We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Angel

The Little Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Little Angel is all things to all people. It is a historic, perfectly placed pub and eating house at the foot of Remenham Lane, just before you go over Henley bridge into Henley on Thames. With a large car park, a reputation for great service, food and ambience, this pub is the busiest in the area and deservedly is on most itineraries of anyone visiting Henley on Thames. From the outside, it looks a quaint little pub but enter its hallowed doorway and you will find the most unique, beautifully designed space, with space being a key word. They can seat over 100 without a problem and can hold private functions for over 350 standing. Weddings, corporate functions, you name it, they can do it. They have a superb, professional and friendly team that can assist with most requests. Food is seasonal, fresh, cooked to order and with quarterly changing A la Carte and daily delicious specials, this pub is patronised all year round for lunch, dinner, drinks at their large and buzzy bar or when weather shows some joy, in their large, patioed garden that looks onto the quintessential Henley Cricket Club playing grounds. Jugs of Pimms, Pitchers of beer sit comfortably alongside ice buckets full of champagne and provence rose. If you haven't been to Henley or to The Little Angel, it is well worth a visit. The historic River Thames is just 100 yards away. Walk to it, from it or drive, as you wish but do GO!
Dondra, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went here for a midweek business lunch. I was a little early but sat at the bar and was nicely entertained by the charming and friendly bar staff which made a good early impression that was wholly lived up to.

Menu was inviting, service was prompt and friendly and the food was delicious. Perfect place for a quiet lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    144
    40
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, Great Ambience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting this place since a while, as it is close to my cricket training ground. The food here tastes good and you just can't beat the ambience. Lovely staff and fantastic location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Omkar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A great place to spend Sunday lunch time, great staff, vibrant atmosphere, fab menu - roasts are heavenly. But to avoid disappointment make sure you book first. So many people arrived only to be disappointed as all the tables were booked. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Otium54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Experience but not in the "Hurricane Season"!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked for a 14:00hrs Sunday lunch and arrived at 13:00hrs expecting to coast on a few drinks before being invited to our table closer to 14:00hrs. Instead we were offered our table at 13:00hrs and so began an afternoon of good food and drink but most significantly, great atmosphere! The food was slow but the pub was equally busy. Our food service was not as fast, as savoury or as delectable as I would have liked but the staff all possessed a wonderful, compensating attitude involving good humour, wit and some banter that made food and hunger pangs dissipate. When the food finally came it was good but not to die for. My vegeterian wife went for a Halloumi Cheese dish which she was not impressed with overall. "I thought that the dish would have grilled Halloumi cheese but instead it contained baked Halloumi cheese which was not as delicious and rather stodgy" I opted for the guinea fowl which was good but not delicious. Well done but still too small a piece of bird, the jus supplied was flat, lacking any expected savoury qualities. This would have been classed as good amateur home cooking at best! The other 2 of our party opted for the salmon fish cake which looked large, dry-ish and somewhat painstaking to eat, quite literally all by itself on a plate! I shall give this place another try someday as I have faith that it is probably better than I know. I feel I just caught the chef in the middle of a food preparation hurricane!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank namkcos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Took my mother and sons for Sunday lunch. Friendly response to email booking. Good atmosphere, lovely home tasting cooking and friendly service (esp Toby ). Really delicious poached pear!!

Helpful?
Thank Lana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Angel also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Little Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing