We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
East Sussex UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed here one night when visiting near by Oxford. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel was very good, booking in was simple, staff all helpful, and our evening meal and breakfast were of a good standard. We did not have any long waits for food or drinks. We did stay on a Monday night, when possibly the hotel is quieter? Our room was lovely and large but did overlook the back of a modern building, this did not worry us as we were not in the room long.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful comment on the trip advisor website. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we could offer what you required. Our aim is to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time here at Heythrop Park. Regards General Manager C Dutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    243
    203
    165
    208
See reviews for
134
381
21
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having traveled 180 miles greeted with our room had been sold and offered inferior room. The general managers comment when we complained that they had not contacted us in advance was that she didn't want to cover that same old ground! We spend around 50k per annum with ihg but this hotel surge pits in terms of customer service and management

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJMcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website. However I was disappointed to read them. Our aim is to offer high standards throughout our resort. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, please, be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. And where appropriate, training will be undertaken. We hope to see you again. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was a bridge weekend- which was organized by Andrew Robson and it was excellent.
We waited for 1 hour and 20 minutes for soup and sandwiches. There was long delay at reception- checking in- perhaps more staff would be the answer.
We did expect better.
Diti from Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We apologise that you did not feel that we met your expectations and we are very disapointed that you felt that we only deserved a low rating. We are always working towards improving our standards, which includes all of our services and facilities. We have an extensive programme of maintenance and refurbishment in place for our Hotel, which is usually something we recieve positive feedback about. Unfortunately due to the layout of the accomodation some of the rooms do not benefit from the lovely views. Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and would welcome you back in the future to recieve an improved service in line with your expectations. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Heythrop Park Hotel in the Salisbury wing, room 210 for one night at a very special low price for a well advertised resort, however I suffered damage to my head due to poor design of the furniture in the room. I banged my head on a overhanging woodwork that supports a clothes hanging arrangement since the clothes hanger's woodwork protrudes into a 0.5m gap between the bed and the combined desk and clothes hanging unit, unfortunately at about my head height ( I am am an average 5'7")
The response from the reception on my complain "The hotel has new owners and the design will be reviewed" I wonder how any customers have been left with a sore head over the past years with the old owner of Crown Plaza?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for them and I would like to apologise for the disappointment that you experienced during your stay with us. We take both praise and criticism graciously. All of your comments have been discussed with my team and you can rest assured that they have been addressed and where appropriate, full re-training has been undertaken. Thank you for your review of our Hotel. General Manager C Dutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here this week end, food
terrible waited 1 hour 45 minutes for a bowl of soup, room shabby, big rip in chair, towels coarse, no free wi fi 5 pounds for an hour 9 pounds for a day. lift totally confusing in one was press level 3 to get to level two and in another you press level 2

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmg8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Kindly be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the management team, and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Drive up to hotel was stunning. Photos on lastminute also reflect... Then unfortunately on arrival you are quickly made aware that the hotel you thought u had booked isn't the one your staying at... You arrive at a stunning modern crowne plaza. Check in then realise your hotel is an adjoining hotel to crowne plaza. All photos except one on lastminute are of crowne plaza. The heythorp park resort is a stunning period house. With amazing grounds and views. Unfortunately the annexe rooms do not reflect this. The rooms are not to the level of cleanliness you would expect. The staff aren't the friendliest of bunches. When we confronted the duty manager about the poor upkeep of our room. His reply was "what were you expecting"!!! not really the kind of response we expected from a duty manager. The rooms are dated and are in need of desperate updating. The spa facilities were faultless. The food was ok. The breakfast was adequate but nothing more.

Room Tip: Don't go for the annexe rooms. Unless basic and dated is what your looking for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review covering all areas, but I was disappointed to read your comments and I would like to apologize regarding your disappointment with the room you were allocated. we constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, it gives us the opportunity to make improvements for our future guests. Please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. And where appropriate, full re-training has been undertaken. It means a lot to us here at the Resort when people take the time to post reviews on the Trip Advisor website. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here. Regards Chris Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for one night en route to business and was thrilled to be able to park my car directly outside the grand main entrance. Very friendly and helpful staff then checked me in and took me on the very, very, very long walk from the reception to my remote room in an anonymous and bland annexe. Room was clean and simple, the TV worked and the tea/coffee supplies were present and correct. Shower room only but that was fine with plenty of hot water. In the morning
I discovered a very impressive view of the golf course from my window. Absolutely fine for the low price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
• Thank you for posting your views about our Resort. The Resort and its setting and of course the Golf Course, as you say is truly remarkable. We are glad that you enjoyed the view from yur room although it was a bit of a walk from reception, but think of it as exercise. Maybe next time you could stay longer and play a round of golf or two. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services. Reviews give us the opportunity to improve any imperfections and maintain high standards for our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Chris Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,223 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
191 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
379 reviews
11.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing