We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quite simply an amazing way to appreciate the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Boat Geanna

A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Enjoy dining overlooking some of the best views of the River Thames
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A delightful 4 star luxury boat on the River Thames. A villa on water but with a cruise included
Enjoy dining overlooking some of the best views of the River Thames
Henley-On-Thames where Boat geanna is moored during your stay
Modern fitted kitchen with all mod coms
Dishwasher comes as standard on Boat geanna - no washing up!
Sail through some of the most stunning scenery on Boat Geanna
Cabin 1 - twin cabin with ensuite and satellite TV /DVD
all cabins have ensuite with shower, WC and basin.
A fuel burner stove keeps the boat cosy & warm in the cooler months.
Cabin 3 -All cabins have hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities & TV
Cabin 3 - Double with drop down bunk bed
Cabin 2 - twin cabin with ensuite and satellite TV
Satellite TV and hairdryers are in each cabin
Explore some of the most stunning parts of the River Thames during your 2 hour complimentary cruise
Enjoy a boating holiday on River Thames during your stay - book an optional longer cruise
Plasma TV & DVD in living room
Enjoy the changing views outside your window
Outside dining with stunning everchanging views
enjoy the wildlife and peace and tranquility
Enjoy a complimentary 2 hour cruise as part of your stay
Cruise past The Folly at Temple Island, Henley-On-Thames
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nkamal10
Agra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite simply an amazing way to appreciate the beauty of England!”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second trip on Geanna - two families with 3 kids each (plenty of crew!!) and it is the amount of space on Geanna that keeps us coming back. Beautiful, large but easy to manoeuvre boat, well equipped, excellent instructions and handover. Jane was very accommodating and went out of her way to sort out our poor organisational skills! We have had good weather and rain but amazing experience every time. Getting to Cliveden House and mooring up was definitely a highlight. Getting into the locks without bumping the sides brought a sense of pride! Overall, fantastic way to see how beautiful this small island of ours is. Booking again next year once the chaos of summer holidays are over.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. We would love to see you all again. Excellent crew and helmsmanship! Well done for achieving your RYA Inlandwaterways as well! Jane, Rob and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackhuk
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Large, well equipped boat with spacious living areas”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Large, well equipped boat. Bedrooms as expected but bathrooms quite small. Boat easy to drive and responsive. Jane and Rob very helpful in initial set up and training.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. You guys were terrific guests. We take on board your comments about size of bathrooms but to enable each of the 3 cabins to have an ensuite, some size had to be compensated for. So no queues for the bathroom on board! Hope to see you again soon. Many thanks again for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony_zx9r
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Geanna - a lovely place to spend time on the river”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay on the Geanna. The extra space you get with a wide beam boat makes your time onboard much more comfortable over the usual narrowboat. This is especially noticeable in the lounge and kitchen areas. The boat is well equipped with everything you need to make you feel at home.
We travelled from Caversham up to Abingdon and back on a 4 night break. We found plenty of places along the way to stop and lots of pubs to visit for lunch or evening meals. The boat is large and it is tricky to see the where the bow is when parking so take walkie-talkies and have someone at the front guiding you in. Other than that the boat is very easy to manoeuvre and of course the Thames is very wide which helps. Jane and Rob were both very nice and did a great job of settling us in and teaching us how to operate the boat. I am sure we will be back in the future for another trip on the Thames.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
We really appreciate your comments and thank you for your booking. We hope to see you again in the future. Jane and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trishslad...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Geanna boat”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spacious, fully functional, easy to handle. Beds very comfy.
Jane and Rob were a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was too much trouble.
Everything explained very clearly.
Only negative thing to say is it was a shame we couldn't go down the kennet and Avon river as the boat was too large.
Look forward to another visit and will definitely use "my river cruising" again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments . We'd love to see you again and are delighted you had a great holiday. Jane and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilkin...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is a great family holiday where everyone works as a team and has lots of fun”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Geanna is a comfortable boat with everything you need provided, including towels, linen, bathroom essentials and a well equipped kitchen. It was clean, tidy and cosy. We went downstream from the pick up point and the River Thames provided lots of places to stop and moor up and stunning countryside views. It was a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday which we would do again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you had a great holiday and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Myrivercruising team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamW9...
Chilterns, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter cruise down the Thames”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Geanna is a well equipped broad beam river boat with 3 separate bedrooms plus additional areas that comfortably slept our large family of 7. Jayne provided a good overview of Geanna on our arrival along with a guided trip upstream and through our first lock. Geanna's size looks daunting at first but she is very gentle and easy to control as long as you take things steady. Her galley was well equipped although we only used it for cooked breakfasts and booked dinner at various pubs on our route.

All the family pitched in, operating locks and handling berthing, ropes, and tying her up every stop. The leisurely pace of a river trip allows you to slow down and talk or read or just watch the countryside pass by. A very relaxing 4 days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
We really appreciate your comments and are glad you liked Boat Geanna and had a relaxing break. Thank you for booking with us and we hope to see you again. Jane and the Myrivercruising team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S
2 reviews
“Lovely four day family cruise Henley to Windsor and back”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having been on Geanna in July for a friends 50th birthday weekend we booked the boat for a family four day cruise with our three teenagers and two dogs. The kids had not been on a cruise before and were worried and excited at the same time. From Henley we stopped overnight at Cookham and then on to Windsor and returned again via Cookham. We were lucky with the weather and the kids enjoyed helping at the locks and driving the boat under supervision. We all enjoyed the passing scenery, the relaxed pace and the friendly banter from the lockkeepers and other crews. The dogs also enjoyed the many swims and walks. The boat was comfortable and spacious and had all the amenities we needed for 4 days. A very enjoyable and different family short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
We're delighted to see you again and thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again next year. Jane and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing