We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
$138
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Baskerville(Shiplake)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badgemore Park Golf Club(Henley-on-Thames)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leander Club(Henley-on-Thames)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Row Barge Inn(Henley-on-Thames)
$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
95
43
13
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
43
13
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdress codeprivate members clubthe riverolder clientelepassing boatsold school charmpanna cottagreat views of the thameslarge comfortable roomsmall fridgewalk in wardroberoom overlooking the thamesdeluxe roomlovely locationrecently stayed heredecided to stay overnighthenley regatta
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Everything about Phyllis Court Club is perfection for me. The staff are all very friendly, attentive, polite and helpful: every one of them is an absolute gem. The bedrooms are all very comfortable, warm and well equipped. The food in the restaurant is superb. The bar even serves good local beer. There is a quiet reading room which is well stocked with daily newspapers. The grounds are splendid, and very large. In my experience, everywhere which says "open for members only" is also open for anyone staying the night.

Phyllis Court Club offers an exceptionally high standard of service, which is so rare nowadays, even in very expensive hotels. I can see though why some hotel guests are put off, feeling uncomfortable with what they might see as it being a rather old-fashioned style of place, rather stuck in a time warp. But give me the old-fashioned high standard of service, anyday!

I do write with plenty of experience of Phyllis Court Club, as I have stayed there on well over 100 occasions over the last ten years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Phyllis Court Hotel has a timeless and courteous style, reminiscent of colonial ex-pat days. The customer service at the reception is most helpful, the bedrooms over-looking the river are very comfortable with super views over the finishing line of the Henley Regatta on the Thames.
The sweeping lawns down to the river are a delight to sit by during the early evening as cocktails and drinks are served outside of the Orangery Restaurant on the terrace.
All staff are couretous, well mannered, kind and approachable.
During my business trip of this week, I entertained both colleagues and my partner who joined me on the Friday evening. I took dinner in both the main restaurant where the service is just superb and in the grandstand overlooking the river which is a different experience again. The standard of wine as always is good, if slightly overpriced. The main restaurant is a very calm and pleasant dining experience with excellent service from the head waiter and team.
Thank you for another wonderful stay, always a delight to stay at Phyllis Court Hotel and see you next month.
Maureen Deary

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overloking the river are undoubtably the best ones to book if possible with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaureenDeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Positives:
* good and quiet location along the Thames, 5 min walk to the center
* staff was helpful and nice
* breakfast room is airy and pleasant

Negatives:
* shower not working, faulty television
* small room
* no bath, no hair dryer
* we were not told there was no room service when we booked

Overall
As described above, we had a few problems with the room. The staff was understanding and offered a discount (about 15%), but considering the final price, it was still very poor value for money...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodtripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I'll start with the positives (the only ones!): The location was lovely and the staff unfailingly helpful and polite (if in need of training), but £160 for a tiny (just enough space to walk around the bed and a bathroom which could barely accomodate ONE person!), grubby (cleaning was clearly haphazard - carpets thick with dust under the desk and bedside tables) double room with no bath (only a shower which didn't drain properly and wobbly sink taps), a faulty television, faulty phone, old mattress which sagged in the middle. Breakfast served with the cheapest sliced bread the market can offer and tasteless sausages and bacon. I could go on, but I think I've made my point. Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CareyGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This is a private club located right on the Thames in Henley on Thames on extensive grounds. Lovely large lawns leading down to the river. Beautiful building and lovely orangery looking out at the river where you can have breakfast or lunch. Large bar and outdoor stone patio facing the river. Our room was very large and modern, lovely decor, very large ensuite with beautiful fixtures. Large parking lot next to the hotel. All in all and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews