We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facilities but room dated & staff rude ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heythrop Park Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
West Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great facilities but room dated & staff rude ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was basic, small and the hotel looked as if it needed redecorating in many areas. Breakfast was good. Staff at reception were hopeless and rude. Golf course was excellent and the spa was lovely. Would stay at the resort again but would chose the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel1978_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our aim is for the original old grand building (with its magnificent staircase) and the new modern Crown Plaza to complement each other. We are very fortunate to have owners who continue to invest in improving the hotel and we now have a program set in place to do many vast improvements over the next few months. All of which as I am sure you can appreciate takes time. It is also our aim to offer a high level of excellence that gives a lasting impressive impression to all our guests. I was however disappointed to read your comments abut the staff being rude. Your comments have been passed to my team and they will be addressed and where appropriate full re-training will be incorporated. We do hope that when you return in the near future. Regards N Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    235
    194
    164
    201
See reviews for
130
366
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my future wife. We had read some awful reviews so were a little concerned as on the face of it the pictures and description given by the hotel itself looked and sounded very good. All we can say is we found the place to very good and excellent value for money. Yes the annex rooms are a little dated and not too big but were clean and adequate for a short stay. The main house itself is beautiful as are the grounds. E found the staff too be friendly especially Amy the restaurant manager. We stayed on a dinner first night basis and the meal and choice was very good. We also used the pool and spa facilities wjiolst here and once again found them to be good and clean. Overall we had an excellent weekend especially considering the price we paid. I think some people expect f I be stars at three star prices..,be realistic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bestmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. We are very fortunate to have owners who continue to invest in improving the hotel. The challenge we have is prioritising where to spend this money as with such a vast building and grounds, the money never seems to go as far as you want it to!! But improvements are on the agenda for parts of the old house. De-vere venues are a well established UK leader in offering dedicated business locations. At De Vere Venues we are all about delivering the best training, meeting and conference rooms for you to do business. And, of course bedrooms to relax in at the end of the day or over the weekend. As the UK leader, we provide the ideal location, here at Heythrop Park for business and leisure, in the most beautiful surroundings. We don’t believe in dull or ordinary. You’ll find no branded slippers here, no ‘déjà vu’. Each of our unique hotels, from the Majestic highlands to Brighton beach is chosen for its distinctive British character, individual style and quirky charm. Discerning service, wonderful food, delightful settings, and of course superb leisure facilities. Our teams are trained and work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really does matters to us that our every guest receives the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations. And maybe one day when you and your future wife are planning your future wedding you will remember the (grand staircase and the amazing gardens -a wonderful back drop for phot's) of Heythrop Park Resort. We hold many wedding receptions at our Resort. We look forward to hopefully hosting yours. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards N Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this weekend as my wife was competing in the Blenheim Triathlon. We were pleased to get a reservation at a hotel so near to Blenheim and that, I am afraid, was the only good point. The main house is a beautiful old building and parts of the grounds are stunning. But.... the house is delapidated and in serious need of renovation - for example - paint peeling off walls, damp. rotten window frames, A4 bits of paper used for hotel signs, dirty carpets and furniture. The newer parts of the 'resort' (as the owners rather grandly call it) are incongrous and rather ugly. The rubbish new architecture could easily be forgiven if other elements were good. But... our room was cold (on the hottest day of the year so far), dirty and we were disturbed by the people in the next door room (not their fault but due to poor, cheap interior design).The food we ate was extremey poor. Afternoon tea was stale and unimaginative. Our evening meal (Brassey Bar) was almost inedible. We sent much of it back. Think greasy, cheap pub food. The staff did their best to help us and were generally friendly, but the quality of service you would expect for a supposedly decent level hotel was absent.
I have never reviewed on this site before but felt moved to by a dreadful experience. The atmonsphere of the place was unfriendly - for adults and children. If you are a golfer with low standards, on a corporate conference with somone else paying your tab or a coach tourist you may find this place tolerable. If you are not, I urge you to avoid this place at all costs.
What a shame as the raw materials could, in the right hands, turn this into a very fine and special place. But it is not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Your comments have been discussed in great detail with my team. Thank you. Regards Nader Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived at Heythrop Park a lot later than intended as our Sat Nav sent us all through the country lanes. Arrived a the hotel down a long, long picturesque drive and were thrilled to see that it looked like aa grand stately home. On arrival were were upgraded to a lovely big room with large ensuite with roll top bath. Very traditional but maybe needed a little TLC as it looked a bit tired but spotless. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The meal in the restaurant, although a little pricey, was excellent. We had a wonderful weekend visiting Chipping Norton and outlying villages and also paid a visit to Blenheim Palace which was delightful (champagne on the terrace - well you've got to haven't you). We decided to stay another night as we were enjoying our experience so much and changed room (ours was already booked out) and this time the room was fantastic. It was huge with 4 windows overlooking the vast grounds and golf course. All in all we would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our teams work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really matters to us that our guests receive the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards N Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Heythrop Resort on the nights of 24th through to the 27th May, our first impressions on arrival were good such a palatial setting with good views over the golf course, things were soon to change! Check in was so matter of fact with no evidence of friendliness from the staff who dealy with us. We were told our room numbers and that was it, no offer to porter our bags, no information on where the dining room was or times of meals etc.

On arrival in the rooms (423 &425) I can honestly say that I have stayed in better caravans and B & B's in Blackpool and that is saying something as I detest Blackpool. The decor in the rooms is so dated with cheap furniture, one room had a single wardrobe and the other had no hanging space for clothes. Complaints to reception came back with the reply that all the rooms had no hanging space, when they were told that room 423 had a functioning wardrobe we were told that this was the only room that had one, a blatant lie and a couldn't care less attitude from two people on reception as we had seen in one of the other rooms and it had a wardrobe with hanging space. The tv that still has the old 4:3 aspect ratio so most of the picture is missing, a remote control that did not work (I fixed it myself as no one else was bothered) The bathroom is small with only showers and a control on it that would move by itself so you could in fact get very hot water on you. From a health and safety point of view the instructions for what to do in case of a fire were not in plain site, We found it in one of the draws in the dated furniture.

The corridors in the hotel are shabbily decorated with certain areas having missing skirting boards and patchy carpeting.

In the dining room on our first morning there was no one to meet us, so we sat ourselves down eventually one of the staff came over and asked us our room numbers. During this breakfast a duty manager came in to organise the proceedings however he spent most of the time on his mobile phone and not dealing with customers queries. The remaining two mornings were better with a lady manager who at last organised the staff correctly.

The food is average at the very best, the toasters did not work very well and some of the food was only lukewarm. You had to ask if you wanted more tea or cofee it was not offered as is normal in most hotels.

The facilities at the hotel are average, the staff could do with training in customer service and be a lot more helpful when dealing with customers.The grounds in the hotel could be magnificent but again these are in need of a lot of TLC. Would I stay there again, not for a long time and certainly not until De Vere has worked its magic and developed the whole facility in keeping with their normal standards.

Also having filled in a customer comment card we are still awaiting any comments from the hotel management and not the usual corporate response saying things they obviously have no intention of complying with.

I look forward to hearing their honest comments on not only our terrible experience but also all of the other negative comtomers.ments left by other disgruntled cus

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebonyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir, please except my apologies for the delay in responding to your Trip Advisor comments. I do hope that you have received the E-mail that was sent of 12th June 2013. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Heythrop Park De Vere Hotel. The De Vere corporation has recently added Heythrop Park to it venues and has now set many plans in place, which will make sure that all guest who stay at Heythrop experience the full De Vere Great British Hospitality, which is full of soul and character and has an old-world grandeur with a plush, modern touch of elegant furnishings that complement the exquisite buildings in seriously luxurious surroundings – the perfect place to kick back and unwind. I do hope to hear from you soon regarding the e-mail. Regards N Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a Company Leadership Conference here in April and though it was a very good hotel. A little bit awkward to find but I should probably buy a better sat nav! Reception staff made us feel very welcome and Breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard. Staff were also excellent and very helpful during our evening do. Rooms we had were not particularly spacious but nicely decorated and very comfy beds. Only gripe is the car park it’s a bit of a trek when you have lots of luggage!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavlar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experience. I do hope that the conerence was a success. We are fortunate to be such a busy hotel with many conferences and functions. We do try very hard to ensure that any events that we hold do not detract from the relaxing environment that we offer our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards N Ibrahim General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was our 36th wedding anniversay and at the last minute my husband suggested we booked a stay at the Heythrop (we have previously stayed next door at the Crowne Plaza). We thought we would have a change on this occasion.
When we arrived we found it difficult to drive in to book in at reception as there was a function going on (vintage cars) and there was a big sign (not very welcoming) saying no other cars to go past this point (only the vintage cars). It was a cold afternoon so we parked our car a small distance away and walked to reception to book in. Once booked in we went to our allocated room and when we entered our room we were very disappointed but decided not to make a fuss as it would spoil our wedding anniversary celebration.
We went out locally for a meal and came back to the hotel at around 9pm for a drink in the bar. We found the bar staff not very helpful and they charged us incorrectly twice for drinks. They were eating at the bar which was not professional and a manager or similar even said to them that they should not be eating but made a joke of it. We were then told that they were closing at 10pm!!
We went back to our room and noticed that the fan in the bathroom kept coming on for 10 minutes/going off for 10 minutes and coming back on and making a dreadful noise. We did eventually get off to sleep but were then awoken around 1.30pm by very noisey neighbours in the next room who kept us awake and we could not get back to sleep because of the noisey fan every 10minutes off and on and the neighbours.
At 4.30am we decided we had had enough and my husband went to reception to say that we were not happy with our room and that we would be booking out. We completed a questionnaire saying that we were unhappy with our room and the night staff said that they would hand this personally to the manager and the manager would get back to us the next day. This was a month ago on 27th April 2013 and we have not heard from the Heythrop since.
We would not recommend this hotel from our experience. The rooms were advertised as modern but in fact they were old and ours was not at all comfortable.

Room Tip: Not recommended from our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review covering all areas, we treat guest satisfaction as our number one priority. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards General Manager N Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
18.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing