We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled 180 miles and they had sold our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heythrop Park Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
1 review
“Traveled 180 miles and they had sold our room”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having traveled 180 miles greeted with our room had been sold and offered inferior room. The general managers comment when we complained that they had not contacted us in advance was that she didn't want to cover that same old ground! We spend around 50k per annum with ihg but this hotel surge pits in terms of customer service and management

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJMcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on the Trip Advisor website. However I was disappointed to read them. Our aim is to offer high standards throughout our resort. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, please, be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. And where appropriate, training will be undertaken. We hope to see you again. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    245
    206
    166
    212
See reviews for
137
385
21
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was a bridge weekend- which was organized by Andrew Robson and it was excellent.
We waited for 1 hour and 20 minutes for soup and sandwiches. There was long delay at reception- checking in- perhaps more staff would be the answer.
We did expect better.
Diti from Dublin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We apologise that you did not feel that we met your expectations and we are very disapointed that you felt that we only deserved a low rating. We are always working towards improving our standards, which includes all of our services and facilities. We have an extensive programme of maintenance and refurbishment in place for our Hotel, which is usually something we recieve positive feedback about. Unfortunately due to the layout of the accomodation some of the rooms do not benefit from the lovely views. Once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and would welcome you back in the future to recieve an improved service in line with your expectations. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Heythrop Park Hotel in the Salisbury wing, room 210 for one night at a very special low price for a well advertised resort, however I suffered damage to my head due to poor design of the furniture in the room. I banged my head on a overhanging woodwork that supports a clothes hanging arrangement since the clothes hanger's woodwork protrudes into a 0.5m gap between the bed and the combined desk and clothes hanging unit, unfortunately at about my head height ( I am am an average 5'7")
The response from the reception on my complain "The hotel has new owners and the design will be reviewed" I wonder how any customers have been left with a sore head over the past years with the old owner of Crown Plaza?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crow67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for them and I would like to apologise for the disappointment that you experienced during your stay with us. We take both praise and criticism graciously. All of your comments have been discussed with my team and you can rest assured that they have been addressed and where appropriate, full re-training has been undertaken. Thank you for your review of our Hotel. General Manager C Dutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here this week end, food
terrible waited 1 hour 45 minutes for a bowl of soup, room shabby, big rip in chair, towels coarse, no free wi fi 5 pounds for an hour 9 pounds for a day. lift totally confusing in one was press level 3 to get to level two and in another you press level 2

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmg8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Kindly be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the management team, and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Regards C Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipping Norton hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Drive up to hotel was stunning. Photos on lastminute also reflect... Then unfortunately on arrival you are quickly made aware that the hotel you thought u had booked isn't the one your staying at... You arrive at a stunning modern crowne plaza. Check in then realise your hotel is an adjoining hotel to crowne plaza. All photos except one on lastminute are of crowne plaza. The heythorp park resort is a stunning period house. With amazing grounds and views. Unfortunately the annexe rooms do not reflect this. The rooms are not to the level of cleanliness you would expect. The staff aren't the friendliest of bunches. When we confronted the duty manager about the poor upkeep of our room. His reply was "what were you expecting"!!! not really the kind of response we expected from a duty manager. The rooms are dated and are in need of desperate updating. The spa facilities were faultless. The food was ok. The breakfast was adequate but nothing more.

Room Tip: Don't go for the annexe rooms. Unless basic and dated is what your looking for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review covering all areas, but I was disappointed to read your comments and I would like to apologize regarding your disappointment with the room you were allocated. we constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, it gives us the opportunity to make improvements for our future guests. Please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. And where appropriate, full re-training has been undertaken. It means a lot to us here at the Resort when people take the time to post reviews on the Trip Advisor website. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here. Regards Chris Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for one night en route to business and was thrilled to be able to park my car directly outside the grand main entrance. Very friendly and helpful staff then checked me in and took me on the very, very, very long walk from the reception to my remote room in an anonymous and bland annexe. Room was clean and simple, the TV worked and the tea/coffee supplies were present and correct. Shower room only but that was fine with plenty of hot water. In the morning
I discovered a very impressive view of the golf course from my window. Absolutely fine for the low price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2happyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
• Thank you for posting your views about our Resort. The Resort and its setting and of course the Golf Course, as you say is truly remarkable. We are glad that you enjoyed the view from yur room although it was a bit of a walk from reception, but think of it as exercise. Maybe next time you could stay longer and play a round of golf or two. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services. Reviews give us the opportunity to improve any imperfections and maintain high standards for our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Chris Dutton General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay. Wasnt impressed with the rooms in the annexe but having said that didnt pay much for it.
I think for not much time and money they could improve the standard of the rooms. Ours for example had wallpaper peeling in the room. All it needed was some wallpaper paste and someone to stick it down. Also no bedspread on the single beds. Looked so bare with just white quilt cover and cold looking. Wouldn't have cost much to put a nice co loured bedspread or throw on it.
Staff in reception at Heythrop very nice and helpful to us.

Went to the Brassey bar at the Crowne Plaza for a snack in the afternoon and a late evening drink .Really liked the bar area and staff were attentive whilst we were there but very busy. Would like to try the Brassey restaurant but didn't get chance. Did feel that as another review mentioned hardly any other residents around in the heythrop bar or sitting area otherwise may have gone there for a late evening drink.

Breakfast in the morning in the Terrace restaurant at the Heythrop was a mostly positive experience, except for the fact that on this particular morning the plates for the hot food were not kept warm making the food cold very quickly. Thought that was a shame as it seemed good quality food but not tasting as good when lukewarm . Again staff helpful and polite.

Would visit again but may choose to stay in the Crowne Plaza rooms , although if annex rooms were improved would choose to stay at Heythrop ..Really good point is due to the hotels being interconnected able to choose best bits of both hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Heythrop Park Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for them, and I would like to apologise for the disappointment that you experienced during your stay with us. We constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, it gives us the opportunity to make improvements for our future guests. Please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. It means a lot to us here at the Resort when people take the time to post reviews on the Trip Advisor website. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here. Regards General Manager: Chris Dutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,277 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
195 reviews
11.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
835 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heythrop Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heythrop Park Resort

Property: Heythrop Park Resort
Address: | Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heythrop Park Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heythrop Park Hotel is set in 440 acres of stunning Oxfordshire countryside and forms part of Heythrop Park Resort. The hotel is in a traditional 18th century mansion house and has access to the resort's extensive leisure facilities including an 18 hole championship golf course, spa and health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heythrop Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf And Country Club
Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chipping Norton
Heythrop Park Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing