We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week end break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely week end break”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a week end on my birthday. My husband booked a 4 poster room and he also ordered champagne flowers and chocolates to be put in the room. The room was lovely nice big 4 poster very warm and cosy. We ate in the restaurant beautifully decorated and the food and service was first class. Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We also made use of the pool which was very nice. The hotel was easy to find as it was in the centre of the town but had its own car park at the rear.

Room Tip: Definately pay a bit extra and book a 4 poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    202
    117
    106
    120
See reviews for
125
344
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Worst service and awful food our families had ever had .Friends in Chipping Norton did warn us about their experience we now wish we had taken their advise. Lets hope things get better as this is the biggest hotel in town, its such a shame.Our complaint has still not be acknowledged lets hope they will do soon ..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank pattidale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at The Crown and Cushion for a much needed break......we found the service second to none....the staff all being courteous and friendly.....our room was lovely....the proprieters made us very welcome....the pool was great....all in all we found what we were looking for and will definitely go again. Forgot to say that our first night was New Years Eve.....a fantastic package with a buffet second to none. Loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanladybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Once again a brilliant New Year stay, everyone my wife and i spoke to said how good it was. Thanks to Linda & family and cheery helpful staff for a wonderful New Year. We shall be staying again next New Year. We have stayed at many places for new Year but this has to be the best as it was our third stay.

Room Tip: Traffic noise on the front could bother some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends for two nights between Christmas & New Year and had a lovely time. We went fearing the worst after reading reviews written by previous customers but, we found the hotel to be very welcoming and comfortable. Our rooms were lovely, the staff friendly and our overall impression was very good. We ate at the hotel bar both nights as the food had been so good on the first night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovesholidays030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading negative reviews about this Hotel, I was unsure as to what I would find on the two day New Year's break I had booked. What a surprise awaited me and the party I was with on our arrival! The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout with Christmas decorations. No problem at all with the bedrooms, clean linen and towels changed daily. We ate in the bar choosing the bar menu and the food was exceptional and very good value. There was a Residents' lounge which was cosy and offered fresh oranges every day. The New Year's Eve celebrations were outstanding! Lovely large room within the Hotel and each table were personally labelled so there was no need to arrive early to try and reserve a table! The food on offer was exceptional also. Hot and cold buffet cooked and prepared to perfection and beautifully displayed. Disco was good with champagne being served at midnight. The time and organisation put into making the evening a success certainly paid off. The young waiting staff worked hard throughout our stay. There was a large choice of food for breakfast. The break cost £85 per couple per day including the New Year's Eve event. A real bargain. If I had one niggle it would be that blackout curtains or a blindwould have been good in the bedroom as the curtains in our room were lightweight. Just a minor point which didn't stop the whole experience being very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute stay between Christmas & New Year on laterooms. It was £145 for two nights B&B in a four poster bed with roll top bath. Really reasonable we though.

I read the previous reviews & was a little worried about coming but thankfully the hotel wasn't as awful as it sounded.

The room was a little chilly when we first arrived but having played with the radiator was nice & cosy. The bath & four poster made the room quaint & romantic.

We only ate breakfast. It had a reasonable choice & tasted ok. If your after high end local quality, you may be disappointed but we were happy with what was on offer.

The hotel is fantastically located in the heart of Chipping Norton with a car park.

Overall it was a good stay. The reception area could do with a little make over (particularly the tatty chair). Staff were helpful & polite but sometimes a little slow with no extras when it came to customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
381 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
199 reviews
7.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing