We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Loch Fyne Henley(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Horn Hotel(Sonning on Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great House At Sonning(Sonning on Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wee Waif(Charvil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
103
149
120
118
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
149
120
118
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterwedding receptionwedding breakfastlovely roomcar parkingviviennethamesvenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 596 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently just for one night. Staff were great. Stayed in room across court yard. It was modern and clean the shower was lovely. Only gripe no where proper to plug kettle in. A little bit pricey but an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjayjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

An excellent hotel - staff are great and nothing is too much trouble. Good food at reasonable prices. Room 100 is one of the best - although all the rooms pretty large and spacious. Overall, a great place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasOR677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here for business the rooms are tired and dated with old and worn mattresses as well as a dirty toilet on check in, I would also recommend not taking a room on the front as they are not well sound proofed given the traffic outside. The service could also do with some improvement, not very customer focused and at times not enough staff as there was no one yo check me in when the receptionist was on the phone for 5 minutes. The one thing I would complement them on was the food for lunch during our meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here with my wife as our first solo night away since the arrival of our now one year old. We had a hot air balloon ride arranged for the following morning, So this was to be the perfect weekend. OH what a mistake that was.

On arrival we were told they had a wedding on, (not told this when booked 2 months previously) We were then given a room across the car park, sorry, courtyard as they call it. It was full to the brim with cars, so we couldn’t even use the car park, we had to park in a public car park 10 minutes walk away, and pay £8 for the privilege, and the car has to be moved from the public car park before 9 the next morning or you get fined. (no problem for us as we had to get up at 5:30 for our hot air balloon) We could hardly get to our room as the cars in the car park, Sorry again, courtyard, where blocking our path to the room.

We fought our way through to be meet with the smallest of rooms that stank of air freshener. It's no exaggeration to say my single garage at home is bigger than the room, with a TV the size the average mobile phone mounted to the wall.

We asked to move rooms as we were worried about the cars moving around after the wedding and we had to be up at 5:30, to which we got a blank stare and “we're fully booked, sorry”.

The wedding was VERY loud and just across the car park from us, with double doors opened on to the car park. That went on till 12:00 and the guests where moving about till gone 1 in the morning, And with the walls being made of material thinner than paper, it goes without saying that we only got to sleep after 1 AM. So 4 hours sleep was all we got.

Also to add, Of the 6 celling spot lights in the room, only 3 worked, leaving the bathroom in particular, very dark. I also took my towel back to reception when we left as it had a hole in it and was filthy.
All this for £145 a night. I don’t care if I’m staying in Mayfair, Henley on Themes or the Bronx, the basics should always be met when I’m paying such a high price.

STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL. It’s a shame I have to give this a star rating, as I feel 1 star is 15/16ths to much.

One good thing of note is it's walking distance to The little angel, restaurant. If only they did rooms there you wouldn’t have to return to the hovel that is the red lion.

Room Tip: Go else where, it's the only chance you'll have to get a room worth paying for.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked a standard room online, but when we arrived we had been upgraded to the Duke of Marlborough room because the hotel was pretty empty that night. It was a marvelous, enormous room with a great view of the river. The hotel doesn't get five stars because the basin in the bathroom was pretty much non-functional. We didn't complain because we didn't want to give up the room, but we wrote up the problem on the complaint sheet when we checked out the next morning. It took a lot of effort on the part of the staff to ignore the fact the taps on the basin hadn't been working properly for a while. Otherwise the room was fantastic. The bed was comfortable, although a bit stingy on the number of pillows for a king size bed. Loved the view of the river from the enormous windows. We ate dinner in the hotel. The food was wonderful, well done, even though we were the only people in the dining room on this quiet night. The next morning we had breakfast there. Adequate buffet of cereal, fruit, and yogurt, plus cheese and cold cuts in the German style. Good hot coffee, served upon request. The "full English breakfast" was adequate, but the most disappointing cooked breakfast we'd had in our entire holiday in England. All the staff seem to be Eastern European, and while they all offered service with a smile and did their best to help, their ability to speak English covered a wide range, hence the request that we write down the problems with the bathroom basin instead of simply explaining them. We appreciated being able to park the car in the hotel parking lot, even if we had to pay extra, because parking in Henley can be challenging.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews