We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Blue Boar

The Blue Boar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A 17th century pub brought back to life with contempary lighting and soft furnishings that bring out the beauty of the original Oxford stone. The front bar holds the key to your welcome with a fully functional wood burner,the stable room restaurant, an original stable with its wooden rafters help you relax and enjoy the Great British menu on offer alongside the fine ales and extensive wine list. The warm welcome by the staff make this a perfect destination for drinks, a quick meal or an excuse to sit and dine in the cosy atmosphere with friends and family
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a meal here which we enjoyed and maybe would have returned if there were more vegetarian options. Liam was our waiter and he was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    88
    20
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a good revamp!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked in advance for Sunday evening.Found out on arrival there was no need to have done, there was only half a dozen dinning. Food choice was OK and we had the roast.Plenty portion wise but the beef was a bit tough. The service was OK,but the place was grubby and tables were tacky, they needed a good clean.We were plagued by flys whilst we were in the conservatory part of the dinning area.couldn't find a car park so had to park on the public one opposite. Its free after six oclock,.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PATChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Tuesday night experiance”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived early as we were on our way to the theatre. The staff were friendly, there was a good selection of food on the menu, all reasonably priced.
Well cooked and good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Nice rooms at the back, food OK”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not haute cuisine, just good solid food, which my party had in a private room (actually a barn?) at the back, but more nice extensive dining areas as well, unthought of when you look at the outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and really good service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived on a Friday night and were staying at the Fox Hotel which surprisingly didnt serve food so went into Chipping Norton to find somewhere to eat. We liked the outside and when we went inside were showed really quickly to a table. The service throughout our meal was friendly and efficient, I had chicken with a cream and bacon sauce and my husband had pork with apples and cider sauce, served with ample portions of fresh vegetables. It was absolutely delicious we finished our meal off with a local cheese board which we shared and contained local cheese, celery 2 types of pickles - delicious. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MABDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Boar also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing