We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start and went downhill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Angel

The Little Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Little Angel is all things to all people. It is a historic, perfectly placed pub and eating house at the foot of Remenham Lane, just before you go over Henley bridge into Henley on Thames. With a large car park, a reputation for great service, food and ambience, this pub is the busiest in the area and deservedly is on most itineraries of anyone visiting Henley on Thames. From the outside, it looks a quaint little pub but enter its hallowed doorway and you will find the most unique, beautifully designed space, with space being a key word. They can seat over 100 without a problem and can hold private functions for over 350 standing. Weddings, corporate functions, you name it, they can do it. They have a superb, professional and friendly team that can assist with most requests. Food is seasonal, fresh, cooked to order and with quarterly changing A la Carte and daily delicious specials, this pub is patronised all year round for lunch, dinner, drinks at their large and buzzy bar or when weather shows some joy, in their large, patioed garden that looks onto the quintessential Henley Cricket Club playing grounds. Jugs of Pimms, Pitchers of beer sit comfortably alongside ice buckets full of champagne and provence rose. If you haven't been to Henley or to The Little Angel, it is well worth a visit. The historic River Thames is just 100 yards away. Walk to it, from it or drive, as you wish but do GO!
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
734 reviews
532 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Great start and went downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A warm welcome at the bar and good start, but then things gradually went downhill. Nice location close to the river and ample parking outside. Good drinks choice and very good food menu. As our meal wore on the staff became less attentive and we had to go up to the bar to both ask for the bill and then to pay. It was quiet, so this was particularly disappointing. The landlord was on duty and seemed to fuss over regulars, so if you are a regular that's good news for you if you warm to the landlord. We were a party of 6, which was the biggest group in a sparsely filled restaurant, but that didn't seem to warrant even a comment or question about whether or not we were enjoying our meals. This place could so easily get a 4 or 5 by trying a little harder. I will stick with Villa Marina, where you always get a warm welcome and care and attention for similar money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    145
    40
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Free parking and outside seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Driving from Oxford to the South coast we thought we'd explore Henley on Thames on the way home. I just hate to pay for parking, especially at 6pm on a Sunday evening. Couldn't find free street parking drove over the Bridge out of Henley and pulled into Little Angel. And it was. Staff were really tip top, meal served quickly. Real poached eggs with real hollandaise on a muffin and ham and spinach. we both ate the same. It was yummy. We;d had a good breakfast and good lunch so a snack ticked the box. We sat outside and enjoyed the warmth of the evening sun, had to move about to get away from smokers and shade. We had a seat by the cricket pitch and all I could say was loverly!! Could have stayed longer and will make a detour to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gapyeargrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Put it politely, stuffed full of scrumminess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a lovely restaurant and pub. The staff were genuinely friendly, the menu offered something for everyone and they catered for my fussy son. The food was of such a great quality and price wise, I felt well priced. It's been a long time since I felt 100% fully satisfied after just a starter, lovely sharing platter, and chicken supreme with the best jus. My mum had a great chunk of locally bred belly pork and the burger my dad had was immense.
We will return, the ambience and surroundings made for a lovely experience. You can also watch the cricket next door

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Patio Area with a View to the Cricket Field”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If the weather is good - the Little Angel's ourltside area great for enjoying the view to the cricket.

We had a starter of salt and pepper squid on a chorizo and white bean tomato cassoulet - it was tasty but a bit of a shame that each portion only had FOUR squid rings when they should have been the main ingredient.

The mains were generally good and looked very appetising: roast lamb salad and a sea trout fillet on samphire and baby onions. However, the sea trout could have done with another component - maybe a sauce or a few new potatoes.

We had Eton Mess and Lemon Tart for pudding - all delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PEMtheDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Second time I've met up with friends and family here.
Service was excellent, as before, and the food very good.
I find it hard to reconcile my visits with some of the comments here, but I would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Jimbo_J99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Angel also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Little Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing