We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown and Cushion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

After reading other reviews on Trip Advisor we deliberately booked a large room. Imagine my surprise to open the door to find a tiny, dark room with barely enough space to open the wardrobe door.

After a quick visit back to reception we were amazed to be told that we was given the room because they thought we would prefer it - and this is after paying extra for a larger room.

A swift 'upgrade' later to the room we booked and things were better. The room was 3 times the size and much more modern and light. The bathroom didn't have room for a bath though, only a shower and the moldy grouting was in need of replacement.

We had an evening meal in the bar which was more than acceptable even if the steak was a little tougher than I would have liked. Unfortunately at breakfast the sausages were overdone to the extent that they were black all over - who knows why they thought it was acceptable to serve them.

The public and bar areas have a good olde worlde atmosphere, but behind the scenes this hotel is in pressing need of investment to make it worth the room rates.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality and value for money of rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank --RCB_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    189
    112
    101
    118
See reviews for
122
327
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband booked this hotel to celebrate my birthday with our 2 daughters for a Saturday night. He booked online and paid extra for both rooms to have 4 poster beds.
On arrival we were told we were in The Coach House - should have been called the Barracks! We walked through the hotel,past the bar and off the car park there was quite a lot of newer build 2 storey accommodation - up stairs along tiled corridors it was like utility housing ...not a 15Century Coaching Inn as advertised, Well the rooms were so small it was comical to see the Argos type pine beds with canopies in them filling all the space.
There was a separate area in the rooms (without windows) which housed a tv and small sofa - how anyone could ever sit in there and watch telly i dont know. My Student daughter said it reminded her of bedsit land.
Anyway on returning to reception and telling the (very polite)receptionist that I could find a better room in a travel lodge she got the (very polite) manager and after saying they were fully booked - I said we`d accept a refund and leave ....two much better rooms within the main hotel were magically found and offered.

We ended up with a large ,quite pleasant room within the main hotel and our daughters had a smaller but comfortable room. Decor tired and showers hand held but the staff were so lovely and wanting to please - it made a difference to the whole unpleasant situation.

To be honest the rooms were fine and the rest of our stay quite pleasant . We didnt risk dinner there but ate at the fabulous Red Lion 4 miles away in Little Compton. We did eat Breakfast there which was mediochre.

Overall we enjoyed our weekend but felt the Crown and Cushion just raised peoples expectations into thinking they were getting something really special when they werent.

  • Liked — Nice staff despite real difficulties
  • Disliked — Coach house rooms,Stale Air
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiranaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

Stayed At This Hotel 18-20 th April 2008. Room was quite large 4 poster overlooking car park Electric heaters .Plenty of hot water and a nice roll top bath.Breakfast buffet style .Nice restaurant but expensive evening meals.Bar meals more realistically priced ..Bar staff and receptioist very smart and courtious.After reading other reviews about this hotel i can only say that we speak as we find ! Nice swimming pool if let down by changing rooms.A squash court and a gym but gym room a bit on the small side and a bit dingy.But its all there if you want to use it .

  • Liked — where it was situated
  • Disliked — room too dark
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have just had a birhday party in the Barrett Shields Suite.
The staff were all extremely helpful, efficient and friendly. Our guests are still commenting on how wonderful the food was. Nothing was too much trouble in the planning stage and we would definitely use the Crown & Cushion as a party venue again.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Flossie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

We returned as we had stayed in one of the hotel suite rooms 16 years previously.This time we booked a late availabilty deal and were expecting a fairly basic room, however to our delight we were given a lovely, large four poster room overlooking the courtyard and leisure facilities.The room, although quite dark and a long walk from reception, was exceptionally clean, well equipped and very cosy.
Everyone was very friendly and helpful from reception staff to the chamber maids.
Restaurant staff were very attentive the breakfast was unhurried with a great choice of foods.
Use of the swimming pool and gym each morning was a bonus.
This hotel is ideally placed for exploring quaint cotswold villages and Oxford city centre.
I would recommend to others and will certainly return again in the near future.

  • Liked — Exceptional value,privacy of room, friendly staff,good food
  • Disliked — room long walk from reception, no lift.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

My partner and I spent a few days at the Crown and Cushion to celebrate my birthday. The excellent accommodation, delicious food and superb service made my day. The hotel staff were smart, friendly and efficient. The intimate décor in the bar made it a welcoming place in which to have a meal or just a drink. Meals in the bar were reasonably priced and tasty, while the a la carte menu in the dining room was extensive and delicious.

Our four poster bed was comfortable and the rooms clean. I cannot praise the staff enough and hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Liked — Friendly, efficient staff
  • Disliked — would have liked to stay longer.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kentishmaid70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

A friend and I have recently stayed at the Crown and Cushion. it's the third time we've stayed there, which gives an indication of how highly we rate it. The Crown and Cushion is a traditional English hotel, with a proper bar which is frequented by the locals as well as the guests. You can eat in the bar, or in the excellent restaurant, which has a very good choice of menu. The whole place is spotless and the staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are very comfortable. Value for money is excellent. Nearby is Stow on the Wold, Burford, Moreton on the Marsh and Bourton on the Water, all beautiful Cotswold towns.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMATOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing