in field 1. The facilities generally are great and very clean and the showers were nice and hot (however showers in main shower block nearer reception far better than the block adjacent to field 1). The swimming pool was a little disappointing as the pool was cold and it was very crowded as the system of counting the people in the pool and then letting people in didn't seem to work but everything else was great. On one of the days we went fishing in the lake and caught over 10 small fish between all of the families and the little ones enjoyed feeding the ducks there. At night it was fairly quiet but some of us heard the pigs, crows and the cows. We were very lucky with the weather as it only rained a little at night. I would recommend to bring bikes as it was great fun doing bike rides in the local vicinity along the river. The only thing that let us down a bit was the sewage smell that we sometimes smelt on some of the days. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the camping experience but according to my ten year old daughter "make sure you bring marshmallows and a camp fire because the thing that made the camping trip the best camping trip so far was roasting marshmallows on the camp fire every evening."

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SullyWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
815 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Farm Touring and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Farm Touring and Camping

Address: Swiss Farm House Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Farm has been owned and run by the Borlase Family since 1946. Our five star landscaped park in Oxfordshire countryside is perfectly placed for guests wishing to visit London, Windsor and Oxford. The park is just a short walk from the beautiful town of Henley on Thames with it's fine shops and famous Royal Regatta course. Explore the area or relax on site and enjoy our wonderful facilities, walk by the Thames or cycle in the Chiltern Hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing