We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spa etc” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely spa etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

So we arrived at around 2pm and then decided to hit the pool and sauna. Unfortunately the sauna wasn’t working but the steam room was lovely. With regards to the room we had our own patio door out which was handy for taking bags to and from the car. The room was clean and fresh, the only issue being the air-con making mystery noises throughout the night. We didn’t eat here as for what the food was it was overpriced in my opinion. Would stay again though!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Our aim is to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time here at Heythrop Park.
We constantly review comments and it is our aim to improve any imperfections that are posted on the Trip Advisor website. All the team would like to say thank you. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    414
    260
    97
    59
See reviews for
227
516
14
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for four days. What a fabulous hotel, really modern and in absolutely beautiful surroundings with stunning scenery, parkland and manor house. I stayed n room 60 and it was furnished in gorgeous silver and lilac colours with very modern accessories. I loved the TV in the silver picture frame. It was light and airy with fantastic full length mirrors and there was a brilliant area to apply your make up and dry your hair with a great mirrored dressing able with lots f light. This had really been thought through and was a delight not to have to squat on the floor trying to dry my hair. Fabulous bathroom with large walk in double shower. No need to take toiletries as all supplied with an excellent hair dryer as well as ironing board and iron. One criticism would be that the safe is low on the floor in the wardrobe which isn't easy to read the instructions unless you are on your hands and knees. Beautiful decorations and furnishings throughout the hotel and loved the black and white theme in the restaurant as well as the fantastic lighting, lampshades and beautiful crystal chandeliers throughout. Friendly staff always happy to help. About 15 miles from Bicester shopping village and Bleinham Palace about half an hour drive away a must if you have have the time. Will definitely return with my hubby to enjoy again thank you

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our teams work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really matters to us that our guests receive the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked this hotel to breakup a long journey, staff were vey helpful and as platinum member I got upgrade to suite, however it was hot and very noisy had we beed staying their several nights I would have requested another room, but as this was one of the best in hotel it fell well below the standards I expect from this chain

Room Tip: Suites at bottom of hotel are hot and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteblakemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks’ for your honest assessment of your stay with us…We endeavor as a team to ensure that all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment. And our teams work very hard to ensure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at this Crowne Plaza at least 5 times know as we are Priority Club members. But, several times our room reservation was not as we expected. The staff are wonderful and jump through hoops trying to make it all work out. BUT - its getting frustrating. The standard guest rooms are extremely small to the point where if there are two people sharing . . . well, its very tight. The rooms are beginning to show wear - our first room had a chair with badly torn upholstery. Again, I said it in an earlier review and I'll say it again - the staff here are excellent but we're not so sure we will chose this hotel next time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandleronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I would like to apologise for the disappointment that you experienced during your stay with us. . We are very fortunate to have owners who continue to invest in improving the hotel. The challenge we have is prioritising where to spend this money as with such a vast building and grounds, the money never seems to go as far as you want it to!! But improvements are on the agenda. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a three night break at the Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park. Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds near to Chipping Norton. Quite a modern building adjoining the Grade II Listed Heythrop Park which you can wonder around. There is also a golf course surrounding the hotel which although we did not play looks fairly challenging. As platinum members we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely room overlooking the front entrance and although we were concerned this might have a lot of people traffic at night it was extremely quiet and we had very restful evenings. We did not eat at the hotel as we thought the cost of breakfast at £19.00 per person on the pricey side, even £14.00 if booked on check-in we still thought very pricey. The Brassey Bar was very warm and friendly. The staff were extremely helpful and although we had a slight issue on our last morning the hotel management put it right straight away. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning, Its an ideal base for visits to Oxford and the surrounding Cotswolds. We did not eat in the restaurants as we took another tripadvisor reviewers recommendation and went the The Crown at Church Enstone - see my review.

If you are visiting Oxford use the park and ride. Its so much easier than trying to get round Oxford and also a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was excellent, a long driveway to hotel so far away from traffic noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was great with all toiletries etc at your disposal. All areas of the hotel were spotless. The restaurant food was excellent the dining room decoration was oppulent and welcoming. Excellent choices for dinner and breakfast. there was also a bar where you could have light meals we would certainily stay here again. The location was great for Oxford (27mins away by car) and Blenheim Palace was only 12 minutes drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. There is nothing more motivating than reading positive comments from guests who come and try our hospitality. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything provided complimented your stay. Our team work very hard to ensure that every guest enjoys every aspect of their stay. It really matters to us that our guests receive the very best service. I am glad that we meet your expectations.On behalf of the whole team a huge thank you. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After the lovely drive up to the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff, check-in was easy, offered free "i" newspaper in the morning, told where everything was, given a map with a couple of walks planned out and got told we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite... Couldn't have been happier!

Got to the room and it was perfect, bottle of still and sparkling water on the coffee table, good sized TV which rotated so you could watch in bed or in living area, large bathroom with shower and bath, nice view of fountain at the front of the hotel and some lovely smellies on the bed to help sleep!

Went for a lovely walk around the grounds and sat watching people play golf for a little while! This hotel was so peaceful and we will 100% return some time to make full use of their facilities! Had a perfect nights sleep, the pillows were amazing (usually they are lumpy in hotels I think!) and the bed was squidgy but sooooo good!! The hotel was so quiet through the night even though there was a large wedding being held there - I am a super light sleeper and didn't hear a thing!

Breakfast in the morning was spot on, absolutely perfect! Usual hot stuff - eggs, bacon, sausages, beans. Cereals, mini pastries, cold meats and cheese, smoked salmon, toast, juices, tea, coffee etc... best hotel breakfast I have had in a while!

Cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: If booking through an online site, select room allocated on arrival - we got an upgrade to Jnr Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tintysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We take great pride in working as a team and we take both praise and criticism graciously.
Thank you for your excellent comments, the team here at the Heythrop Hotel was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Debbie Priestley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
18.6 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
22.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing