We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Nearby Hotels
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heythrop Park Resort(Chipping Norton)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)(Great Value!)
$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
$478
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fox(Chipping Norton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveler rating
455
466
290
110
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
466
290
110
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseexecutive roomheythrop parktwo double bedsbrassey restaurantbeautiful groundscar parkseparate buildingmodern hotellong driveset menuleisure clubspa facilitiescourse dinnersauna and steam roomlovely locationbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
859 - 864 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with school friends from years ago.
The hotel is next door/linked to a De Vere hotel which was being renovated. They are not in the same chain of hotels but seem to share facilities. The set up was quite weird. You could walk through from one hotel to the next but there were few guests and it was almost eerie.
We had a lovely room in the Crowne Plaza, very clean and smart. No bedside lighting was annoying as unable to read in bed.
We booked a spa package for the ladies and a golf package for the men. The spa had me booked in for the wrong package and when I paid for a top up to the basic short massage they tried to charge me the full price.However, credit where it is due, the full body massage was superb.
The men fared no better with the golf, we had tried to pre book a tee time and left a message but they never got back to us. My husband had to be quite firm to get a tee time on that morning.
The golf and spa facilities are in the grounds of the other hotel and a short walk (outside).
We had booked the package with an evening meal in the Brassey restaurant. Nice black and white decor with silhouettes, very effective. The food on the whole was good (apart from a Heythrop salad which was just a bag of mixed leaves in a bowl) but the service was appallingly slow.
We had a late check out (2pm and free of charge) which was good and were able to keep our tab open until we left the hotel at 5pm.
Overall a pleasant stay but some really weak areas need to be resolved.

Room Tip: We were in a new or newly renovated annexe, it was smart, clean and elegant. We were in rooms 004 and 005, both had little terraces but due to inclement weather did not use.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Pauline F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate confusion over the packages prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for a three day golf break. It is in the middle of a country estate in a very pleasant part of the world. The hotel building itself is not in keeping with a country estate building and looks a bit odd amongst the grounds. No matter though, it´s decor is made up of silvers, purples and blacks, giving it a boutique feel and the staff are all very friendly. We had booked a twin room which was in excellent condition and very spacious and included two double beds which was more than we had expected. It had a very large wall mounted TV and a large bathroom with walk in shower and bath. As we had booked an all inclusive golf and dinner package, we ate in the restaurant on all three nights. There was lots of choice and the food was of a high order. Breakfast is in the same restaurant and is a buffet style eat as much as you like effort and is also very tasty. There is also a large and relaxing bar underneath the restaurant with a good selection of drinks including an excellent pint of Doom Bar. It´s also worth mentioning that the hotel has clearly reacted to feedback left on this site, where people have complained about a few things. For example there are now several vegetarian options on the menu, hash browns are now available at breakfast and the hotel wi-fi is now free of charge and is lightning fast. Most enjoyable. There is also a Spa and golf course which is a short walk from the hotel. There is ample car parking space in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazpacho68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear excellent feedback and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of a beautiful country estate at the end of a mile long driveway through a forest and golf course. If you are expecting a traditional English country house then you will be in for a shock as the hotel is a bit of a concrete monstrosity attached to the original Hall.

Inside is all a bit funky with pink carpets, red walls and modern glass chandeliers. All a bit incongruous.

Our ground floor room whilst small had a very comfortable bed and everything you could want for a one or two night stay. Good quality linen and duvet on the bed. Our bathroom didn’t have a bath, but it did have a very large double shower with both rainforest and normal shower heads.

The hotel was very quiet, hence my comment about being soulless. The staff were purely functional albeit polite and efficient.

Didn’t use the restaurant or spa so can’t comment on them.

Room Tip: Our room only had a shower, so if you like a bath, make sure you request one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwichScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear NorwichScot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent visit, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

Although we were pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable, I sincerely apologize for you did not find some areas of our hotel to your liking. We always strive to provide the best accommodation and deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations on this occasion. possible.

We all hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in the quality of our products and services. Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked an executive king room which was ok, nice decor and bed but nothing special. All the staff we met were lovely. Fantastic grounds in a lovely part of the country. Breakfast ok. Other than that nothing special about this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoshisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear YoshisMum,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff works hard to ensure that our guests enjoy a great relaxing stay with us. Again, thank you for the feedback. Please feel free to stay with us when in the area again

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed recently here for a business event with my company. Overall OK, but disappointed most with the room I stayed in. Just to say they are currently refurbishing the main Heythrop Manor house, so might be best to check which room you are staying in, as the Crowne Plaza part is fine. My room 106 was absolutely tiny, more akin to University student accommodation, not really big enough for two. But worse than that there was no shower gel, and a large clump of human hair on the bathroom floor, disgusting! I can say that many colleagues raved about their rooms, but their were a number of us who were very disappointed.
Apart from the room, all the food over my stay that included Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were to a good standard, service on the whole was good but as I say some areas are being refurbished so lots of contractors around.

Room Tip: Try and assist on the Crowne Plaza rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Peas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear 4Peas_11,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews