We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place -preferable to Hotel Du Vin!”
Review of The Row Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Row Barge Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I am writing the review from the Row Barge as I am staying here for a few days while my husband works in the area. Our room is great (No1) and was very clean and has everything we need. Feels warm and homely and all the staff are friendly to us. In fact, nothing is too much trouble and a late check-out has been arranged for me and this means the world!
We have been allowed to park our car, in the car park of the pub's chain, by Waitrose just 5 minutes walk away. This has saved us a lot of hassle and money.
You will need to bring your own toiletries but small soap bars are provided. Towels and bedding are great. We slept well on the memory foam matress. There is a hairdryer and iron in the room and ironing board available. We have 2 bottles of water each day and there are tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast is a full English and plenty to set you up for the day served with large glass of orange juice and fresh coffee or tea.
When staying in Henley again, I will choose this place above the Hotel Du Vin. I am very impressed!

Room Tip: There is a shower and bath in room 1 but just a bath in the room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed here on Friday 4th Nov. On arrival we were greated and made to feel most welcome. We'd booked for a one night stay. After a brief introduction we were shown to our room. This is an old building that has been altered to allow for 4 guest room's, ours was room no.1, all the rooms were bright and very clean. But still keeping features of the original interior. The bed was very comfortable, bedding and towel really nice along with all the decor.

We had our evening meal in the bar, all home made, very tasty and excellent value for money. Beer was hmmm lush.

After a good night sleep we enjoyed a full cooked breakfast. In summary, nothing was too much trouble, fantastic value for money and friendly staff. We will be going back very soon.

Parking is available in the nearby car park and free after 6pm until mid morning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Old fashioned pub with contemporary rooms/accommodations.

Watch your head! ...especially after a few pints of Oxford Gold :-)

Food is fabulous... welcome is homely.... parking isn't easy and there's a slight walk up a hill to get there, but if you can cope with that minor inconvenience, you are in for a treat...

Breakfast is probably one of the best I've had anywhere in the UK; newspaper ready for you when you arrive... fresh juice, fresh coffee... they really could not do more for you if they tried... cannot be faulted...

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again... struggling to think of any reason not to! ...in fact I've traded staying at a four star hotel because I much prefer the relaxed atmosphere and the feeling of not being ripped off :-)

Enjoy your stay, but don't share too much as I'll be upset if I can't get a room 'cos you've got it :-)

Room Tip: If you prefer a shower, don't go for the top floor (ceiling height is an issue on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

An old pub that has done well to refurbish rooms to a good standard. This means that it is a bit quirky with uneven floors and blocked doorways and you go through the serving area to reach your room. Very clean and comfortable with modern colours. It is located at the top of the High Street and therefore is quiet but you are quickly able to get to restaurants and bars. Friendly helpful staff. Only downside was that a full cooked breakfast was presented to us without being asked what we wanted, good job we weren't vegetarians, egg intolerant or the like.The quality of the bacon& sausages was excellent,only white bread served and no cereal, fruit , yoghurt starter although a generous orange juice and we requested more toast with marmalade served with a smile but not offered beforehand. Would be happy to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_j_Subtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a pub and not a hotel, so don't expect hotel standards, ie you have to go through the back of the bar to get to your room, and make sure you arrange with landlord if arriving outside pub hours.

Stayed here one night but didn't dine as at a function nearby. Had a double room with small ensuite and TV. Very old and do watch your head going up the stairs (and coming down again!) on the low stairs ceiling. Lots of old beams.

Friendly lady saw me in and gave me directions, and also showed me courtyard garden which was most pleasant in the sunshine to partake of a £5 sandwich (which came with chips as well as salad). Good cooked breakfast although manager/proprietor(?) initially thought I had paid too little for it, but showed him the confirmation e-mail and he was fine. Looked in a larger double bedroom next door and that was well presented too. Room and English breakfast cost £65 for single occupancy.

Room Tip: Tell them if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've stayed here for a week whilst working in the area. I'm looking forward to coming back next week.

The pub is great, very cosy with a very friendly atmosphere and great beer. Rooms are modern and clean with easy access. Staff are very friendly and always helpful. The food is fantastic. Great breakfast served up in front of the big screen TV with a newspaper.... the beef and guinness pie in the evenings is the best I've had. I'm very tempted to order another!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Booked the Row Barge dircectly with them and the whole experience has been fab! The rooms were spotlessly clean and decorated in a modern style. The pub was a very friendly and cosy and the staff could not do enough to make the stay welcoming! Highly recommended if you want a cosy, welcoming experience right in the middle of Henley on Thames

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacks1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
815 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Row Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Row Barge Inn

Address: 37 West Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: $117 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Row Barge is one of Henley’s oldest coaching inns. Not far from the town centre, you can find us 100 yards from the Town Hall on West Street, just behind the fire station. In a quiet residential area yet only moments from the centre of town and the stunning walks along the Thames, this 16th Century traditional pub will satisfy those in search of a good drink, great home-cooked food and a warm and comforting welcome, for both locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Row Barge Hotel Henley-On-Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing