We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
95
44
13
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
44
13
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdress codeprivate members clubthe riverolder clientelepassing boatsold school charmpanna cottagreat views of the thameslarge comfortable roomlovely positionsmall fridgewalk in wardroberoom overlooking the thamesdeluxe roomeasy parkingrecently stayed heredecided to stay overnight
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2017

I stayed here for a night as a reciprocal club member. The experience was very enjoyable. We got a room with a balcony overlooking the lawn and the river. It was extremely relaxing to just spend a lazy afternoon at the balcony.

Dinner was served in the glasshouse by the river. The food was so-so but the river view made up for it. It was also very competitively priced.

Breakfast (both British and Continental) was included, which made us quite full!

The only down side was that the room was slightly small- there was barely room for both of us to open our suitcases. Otherwise, everyone was fine and I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lawn
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 18, 2017

Dear guneingdoe
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased that you are making the most of our reciprocal arrangement.
We have three different bedroom sizes, so when you next visit please do enquire about a 'King' or 'Deluxe' room.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,
Emma Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

We Stayed three days at this Club. The location is close to the city centre of Henley within walking distance with the Thames River at the bottom of the gardens.
The rooms were large, well laid out and furnished, with nice views across the gardens. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast buffet and menu included which was excellent with quick and pleasant service in a bright and airy room.
The club restaurant food in the dining room was excellent and well presented, service was good.
We shall return.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 12, 2017

Dear Charles C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and excellent food, so we are most pleased that you benefited from these, as well as our town centre location. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017

A private members club on the banks of a lovely stretch of the Thames, Phyllis Court is a combination of old time genteel club ambience and a modest , gently-paced march (well, a lesurely walk really) into the modern World. So, as well as seating in deep armchairs reading the papers , taking afternnon tea or a gin and tonic, one can join in Tribute rock band evening dances, wine tastings , rowing, and a miriad of other social and sporting activities. There are several restaurants and a decent bar with an outside terrace seating facing the river.
This visit was to the more casual of its eateries, The Conservatory.
As you would expect, it is housed in a modern-designed glass conservatory room on the corner of the main club house. There are extensive views over its manicured lawns, splendid established trees, the croquet lawns (which brag internationally known players and sometimes even hosts Eton College) and, of course, the river.
The current chef , Carl Jackson, arrived several months ago and is proving a great success. The menu, which has in the past been well regarded and included international and innovative food, has now introduced additional new dishes. This was my fourth visit to The Conservatory under the new chef and everything is looking dandy for the future, because all my meals there so far have been exceptional. The wine list is reasonable ( much influenced by the club's members of its Wine Section) though a tad conservative and short for me. Nonetheless, having ordered a 2014 Chablis ( a great vintage, if you can find it) which unfortunately was not available ,we were offered the 2015 which is a different wine altogether. So instead we opted for a Stellenbosch Chenin Blanc, which turned out delicious to accompany our soft shell crabs.
Worth a visit if you're in the historic, lovely market town of Henley-onThames

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

Our "basic" category room was very spacious and well appointed with a magnificent view over the River Thames. Every comfort was catered for, right down to an excellent selection of toiletries, etc., in the bathroom. After sleeping well in a comfortable bed a hearty breakfast awaited us, once again with a riverside view. Parking was not a problem as it would have been in the centre of Henley itself, which is only a short walk away. Congratulations to the whole team, and particularly the staff on duty who cared for us so well.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatComfortLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Spur of the moment dinner date in the "Orangery".
A step back in time private members club which offers genteel surroundings and service on the banks of the Thames.
Excellent service and food at a sensible price.
Everything about this establishment shouts quality without ramming it down your throat.
The food was great and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews