We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Falkland Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falkland Arms
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location, cosy pub with roaring fire. We didn't eat evening meal but were told by other guests the food was very good. The rooms are clean, staff polite and we particularly enjoyed the breakfast. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 979JanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    90
    33
    27
    11
See reviews for
45
202
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend away. The Falkland Arms is a great base - wonderful rooms, cracking breakfast and main meal and a lovely area for walking. It is also a good base for exploring the Cotswolds. Staff are very friendly and treat you well as guests of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravels1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I always stay at this gorgeous English pub every now and again when visiting the Cotswolds Club up on the A44 and I have to say that every occasion has been a fantastic one.

Our stay is always welcomed by the delightful staff and our rooms, of which we've stayed in three, have always been lovely and more importantly, immaculate. The breakfast and dinner is also excellent and fairly priced.

Definitely recommended!! A++++

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The pub was delightful and set in lovely countryside. We stayed for 2 nights in Room 6 which was huge and had lovely views. The food we were served was second to none and all the staff we encountered were polite, helpful and happy.It was very busy in the bar during our stay as it was Halloween night but it didn't impact on the service we were given. Well done to Jack and the team- we will be back!

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem opt for first floor rooms as quite steep windy staircase to top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This pub is set in an idyllic situation. Accommodation was at a high standard well made beds and clean bathroom. The restaurant was very busy but being residents we had a table automatically reserved and where we'll looked after . Real ales where the best kept secret we shall return soon

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the falkland arms great tew when the weather was terrible early November . Our meet and greet by the duty manager was second to none , an open fire a, huge selection of cask ale awarded beers available very welcoming . We stayed in room 6 what a delight the whole top floor over looking beautiful Oxfordshire countryside good facilities in the room. Dinner was home cooked I ordered the pie of the day the best I have ever eaten

Room Tip: Room 6 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have to say I was shocked to read the review below but understand that not everyone has the same experience!
I visited the falkland arms for two nights and had a lovely time!
Our room was lovely (best nights sleep in ages!) I enjoyed both my breakfast and dinner that I had whilst there and also found the staff extremely friendly and helpful!
The manager jack couldn't do more to help us enjoy our stay!

Will be back for definite!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemr1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkland Arms

Property: Falkland Arms
Address: Great Tew, Chipping Norton OX7 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkland Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Falkland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkland Arms Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing