We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities ... just not the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great facilities ... just not the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

A very lovely hotel. Very friendly, good food, nice facilities BUT the room was awful. We stayed just one night but it was too small for 2 people. Absolutely no drawers, hooks or any storage - just a cupboard with 2 hangers inside it. Water runs cold for a long time before heating up and while there is a hand shower, there is no way to hook it up if you want a standup shower. My partner thought that it had not really been changed since the last time she stayed their in the late 1980's.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian_5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    195
    113
    102
    118
See reviews for
124
333
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I booked a very last minute break and got a standard room for 2 nights B&B for £110.00. So we were very pleasantly surprised to be given the 4 poster room in the coach house. The room was large and comfortable, although the furniture is dated and the hairdryer was missing as soon as I mentioned it to the staff it was replaced. The staff are friendly and helpful. We decided to eat in the bar both nights and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced and it had a good atmosphere with holiday makers and locals eating and drinking, always a good sign when you find the locals using the bar. Breakfast was buffet style on Bank holiday Monday and waiter service on Tuesday both were great with good options. We will stay here again as it well located for lots of the attractions and walking in the Cotswolds. Also bonus it has a good sized swimming pool !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMudefordDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good location for the Cotswolds. Parking in the centre of Chipping Norton...... Good value for this popular area, within easy driving distance to Oxford. (The park and ride at the Pear Tree is a good way into the centre of Oxford.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

my girlfriend and i decided to descover a bit if cotswold areas. we choose Chipping Norton to have easy acces to Blenheim palace, Burford and Stow on Water. We remained pleasant surprized of the hospitality if this village, especially the hotel staff here. We enjoyed very much the room that we've stayed, a big 4 poster in the coach house of the hotel. Another great thing was the swimming area,a small little pool with warm water and very good looking.i did a picture of it. overall for us was a nice weekend spend in Crown and Cushion.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Herts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night last week. Travelling alone for business. Very reasonable. Plenty of parking at hotel, stayed in a double superior room (or something like that) was nice room, not very modern but good quality furniture and nice big shower. The room seemed to be a converted house at the back of the hotel/carpark only issue was it was an old building so I could hear literally everything the couple in the room above said and did!! I will say I am particularly sensitive to this sort of thing and was alone. Anyway I wore earplugs to sleep so not an issue. The phone/in room wi-fi/tv reception was terrible but comes with the location I guess. All in all for a £65 a night room I have no complaints except for there was no hairdryer :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAllens20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night and we're very pleasantly surprised after reading the reviews. The hotel is deceptive, right in the middle of the town it looks small from the front but goes a long way back. We had a room on the top floor at the front, which has a lovely view across the town and fields. We were promptly welcomed at reception in a friendly manner. Yes it is odd to pay up front and to have your TV remote handed to you but other then that all was well. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired and needs some work but the shower pressure was great and towels nice and big. Tea and coffee were provided in the room. The breakfast was good, buffet style and lots to choose from. Service was again prompt not overly friendly but efficient. All in all a good stay. We were there on a Saturday evening and parked at the front so can't comment on the parking arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth13reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just returned from spending a wonderful week end at the Crown & Cushion.
I wanted to say a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so welcoming. Everyone in our group commented on how lovely the food was, so I will certainly be recommending the Crown & Cushion to friends and hope to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#2 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing