We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Row Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Row Barge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this pub as a place to stay. It is situated within easy walking distance from the centre of Henley with all the amenities that this quaint English town has to offer. The accommodation is very clean and has a friendly atmosphere, and for any Americans who wish to stay I would recommend room number one as the bed is supersize !!

The locals are very chatty and friendly as are the staff, and the bar food and cooked breakfast are excellent.Another review complained about the breakfast, but the staff are so accommodating that I am sure that more options would have been catered for if they had had a friendly word with the chef.

I would definitely stay there again .. the pub is quite small and higgle de piggledy but this adds to its charm and can only be expected of such an ancient property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    27
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
58
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We called ahead but really gave no notice to our visit...about 5 minutes really...but were greeted warmly and had lots of help to unload and carry our luggage. Very spacious clean room and quaint bathroom..well equipped. All floors were sloping but that made it interesting and quirky and niot really unexpected since the pub itself was quite old and historic. Lovely home cooked breakfast in the morning. Friendly locals..A great place to stay!! Try it!You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the first room up a few stairs to the left...huge room and giant bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a lovely family run this pub. Very welcoming even though we arrived in the middle of a private wedding party - funnily the party guests weren't as welcoming! Never mind.
The room was spottlessly clean, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom also nice. Stairs up were a bit of a climb but it is a quaint old place.
Very well positioned - away from the main drag, just, so not too noisey.
Breakfast! It's worth the stay for the fry up. So if you like a full English, make the trip, even if you don't need to go to Henley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreeFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
517 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night after a meal at The Hinds head in Bray. Good location and a great cooked breakfast. If your in room 4 you may have brush up on your climbing skills as its up a pretty steep set of stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renoir999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very clean B & B with comfy beds. This is an historic pub and the room had lots of character & olde worlde charm. But it was cramped. There was no wardrobe and limited floor space: we had a twin ( Room 3?) The bathroom was very narrow but there was plenty of hot water: there was no bath, which is always very welcome when you have been walking on the Thames Path!
The staff were very friendly and we had an enjoyable nightcap in the bar, with friendly locals. However, 2 large glasses of red wine were around £9 if my memory serves me right. We thought that was expensive.
The breakfast was fine, although it would have been good to have a toast rack and butter our own toast: it was pre-spread and I don't think it was real butter.
The pub is just 5 minutes walk into town. Overall, for the price we paid, I would definately recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Room 1 was much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great bar, great rooms and great breakfasts. i stayed here with a friend for one night and had a really nice evening. It has a fabulous location being close to the main high street.
The owner Jo and his partner are charming company.
I highly recommend it and will be going back.

Darren

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren1965503773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and hubby stayed for 2 nights. 2 minutes walk into centre of town. A friendly, traditional pub, with just 4 rooms. Clean, charismatic rooms, with all you need for an overnight stay.

Bar staff friendly especially the chef, a really nice bloke who offered to cook a meal for us even after his shift ended. The best breakfast you can imagine.

Parking is available in the small road directly opposite the pub. Ask the locals in the pub for the access code to the gate!

Book it and enjoy!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Row Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Row Barge Inn

Property: The Row Barge Inn
Address: 37 West Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Row Barge is one of Henley’s oldest coaching inns. Not far from the town centre, you can find us 100 yards from the Town Hall on West Street, just behind the fire station. In a quiet residential area yet only moments from the centre of town and the stunning walks along the Thames, this 16th Century traditional pub will satisfy those in search of a good drink, great home-cooked food and a warm and comforting welcome, for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Row Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Row Barge Hotel Henley-On-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing