We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Loch Fyne Henley(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Horn Hotel(Sonning on Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great House At Sonning(Sonning on Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wee Waif(Charvil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
103
149
120
118
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
149
120
118
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterwedding receptionwedding breakfastlovely roomcar parkingviviennethamesvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 596 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2009

It was the week of the Henley feastival so they inflated their prices to £425 per night ,but this did include breakfast. When we got there we had two singles pushed together to make a double.We stayed there two nights costing £850. The money would have been better spent using the Chatherine wheel just down the road which is run by Wetherspoons.Breakfast table was so small plates overhung the table quite a bit, service was slow and customers kept waiting.All charges had 12.5% added to them for service, not many people are aware this can be removed at the customer request.We had dinner and drink elsewhere as we felt the prices were too high for such a run down hotel. Staff poorly trained and gave wrong information regarding times of breakfast. Room was made up for one person with towels and toiletries for one. We had to ask for more towels on both days.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark1962uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in July 2009. The room (at over GBP140/night) was dirty enough for us to use hand sanitiser after washing (see pics). We complained to reception to be greeted with a denial, and were told the manager was unavailable. No apology. No offer of an alternative. We left very unhappy, and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone expecting cleanliness and courtesy from the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Attended a conference in June and we could not have received more attention! The food was great and we stayed for one night in a superb room overlooking the river Thames. We had an abundant breakfast the next morning. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but there was no noise or disturbances. I would recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucylook48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I have stayed in all grades of hotels all over the world but this one takes the prize for being a total joke. Its trying to be upper-class but can't even get the basics right.

Check in - they got our name wrong on the booking, but when we tried to correct this with them they seemed totally perplexed on how to do it.

The Stairs - leading to the bedrooms are broken so its very easy to trip and fall when using them. They also polish the handrails so when you trip and grab them you just slip and can't grip them.

The Room - had water leak damage on the ceiling in 3 separate locations. The toilet cistern lid was broken in half. The shower/bath was very run down with lime scale everywhere and the tile grouting needed replaced.

The Bed - sheets had a burn mark on them, plain white sheets with a 50pence size burn mark and the chamber staff still but it on the bed. Not very professional.

Room Key - had a massive lead weight attached to it (so that it wouldn't get lost) which made it totally impractical to carry around with you. I decided to try and leave it at reception while we went and looked around town, but as soon as I asked the receptionist she started checking us out. The odd thing is she only checked us in an hour earlier but she thought nothing about checking us out so quickly. She was totally clueless or maybe this happens allot!.

The Breakfast - was cheap and nasty to put it politely. The full English breakfast consisted of egg, black pudding, 1 sausage, 1 rash of bacon, half a mushroom, half a tomato. No baked beans and no hash brown. It was a total disappointment visually and the taste was bit good. Allot of people in the breakfast room tried it and then didn't eat it. You have to cook your own toast but the bread isn't in a bread basket or anything professional looking, its in its shop brought plastic bag. There were no muffins, no croissants, no pastries. there were 2 choices of cereal, weetabix & branflakes, but no fruit or yoghurt. The breakfast was a disgrace.

The Staff - in general don't want anything to do with the customers. They try everything to ignore you and normally look straight through you and then walk right past like your not even there. This was most frustrating when trying to order breakfast. We ended up sitting for about 30 minutes while they continously walked past us ignoring us the whole time. This wouldn't of been so bad but the breakfast room wasn't even that busy. At other times we had staff push past us and not even say excuse me or sorry, they just pushed past and went on with their job like we were in their way.

The Hotel - after looking around most of the hotel I saw allot in very poor shape and disrepair. This is a total disgrace considering the amount of money you pay to stay there.
On the positive side, we didn't get food poisning and it was by the river in Henley so if you are lucky enough! to get a room with a river view then it is a very nice view.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groovynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Avoid the rooms in the courtyard unless you are deaf and either a midget or travelling alone. We stayed in 407 which was sold as a double room. It looked great but was unfortunately the size of a postage stamp and completely inappropriate for a couple to stay in. The bed was tiny and the duvet only large enough to cover one person. The room is also very dark with almost no natural light. The noise from the ground floor function room was also appalling. I'm usually quite tolerant but this was unbelievably loud - the room was only separated from their function room by a small courtyard which was blearing out crap music all night through some patio doors that were jammed open. This was even worse for the couple in the room next door who had to cope with empty beer bottles being dumped into a bin outside their room window all night. They were actually more unhappy than we were the following morning. The staff were very apologetic as if they had heard it all before. Whoever owns this hotel has quite deliberately decided they care less about their guests than the money these rooms may generate. Whoever you are you deserve a good kicking.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews