We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage with south-facing patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage with south-facing patio area
Henry VIII cottage is accessed through a medieval passageway between Anne Boleyn and Tudor Cottages Private gate and access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Front of cottage with south-facing patio area
Henry VIII cottage is accessed through a medieval passageway between Anne Boleyn and Tudor Cottages
Private gate and access
Front living room
Front living room
Dining room
West bedroom (we call it the 'Garden room', because of its views
South bedroom
Master bedroom with en-suite
Master bedroom
Master bedroom window
Dining room with doors leading to patio
Hallway window
Modern kitchen with hob, oven, fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer
Upstairs family bathroom
The secluded patio area is great for summer BBQs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan M
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

My husband and I stayed here with our two adult children for two weeks. Charming, comfortable, and very well provisioned we all agree the cottage was a wonderful base from which to explore the area. After busy days hiking and sight-seeing, we loved returning to a comfortable couch or stuffed chair in the tasteful, cozy sitting rooms. The spacious and lovely courtyard was another favorite spot to unwind. The kitchen was filled with quality appliances, tools and dishes and though tempted to cook, we instead set off on foot to enjoy meals in the numerous restaurants and pubs in Henley or grabbed a cab to visit other eateries in nearby villages.

The cottage is close to everything but also quietly located at the very back of an absolutely charming building on a lively street. We never heard any road noise, rather just the lovely chiming of church bells and the chirping of magpies, doves, and blackbirds.

And finally, no review of The Henry VIII Cottage is complete without mentioning Michael and Linda. Courteous, fun, and ready to help. They certainly played an important role in making our vacation a success. The entire family is delighted to have met them and their dear dog, Daisy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2018
Hi Susan, Thank you for the lovely words, we really enjoyed having you all to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. The Henley festival season is in full flow with the Regattas, music and literay festivals to follow so lots of fun ahead of us. Linda and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for a stay in Henley”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic historic house. Very well equipped kitchen - everything you could want. Tastefully decorated. Quiet location despite being in the centre of town. Easy to walk to everything. Good sized bedrooms, though lacking storage a little. No allocated parking but you can get a visitor pass from the Town Hall for a few pounds. Great hosts - very helpful and great communication.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Henry VIII Cottage - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This charming cottage is located in a perfect part of Henley-on-Thames -- easily walkable to restaurants, pubs, hotels and the lovely river walk. The Henry VII Cottage is hidden away with its own courtyard where we spent each evening unwinding after our day. The cottage has amazing features of the era when it was built with all the updated amenities you will be looking for. Michael and Linda have thought of everything you will need to make your stay perfect. We hated to leave, but we'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annabel33...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable character cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thankyou Michael and Linda for providing a wonderful cottage to stay in, with so much character. Very well equipped and set up- upstairs 3 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms including an ensuite with a walk in shower; downstairs 2 living areas, dining table and great kitchen with all you need to cook up a feast, though shops (including a Waitrose supermarket) and restaurants 5 minute walk away to save the work. Lovely back garden and table setting.
Short walk to the river and all the shops/sights.
Met by Michael and showed around cottage and thankyou for the supplies left- milk, juice, tea, coffee and biscuits.
Hope to be able to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poodlehea...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need and more”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This cottage is in a fantastic location a very short walk to the river and the centre of the town. The cottage is extremely clean, modern and very well equipped.

Micheal and Linda made our break even more relaxing with meeting us on our arrival with keys to show us around the property. They also put water down for Hector the dog and left him some treats and poo bags, which was very thoughtful and he loved the treats.

The outdoor area would be perfect for BBQs in the summer and was great for the dog as it was enclosed.

We will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing