We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in spite of Oxford County Council”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice stay in spite of Oxford County Council”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the FOX for three nights recently.
The overiding impression is of the very friendly staff team, always smiling, offering a greeting and just being generally nice!
We ate lunch on the first day and it was lovely, tasty and very generous portions. The same could be said for the breakfasts- mammoth portions. In fact on Day 2 we had to ask for much smaller portions. Everything was cooked very well.
The bedroom was lovely , comfotable bed and spacious bathroom. Although it looked out on the square we weren't disturbed by noise.
The location of the hotel is very central - couldn't be handier for the village centre. However we weren't induced to stay around during the day because of the major roadworks which had just started before we arrived and were due to run for most of August ! Good call Oxford County Council - that's the way to dispel the disillusionment of local voters and attract tourists !!
The local business holders have every right to be very angry at the "plonker" who decided, "let's rip up the centre of Chipping Norton at the peak of the holiday period!". I have no doubt that Chipping Norton is a lovely place to wander round for a day but we decided to spend our days elsewhere.
Well done Fox Hotel and all the other local residents who battled on through this.
We would certainly go back again to the Fox Hotel and have no problem in recommending ti to others.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are probably quieter but we weren't bothered in Room 4 at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
108
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

An old town centre Inn with its own car park and good bedrooms with en-suite services. A bit frayed round the edges but overall clean and tidy. Chiming of the Town Hall clock is not at all intrusive - in fact it's rather nice and comforting to hear it if you are awake in the middle of the night. Considering its town centre location it is not at all noisy at night.
The kitchen and room staff are exceptional - so friendly and happy and the cooked breakfast is lovely - not a spot of fat! Bar staff are also great and the three real ales are up to standard!
Good restaurants and pubs are only a two minute walk from the Fox.
It's well worth giving the Fox a try.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a double and single room but with a small shower room. The view down the High Street is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HedgePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed on a KGB B&B 2 night package
This is a period property above a pub so don't expect a butler, but if you want an excellent B&B with a great breakfast and good clean room come here.
The bus stop across the road takes you into the centre of Oxford without the parking hassle.
Tat will fill you in on local knowledge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMcCutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent one night in Chipping Norton and were happy that the location of the Fox Hotel is right on the main square. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was very nice and quiet. Very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and filling.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here at the start of July 2013 for 2 nights. The good points is that there is lots of parking and the staff are really friendly and helpful BUT the room was filthy and I felt I had to take a picture as soon as we went in the room it was that bad! If we hadn’t travelled over 150 miles I would not have stayed.

As soon as you go upstairs to the rooms you get an overwhelming smell of fat coming from the kitchens. Not the nicest thing to smell when you walk in. The carpets on the stairs are threadbare and torn in places and it wasn’t any better in the bedroom. The bedroom carpets are long overdue a steam clean and there was a huge stain on the bed valance. It was the first thing I noticed so rooms cannot be cleaned very well (see pictures).

Generally everything could have done with replacing and decorating and this is one place we will not be staying at ever again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilmskittycute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury,England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here mid June along with another couple on KGB deal, which was fantastic value for bed and breakfast, good clean rooms small but adequate bathroom, free WiFi.
All staff were very friendly and provided lots of good local info, we enjoyed the local Hookey beer and breakfast was excellent.Chipping Norton itself is a good location to visit with plenty of places to eat.
We also visited Blenheim Palace and spent a day in Oxford travelling by bus as recommended by Fox staff, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited using a 3 night KGB deal. The pub is well situated in the middle of the village close to shops, other pubs, restaurants and supermarket, and has ample parking. We were greeted on arrival by a very helpful lady who was working behind the bar. She booked us in and showed us up to our first floor room which was very spacious, had a good sized comfortable bed and a size-able en suite bathroom, and has tea and coffee making facilities. The pub does not serve evening meals so we were advised that the Kings Head around the corner did and the meals are reasonably priced.A good tip as the other pubs and restaurants in the village are a bit pricey. English breakfast was a substantial plateful that set you up for the day. They liked you to say in advance the time you were likely to want breakfast as the lady who cooks it also takes your orders, clears the tables and serves it along with the drinks and toast. If you breakfast at the same time as others then there can be a bit of a delay. The pub itself serves Hook Norton cask ales and has the usual mix of pub characters. The barmaid who greeted us originally was very helpful in suggesting how best to get into Oxford and other places worth visiting. Thanks very much to her. On the whole we enjoyed our visit to the Fox as a bargain break but if you are picky you will see that a lick of paint on skirting boards and walls would not go amiss and maybe it might have been nice if a vacuum cleaner had been run over the bedroom carpets during our stay. Oh and finally the town clock is just outside the pub windows and chimes on the hour and every half hour all through the night and day. If you are a light sleeper it may disturb you but we found that a few pints before going to bed sorted that problem out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niloc520831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
7.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox

Property: The Fox
Address: Market Place, Chipping Norton OX7 5DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Fox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing