We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused-you might be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Crowne Plaza is in a wonderful location surrounded by miles (literally) of rolling countryside.
A Modern block with excellent facilities.
Rooms are well appointed with beds extremely comfortable.

Dining is confusing! We were too late to book into the Crowne Plaza restauarnt but were offerred the opportunity bto dine in the De Vere Hotel restaurant which is joined up with the Crowne Plaza. Magically our bill for the meal was processed by the Crowne Plaza!

We had the intermittent problem of a false fire alarm. We took the route designated down to the ground floor.When the alarm was declared a false alarm we took the lift up to the "3rd Floor" which turned out to be the 2nd Floor in another part of the Hotel.Trying to get back to our room took us back to Reception only to start our upward journey again. It was very confusing-perhaps we are too old for this "adventure"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIRDIE2Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
The signage in the hotel is currently being addressed so I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the department dealing with this.
We hope you would consider the hotel for any return visits to the area.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

On this occasion I stayed at the CP for a business trip, but have used it for both business and family.

The hotel is well located and sits halfway between Oxford and Stratford Upon Avon making it a great location for a weekend break.

The food in the restaurant is of a good standard. The dinner bed and breakfast deal is excellent value for a family trip with a reasonable choice of food at dinner. Breakfast is excellent, the smoked salmon and scrambled egg alone make a stay worthwhile if in the area working.

This is a resort hotel and it shares spa facilities and golf with the De Vere (which is attached). £18 for a twilight round of golf after 3pm makes it good value.

The only downside to the hotel is the rooms need a little attention. Beds are always very comfy but the rooms could do with a refurb and the cleaner needs to learn how to deal with cobwebs. Sort this and it will be an excellent venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vizsla_Posh_Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.
We will ensure your feedback regarding housekeeping is passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza overnight on a conference.

This is a very well equipped, large, modern hotel set in huge parkland. It is reasonably isolated, so is a good location for a conference: very quiet, with few distractions.

My room was large and well kept, with a vast, extremely comfortable, king size bed and flat screen TV. The bathroom was also large, with separate shower and bathtub. Toiletries were of a high standard.

The hotel caters very well for conferences. There is a very large lecture theatre and numerous breakout rooms. Coffee, mineral water and Danish pastries were on plentiful supply.

The dinner, in the ballroom, was excellent and of high quality.

Sadly, I left early the following day without sampling breakfast.

I really can't complain about the Crowne Plaza in any respect. It's ideal for a conference, and would probably also be a comfy base for a weekend in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as a conference guest and hope that you would consider a leisure break with us for any return stays to the area in the future to sample our Health Club, spa and golf facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed with my husband for one night on my birthday. Driveway approach to hotel is beautiful, Lots of car parking. Reception staff friendly. Our room was with a small balcony at the far left of the hotel. It was quiet and away from the car park with views of the golf course. Our room decor was unusual for a hotel, but we really liked it. All clean and good order. Comfy bed. Bathroom clean. Breakfast was in the restaurant and was very nice. Again unusual furnishings but this made it more special. Ate in the bar on the evening, it was Ok, but not much choice for a vegetarian. Quite pricey. The only criticism I have is regarding the outside area. It was a lovely hot evening when we were there and we walked out onto the lawn where there were a few seats, but there appeared to be a lot of cigarette butts on the lawn which were unsightly. There either needs to be a designated area and bins available for butts or to have the area regularly cleaned up. It seemed out of character with the rest of the hotel which was immaculate.
Leisure facilities are a short stroll via the separate old style hotel which it is attached to this one. We didn't use them, but they looked good.
We would return in the same room.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
We are always thrilled to hear when a guest enjoys their time with us and look forward to seeing at the hotel again very soon.
We will however, ensure that your feedback regarding the smoking area is fed back to the correct department for investigation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited this hotel for a long weekend with my husband. Was impressed by the surroundings and grandeur of the hotel. Received very warm welcome on our arrival. Our room was well designed well equipped and nicely decorated. However, it was rather grubby. Several stains on carpet. And the mattress had seen better days.

The Brassery Bar although decorated very sumptuously and comfortably some of the furniture was extremely grubby. The curtains had stains down them as well. The menu in the Brassery bar offered a good choice of bar snacks and the food we had was very good. The service was ok. The Brassery Restaurant evening menu was extremely good. The food and service was exceptional. Shame the same could not be said about breakfast. It was very poor. The food was mediocre and staff indifferent. To cap it off on the Monday mornong we arrived a little late for breakfast due to a mix up with the times. Even though there were guests still eating and food still on the counters, we were told in no uncertain terms that we could not have any breakfast not even a cup of tea or a bowl of cereal. No extra hospitality here. We would possibly stay here again as the hotel itself was lovely and the surroundings were beautiful. Wouldn't bother with the breakfast though and would hope that the furniture and bedrooms have had a deep clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cilane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel location and surroundings, but are sorry to read that you were disappointed with certain areas.
We review all feedback and will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant departments for further investigation.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great stay at the Plaza for a 2 night break with 3 colleagues. Food and staff excellent. Special mention for Laura in golf reception for smiley face and good service re golf buggies etc.

V small grumble, get the plates warm for the early morning breakfasts!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcol4491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are always delighted when a guest enjoys their time here.
We will also ensure that Laura is aware of your review and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Modern hotel, on a historic estate - a little bit of a drive to Oxford, but a good base to explore and visit Stonehenge, Bicaster Village (outlets), etc. The room was spacious, clean, modern and had well thought out. The downside was breakfast, a buffet but not well stocked, and average quality, would suggest picking something up when you get into Oxford

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcss_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,037 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
888 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,395 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: $100 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing