We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”

Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames
Price range: $42 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Staff seemed bored and disinterested in customers. Waited 45mins for starters but less than 20 customers in the restaurant. Food is not good value for money. I had a small piece of salmon served with green beans and brocolli and that was it for £13.95! The desert menu is unimaginative so our party of 4 did not have one. I will not be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank april d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    127
    87
    62
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Only a poor rating this time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have been here many times over the years and sorry to say that yesterdays lunch was not as I would have expected. They'd run out of a lot of soft drinks, only had one portion of fish cakes left (which were burnt) and kept leaving the fire doors open, despite us asking them to be closed - (there was a cold draft which was annoying).
Will try somewhere else in Henley next time I meet friends there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
192 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good value, cheerfully served food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found our first rays of sunshine for a long time in bright corner of the restaurant at lunch time and enjoyed a thoroughly decent meal here. We both had the fish pie off the main menu and it was just right with the fresh bread and broccoli. We did look at the deal of two or three courses for a very reasonable price and people did seem to be enjoying their choices from this menu too. The staff were polite and efficient and took time to chat and enjoy the company of the customers. Some of the options on the menu were not available, but we were told this at the outset, so were saved the disappointment of choosing and then having to choose again. The loos are a bit of a trek and upstairs, so this would not suit someone who had trouble climbing stairs (unless there is a disabled loo downstairs-perhaps the restaurant will respond, as I don't want to give wrong information).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyBeaconsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“April 1st - but this was no joke!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here at lunch time on bank holiday lunch time. All seemed fine being led to a table. Clean and tidy table, and waitress took drinks orders fairly quickly. Then the wait started, waitress was slow and had to be called over to take the order. Having placed the order, things started to get busier, but nothing excessive. 35 minutes later still no starters. Then began to notice other diners looking around for some kind of service. A couple behind were arguing with the waiter, about being charged for childrens food when he thought they advertised 'children eat free'. The couple on my next table had eaten their starters but waiting for main course for as long as we had been. The starters arrived...... Cullen skink (fish soup). But was cold. It was taken back for heating up.. Starters began 45 minutes after order. We ate starters and waited another 20 minutes for main course.. The couple near by were still waiting. Main course I had plaice (as megrim was not available). Fish was so small i am sure that more fish could be found in a fish finger. We quickly asked for the bill and left. I have no idea what the problem was here, but I could hear lots of complaining and unhappy customers. Not the place to spend a bank holiday lunch time. Oh yes! The couple did get their main course..... I spoke to them on leaving to praise their calmness. They said their mussels were cold but wouldn't complain because they couldn't wait any longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southernwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Decent service and venue marred my poor food - how can a fish restaurant get fish so wrong?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Fish soup good. Two main course fish filets too dry. My friend had scallops, black pudding which wa swerved with mushy peas which didn't work as a combination and, more worryingly, the mushy peas were not mentioned on the menu as being part of the dish.

The original Loch Fyne was fabulous - the Henley branch is no Facsimile.

Not worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Henley-on-Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing