We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown and Cushion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

the bar has character but the rooms are cobbled together and dated. the room we were given had a musty smell, little privacy and the ensuite had a sink that had a different base to the sink!! ( olive green pedastal and with a newer white sink!!!). definatley not value for money, felt ripped off

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    189
    112
    101
    118
See reviews for
122
327
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This bar/hotel/restaurant feels like it is caught in a time warp and looks like it needs updating. But the carvery served on a Sunday is good value for money, the staff are usually excellent, the club sandwich takes some beating, and the wine menu is quite extensive. When lit the open fire in the bar makes it very cosy. They allow pets to stay in the rooms (we had friends who stayed with a dog) for a small additional charge. My niece and nephew were given free ice-cream when they ate with us in the restaurant. So overall I am happy and will keep going back......

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were cycle touring, and despite us turning up like drowned rats the staff were very helpful.

The room was not expensive, which was good as the room was very tired and dated, however it was comfy enough for one night. Breakfast was also good. However we ate there for the evening as well, and despite an interesting menu, the Portuguese twist on things really did not work.

Overall, its ok but i would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked the hotel for a 3 night short break for the two of us.
My better half is not really one for olde worlde, thatched cottages and stone built houses etc and I saw her face drop as we arrived as I expected.
However what a surprise! We are going back she enjoyed herself so much.
The hotel is excellent and the staff superb, polite and helpful. THe food was fairly limited but what was available was hot, with no long wait, plentiful and a good price. Beer was good too!!!

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked The Crown & Cushion for my wife my self and two friends. We were very lucky to have room at the top of the car park because there was a funfair at the front. The rooms were excellent in ours we had a small room adjoining the bedroom which had a nice couch and tv. The bathroom was fine plenty of hot water for a bath there was also a shower over the bath, soap was supplyied as were plenty of towels. The rooms were clean and tidy the tea coffee and choclate sachets were replaced each day. The receptionist was polite and helpfull as were the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was help yourself and was good plenty of choices. The couple who came with us were also pleased with thier room and we would all stop there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Crown and Cushion should win an award for the worst hotel in terms of cost & benefits ever!! It is way over priced and I have stayed in better hotels and B&Bs which cost no more than £20. It cost us £190 for 2 nights…shocking.

It is a quaint building in a lovely town but some of the staff were awful and the place was falling apart.

Here is a list of whats wrong

1. The girl at the reception was possibly the worst hotel employee I have ever met. Why she has a job is very suspect. I’d imagine she caught the owner dipping his wick in some illegal ink. We asked her for a taxi, she said they were all busy and didn’t want to ring. I asked another staff member who got one immediately. As we left, she said ‘here’s your bill’ and never said goodbye, did you enjoy your stay or anything which resembled giving a toss. She was rude and roll her eyes and sighed when I was trying to find out information on a couple of occasions. If the owners of the Crown and Cushion read this, I am sure you know who this is and I would advise sacking her immediately.
2. The shower was either boiling or freezing. It’s a health risk and the bath was dirty.
3. Breakfast was comical. Room was filthy and food looked recycled from the day before.
4. Curtain rail and blinds were both broken. One window in the room was broken.
5. Bed had stains on it. Not nice.
6. Asked for an iron…three times…got no response. Ended up having to go to a guys bedroom and ask for it. (staff wouldn’t do that job for me!)

Room Tip: Fin another hotel...and if you are stuck in this hotel...dont go near front as road is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Crown and Cushion is by far the worst place I’ve ever stayed (and I’ve stayed in some questionable places around the world over the years!).

The hotel is falling apart, the rooms are grubby and all the room amenities are broken – tv, hairdryer, kettle, light fittings, etc. The curtains and blinds in our room were falling down. As many reviewers have said, the showers are all broken and there is no hot water. If you do get hot water, it is scalding hot – too unbearable to have a shower in and highly dangerous. The breakfast is inedible and the restaurant is dark and dingy.

The staff are rude, lack any initiative and could not be more unhelpful. They were clearly so used to guest complaints that they were just oblivious to any complaints brought to their attention. Even the cleaning staff barged into the room at about 10.30am despite being told that guests were still there and they could come back later. On that note, the hotel rooms are not safe because the keys work in multiple rooms.

In the most basic of hostels, you would get some sleep and have a shower, this hotel cannot offer either to prospective guests. Whoever runs this hotel clearly does not care about their guests nor do they rely on repeat business to keep the place going because I can’t imagine anyone in our group who would part with their hard earned money to stay in this place twice!

In addition, the hotel requires payment at check in which is testament to the likelihood of guests wanting to check out after one night.

I don’t recall ever complaining about a hotel before but this place deserves to be closed down for health reasons alone. Worst of all, it is so over-priced. Felt absolutely robbed after a stay in this hotel and will never go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
5.3 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Cushion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Cushion Hotel

Property: Crown and Cushion Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown and Cushion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crown and Cushion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crown And Cushion
Crown And Cushion Chipping Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing