We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is a perfect setting for a visit to the Cotswolds. The hotel has a modern feel offering excellent facilities and is reached via along driveway with ample parking spaces. It shares the extensive grounds with the grand stately home ,which is a three star De Vere hotel , newly acquired. The room we had was small ,with a French door ,overlooking the grounds. The immaculate bedding gives it a feeling of luxury. The décor is modern with shades of silver and lilac.
The staff are helpful and welcoming. I was particularly impressed with Francesca ,the receptionist who went the extra mile ,to sort out our extra nights when we decided to stay rather than move on, visiting more of the area .
Breakfast was buffet style with attentive staff and the dining room was impressive with the black and white, ultra chic and glamorous design.
Definitely an enjoyable and relaxing break at this hotel with a feeling of getting away from it all..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annio59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our teams work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. As you stated we are on the very edge of the Cotswolds and we are located about 15 miles North West of Oxford which makes us an ideal location for visiting this famous city. We look forward to seeing you again. Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    415
    260
    97
    59
See reviews for
227
517
14
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have just stayed at the Crowne Plaza side of the hotel for a week on business and I must say it has been a lovely experience. The large building consists of two hotels, one of them being the Crowne Plaza. It is situated in miles of quiet, private, lush and well maintained grounds with cycle and running routes around it. It also has a large golf course and great pool/ gym. The driveway to the hotel in itself is 2 miles long! Great location too.

The room was lovely and very modern with lovely colours and fancy touches, I even had a balcony overlooking more stunning scenery. The bed was to die for, with amazing matress/topper and gorgeous bedding, they even go the extra mile and provide you with a complimentary sleep system, which includes a pillow spray and a roll on for body pressure points to aid sleep! Rooms are very quiet, you can't hear anything once in there.

The staff were lovey, very pleasant and professional and would do their best to help with more or less anything. The front of desk Manager, Louise, was so helpful and even arranged rooms around for me to accommodate my stay.

I have stayed in many hotels on business but this is one of the best. Would recommend this for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katejones24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our teams work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really matters to us that our guests receive the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel has a lovely setting in Heythrop Park. We arrived late in the evening, check in was easy and speedy. The room was large enough for myself, my husband and our daughter with two double beds, nicely decorated, not my taste though with perspex bedside tables and white gloss fittings but looked nice enough, no free wi-fi,which you tend to expect these days. Good sized bathroom and couldn't fault it on cleanliness. As we arrived late and it was raining we decided to eat in the bar, really wish we hadn't! The bar had so little character it was soul-less, it was like sitting in an airport lounge! The food was ok, nothing memorable and expensive for what it was. I couldn't find one healthy or low fat option though. We ended up eating and going straight to bed. We booked it as somewhere just to get our heads down before my husbands meeting in Oxford the next day rather than drive 3 hours in the morning so it was adequate for that but the bar area let it down. Dont think I'd stop again unless stuck for somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Your comments have been passed to my team and they will be addressed

I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for them, we constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, it gives us the opportunity to make improvements for our future guests. Please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team. It means a lot to us here at the Resort when people take the time to post reviews on the Trip Advisor website. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here. Regards Debbie Priestley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent here one night to get away from it all. The stay was amazing, the room lovely. We had a huge and comfy bed,could hardly get out of it in the morning. Loved the sleep advantage, great idea. Great shower. Superb decor in the whole hotel. We went for the 2 mile walk, so peaceful and quiet,you only hear the wind and the stream. Went to the spa,had a lovely time. This is what we needed, thank you. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It is so important to have time out from the hustle and bustle of a hard working week and spend some quality special time relaxing with your partner/family/friends. We constantly review comments and it is our aim to improve any imperfections that are posted on the Trip Advisor website. Our aim is to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time here at Heythrop Park. We look forward to seeing you in the future. All the team would like to say thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a trip for myself and 2 children, stunning location. Have to have a car though. Rooms were nicely finished although not very spacious for 3 of us. Service was very good , we had a plumbing problem and it was sorted very efficiently. Children loved the swimming pool although water is a bit chilly. Ate in the bar and food was good but not a lot of choice for children and the restaurant was a bit pricey and a bit smart for two small children. Breakfasts were great. Nothing much in walking distance so unless you want to drive then probably have to eat in the hotel .
If you want to visit Blenheim Palace then it is a 10 minute drive which is perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ws h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We take great pride in working as a team and we take both praise and criticism graciously.
Thank you for your excellent comments, the team here at the Heythrop Hotel was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We aren't golfers and had wondered a bit whether we would feel out of place. Instead, we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Particularly enjoyed the restaurant where the second floor windows have wonderful views. Our suite was very quiet and comfortable. Staff excellent. Lovely location with beautiful grounds. Among the British hotels and inns we stayed at in spring 2013, this hotel scored highly for quality for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fielding-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our teams work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really matters to us that our guests receive the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really I don't want to tell you about this hotel as it's our little secret however, this is luxury hideaway that is worth a visit! The hotel opened in October 2010 and our first visit was on 1 January 2012 when we arrived on wet, dark and miserable day and were told that we were one of only two visitors staying in the whole hotel that night!!! But we have never looked back and returned in the March and for the Golden Jubilee in June.

This is a modern hotel with a contemporary decor that you would not expect to find deep in the Cotswolds but for us - it works. It's totally off the beaten track, with its own gorgeous 2 mile private drive which is great for running down but just remember it's a four mile round trip! I've also run the set 2 mile track however, as a woman running on my own it shock me a little as the track takes you though unpopulated first which is pretty but a little unnerving so I keep to the drive now.

We normally book direct however on this occasion we booked through Secretescapes. We had a spacious executive room which had a huge comfortable bed, bath and a separate shower which is to die for. All the rooms we have stayed in have had a little fridge which helpfully is not stocked. This means you can take your own drinks which, along with taking snacks, is advisable because there are NO shops nearby if you get the nibbles.

There is an excellent golf course and on both days my husband made extensive use of the driving range while I sat in the sun on the deck of the golf club bar. They do great sandwiches! Whilst we did not make use of the gym, sauna, steam room, pool and spa on this trip we have in the past and were pleasantly surprised. However, they are a short walk away via Heythorpe Hall. In the winter time we were taken round on a golf buggy by a member of staff which was fun.

We had booked on a B&B basis and had planned to go to a restaurant in Chipping Norton however, these plans soon changed when we were told that a taxi, one way, would cost £20!! As it was Bank Holiday weekend the hotel was very busy and we were initially told the stunning restaurant (with very tasteful black and white decor) was fully booked. However, thanks to Andy we were given a table a 9.30 pm and even though the kitchen was just about to close we were not rushed and had a gorgeous three course meal. It's not a cheap restaurant and if you are planning to eat there I would suggest booking on a DB&B basis and booking a table well in advance to avoid disappointment. Although, if you don't get in the restaurant you can eat in the bar, which again has a nice feel to it.

On our second day we vegged out and got the movie package which is £24 for 24 hours - noon to noon. It was just what we needed and as always there were some good titles.

This is the first time we have had breakfast which was was lovely and there was an amazing choice. One thing I loved was that there are mugs rather than cups which fro me was great as I like a mug of tea/coffee with my breakfast!

I should also mention the staff who made us feel very welcome and really went out of their way to accommodate our requests and demonstrate that they wanted us to enjoy ourselves.

This is a hotel where you can do as much or as little was you want in a fantastic setting.

It's not going to be long before we are back again!

Room Tip: It you can afford a little more go for an Exec. room because the extra little luxury is well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BajanSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wow, thank you for the great comments, our team work very hard to ensure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. As you know we have Spa/Leisure facilities and of course an amazing golf course. I am so glad that your husband enjoyed our golf course. The Bainbridge Course at Heythrop Park Resort is a 7,008 yard par 72 golf course designed by renowned golf course architects Mackenzie & Ebert. The stunning course meanders through ancient woodland, lakes and streams and the design echoes the original landscape plan drawn up in 1706 with its historical bridges and monuments. The grounds on the estate are a delight to walk (I have done this several times with friends) there is a 1mile and a 2 mile circular circuit walk, a walled garden and a pleasure garden. And if you are lucky you will encounter various wild life, such as deer (doe/buck) and rabbits, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards the Manager. Debbie Priestley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
18.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
22.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing