We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business as usual?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Business as usual?”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As someone who attends a fair amount of hotel-based venues for conferences, exhibitions and business meetings, I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It's fair to say that the setting is quite lovely, and a walk around the grounds s recommended. The main building will put you in mind of certain highly successful TV drama. The extension is somewhat of a monstrous carbuncle visually, but is actually really pleasant as a conference facility inside. The main conference room was excellent, and the separate satellite rooms for other meetings served their purpose well.
I was particularly impressed with the catering. What a good idea to serve the mean in small, easy to hold pots rather than plates! How many of us have stood juggling a plate in one hand, knife and fork in the other, no-where to put a glass and tried to remain dignified and elegant in the process? These little pots meant you could have two or three different foods as well, and the quality was really good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent business stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our venue unique.
We hope you would consider a return visit in the future to experience the hotel in a leisure capacity.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    434
    267
    102
    62
See reviews for
236
529
15
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the hotel was fine, just not as fantastic as we thought to celebrate my wife's birthday with a night away. It seemed a bit deserted, although breakfast was busy enough. It reminded me a bit of the hotel in The Shining, if I'm honest! Service was good, food was good, our room was good, but there was just something lacking, I'm not sure what. We got off on the wrong foot as we missed the sign on the drive and went round to the DeBere's Conference Centre to start with - better signs please! Another disappointment was the kettle in our room was too hot to hold once boiled! Amazing. Would I go there again? On my own for business, maybe, but not for a romantic weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickthompson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay - all feedback is taken very seriously and the points you raised will be addressed.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Attended a conference recently and was very impressed with the general look and feel of the hotel.However, this impression was soon diluted when entering my room (standard) to find that it was tiny tiny tiny with no bath in the bathroom. Very very disappointed at this discovery...

So the room was nicely decorated but so very small. Food was good at dinner and poor at breakfast (I've had better in Premier Inn's)... Service was good but ultimately there were too many things letting this hotel down..

All in all I'm sure that it is very expensive for what it really is.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you found your room to small for your requirements. We do have a variety of different room types that offer baths and showers, if you decide to return to the hotel, please enquire with our Reservations Team regarding this.
Your other feedback will be passed on to the relevant departments for review.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday evening at the end of half term week. Check in was average but a very un impressive reception area.

The decor throughout is bizarre. Our room, 2051 was okay. On the small side and damp at the window. Otherwise it was well maintained. No toilet brush which was irritating.
There was a mini bar.... Well a fridge which was on but nothing in it! I would have expected this facility in a 4 star property. The bed was comfy but on the soft side and the room clean.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but used one of the bars...... Very pricey but a nice atmosphere.

Unfortunately I was taken ill during the night and had to leave without our pre paid breakfast. Trying to get the money back was a bit of a chore. The reception staff member was very unsympathetic to my plight. I'm all for standardisation and procedures. But, please train your staff to have some discretion and a little sympathy would not have gone amiss. However, the duty manager was called and he sorted it out to our satisfaction.

One major gripe was being rudely awoken by housekeeping in the morning when they walked into our room. No knocking. I was asleep at 10 following a sleepless night and was very annoyed to be woken when check out was not till 12! We mentioned this to the duty manager but no idea if anything was done. The housekeeping team must surely have had a list of departures. I'm keen to know why this happened at all. In my experience housekeepers check to see which rooms have checked out before going in?

The spa area was ok. Very uninspiring. Pool area busy and tiles exceedingly slippery and wet. Water cups everywhere on the floor. We really went for a steam room session as my husband had a sore throat but it wasn't working. Annoyed that we hadn't been informed.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Very disappointing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback will be passed on to all relevant departments and where necessary changes implemented.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is not far from Oxford, set in substantial grounds and is adjacent to a gorgeous manor house.

Several reviews have mentioned the great staff at Reception and I have to wholeheartedly agree. Check in was cheerful and very efficient, dealing with a reasonable sized party. And check out the next day was equally first class. The staff clearly took pride and were a credit to the hotel.

I found the public areas in the hotel to be far too warm, with the odd exception of the bar, which was noticeably cooler than anywhere else in the building. The standard double rooms are quite small (the twin executive rooms however are spacious and a good size), with not much room to walk around the bed, and my room was at the end of a corridor carpeted in a hysterically bright pink – completely out of keeping with the décor elsewhere in the hotel. Amusingly, the flat screen tv was set inside a picture frame on the wall.

The bed was firm and extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was large with a good walk in shower. And, being set in its own estate, the hotel and rooms are very quiet. Unfortunately, in the room I occupied, the air conditioning kept switching itself back on, and at night is noisy enough to wake you up. Repeatedly getting up to turn it off again led to a fairly disturbed night’s sleep. From talking to others in the party, this also occurred in at least one other room.

The hotel provides a map of the grounds, with helpfully one and two mile walking routes included. The estate includes a mix of woodland, open ground and formal gardens, and the views back towards the manor house are terrific.

There is a pool and fitness centre, but it’s worth being aware that it’s on the opposite side of the manor house to the hotel and so quite a walk. However it’s possible to walk through the manor house to the fitness centre.

One thing I felt was missing was any sort of information about the manor house, its history, or the grounds surrounding it. There were no information boards in the grounds (something quite small an unobtrusive would have been useful to explain some of the landmarks), and there were no leaflets or wall displays inside the hotel.

The restaurant has an odd look with the white tables and chairs and, despite the volume of cars in the car park was mostly empty. The food was sadly pretty uninspiring and run of the mill, so much so that no-one in the party ordered desert, and the wine list was very mainstream, and not great quality, certainly for the price point when comparing to other restaurants.

Breakfast is not a strong point at the hotel. It was the usual full English breakfast list of items, looking extremely unappetizing and kept warm in their own containers. There was sadly no evidence of any organic or free range produce. There were also some small pastries, cereal, fruit and very sharp frozen berries and yoghurt.

But great staff and great grounds.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing.
All reviews and feedback are passed on to the relevant department and where necessary, changes are implemented.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to highlight the issues experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice both occasions have been perfect

1st stay we couldn't book a spa treatment as full booked but stillntje pool and suna your enough to please .
Staff were helpful where to eat and breakfast was fresh and tasted great .
2 nd vist booked on the phone hot a great price as women on the phone have us a great deal with treatment included and they were great too.we will keep staying here ,ground are lovely with great views
Hhighly recommend !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baileyjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear you recevied an excellent spa package and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you at the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

One word sums it all up 'awful'

Wenr here for a relaxing weekend break.. reception staff arrogant and not helpful at all , leisure facilities miles away from main building and on a cold day its not very good for walking. Once in leisure club steam room out of service swimming pool full of kids...

Rooms ok bed comfortable

Breakfast was good and breakfast staff friendly and helpfull

The only good thing about this hotel was the peaceful nights sleep we had.. oh and the pheasants. ..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank chaffy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear chaffy73,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
980 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
22.8 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,054 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,223 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing