We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for New Year's Eve Gala dinner.
Thoroughly recommend and will almost certainly be back next year. 5 course meal very good considering how many people were being served. Band excellent. A few strange choices of song for the disco but that did not spoil the evening.
Could have done with a bigger dance area as it was packed.
I believe the hotel opened in 2010 but it is still fresh and our room was very clean and tidy.
Buffet Breakfast available available until 12:00 which was great.
Only real complaint was the "cream tea" on arrival. This consisted of chocolate brownie and scones and there were no mugs available for the tea for about 10 minutes.
Some staff could have done with more training as service at the bar when we first arrived was very slow.
Would give it 4.75 out of 5 but not quite 5!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our resort,and entered into 2013 with our New Year's Eve Gala dinner We constantly review comments and it is our aim to improve any imperfections that are posted on the Trip Advisor website. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards D Priestley General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a 3 night New Year break. It was absolutely superb! An expensive break but worth every penny. Really enjoyed the 5 course dinner in the ballroom with champagne, local band and fireworks to celebrate the arrival of 2013. The executive rooms were beautiful – very contemporary and spotlessly clean and all the staff offer exemplary service throughout.

We had evening meals included in our package and they were superb! I put on pounds on this mini-break!! The 3 course meals featured creamy risottos, melt in the mouth meat and the best chocolate ganache that I have ever tasted. The service in the restaurant was amazing – personable but professional. One waiter called Nathan worked incredibly long hours (we saw him at 3:30am on New Years Eve and then at 9am for breakfast the next morning!) but had the restaurant running like clockwork and offered 5 star service. The wine list is also good and decent wine is about £25 a bottle so not extortionate for a hotel in the middle of nowhere! Best of all there is a fridge in your room so bring a bottle for pre-dinner drinks!

The spa treatments were excellent – I had a manicure, indian head massage and a full body massage. Samantha did my treatments and she rivals my top London therapist – thank you. Try to get her for your treatments – outstanding! My friend and I attempted to do the Boxfit exercise class and were the only 2 people in it so we benefited from a personal boxfit training session with the gym PT, Ken. He was brilliant – very encouraging and we really enjoyed it. Gym had all the equipment necessary and was so quiet. My husband played golf and there were no temporary tees/greens. He said it was excellently maintained and gorgeous scenery; also quiet at the end of December! Well recommended (£35 for 18holes pp). The swimming pool was lovely (and warm) but no jacuzzi/spa which I thought was a shame. Very comfy sunloungers round the pool too.

The hotel is set in the most amazing grounds and attached to the older Heythrop Hotel. I much preferred the modern Crowne Plaza but walking through the manor house was stunning. You could literally forget that there was an outside world (but if you don’t want to, the hotel is only a 20 minute drive to Bicester Shopping Outlet!). I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel. They have trained their staff well – to the highest standard. What a credit they all are to this company. Well done – you deserve 5 stars; keep it up! It was our friend’s third visit and I can see why. We will be back… Big thank you!

Room Tip: Standard rooms had all essentials but were short of space. £30 a room upgrade (a night) gave you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Wow, thank you for the great comments, I was delighted to read your review , thank you for taking the time to post them. It means a lot to us here at Crowne Plaza Resort when people take the time to publish their views. We aim to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and an enjoyable time whilst here at the Crowne Plaza. As a team we aim to pull out all the stops and I am so glad that you enjoyed the 5 course dinner in the ballroom with champagne, local band and fireworks to celebrate the arrival of 2013. Also that your husband enjoyed our amazing golf course. The Bainbridge Course at Heythrop Park Resort is a 7,008 yard par 72 golf course designed by renowned golf course architects Mackenzie & Ebert. The stunning course meanders through ancient woodland, lakes and streams and the design echoes the original landscape plan drawn up in 1706 with its historical bridges and monuments, and that you had time to experience our wonderful health club facilities. As for shopping, (Bicester is very popular) the resort is very well placed for all kinds of attractions,
Oxford is not far away and has such a lot to offer Theatre cinema , Museums shopping dinning to accommodate all needs, plus lots of history guides/tours. And Chipping Norton is only down the road and it is a lovely Cotswold Town with many attractions fine restaurants a Theatre and picture house an open/indoor swimming pool plus other amenities.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and experienced that we have to offer our guests, We look forward to seeing you again. D Priestley General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

An unexpected pleasure from a modern hotel. Yes, it is miles in the countryside and a long way from the nearest road, but if you accept that and are happy with the hotel's restaurant and facilities, then it can be a worthwhile short stay. The grounds and setting are beautiful, and hotel staff were very accommodating - none of the stuffiness that can surround country house hotels.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

As you stated the wonderful surroundings are very grand in deed. We have recently opened a new play adventure area for our guests that come as a family, and, an in-door playroom. We also have bicycles for hire for the whole family. We are constantly striving to set the high standards that will ensure that we become very well known and acclaimed within the field of hospitality. We hope to see you again. Regards M Hall Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After trying to find the place in the dark and park in the car park, I was pleasantly surprised by the really nice greeting at the reception by a very friendly young lady (which is normally forced in such a place) who dealt with the booking quickly and efficiently.
Room very pleasant over looking court yard garden and quirt. The bed somewhat soft but I slept well. breakfast of the grab and go was actually quite large and tasty. The chap at 5am in the morning was also very pleasant and friendly and I did not need to ask for the breakfast. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you slept well while you were with us. We hope to see you again. Regards M Hall Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel really is tucked away, up a very long drive, and as others have said the access, signposting, and finding your way to the entrance on a dark night isn't simple. Don't think you can just wander out to a local pub as an alternative to the on-site catering, especially when you find that on a Sunday night nowhere seems to be serving food for mile around.

The new Crowne Plaza hotel is aimed at the corporate events market, with a number of conference rooms and a large tiered theatre, but as independent travellers we didn't feel overpowered by this. We got an upgrade to an Executive room which was particularly nice, with both a walk-in shower and a bath in an immaculately presented bathroom. They appear to have quite a number of "shower-only" bathrooms, and if they are fitted to this standard this shouldn't put you off, as long as you don't HAVE to have a bath.

Wi-Fi access is free in the public areas and very reasonable (£9 for 24 hours) by hotel standards in the room. As a Priority Club Platinum Elite member this was complimentary, which was a nice plus, as 3G access was impossible from Vodafone, Orange, T-Mobile and Three.

The bed was huge and very comfortable, though, as I've experienced elsewhere, the sheets weren't big enough for the bed and kept coming untucked. Pillows were very good and we got a really good night's sleep, despite a noisy party until 3AM in the function suite. I still can't understand why anyone puts a TV on the wall at head height. It makes it impossible to sit and watch the screen without getting a stiff neck, though the "chaise short" was a touch odd as the only comfy seat in the room.

Breakfast was the usual fare with a good selection, and the bacon and sausages full of flavour. Even at a pay-in-advance discounted rate breakfast felt expensive, but because we got the room at an excellent a 2 for 1 rate, I felt that the total B&B rate was very good.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a light bar meal one evening. This was excellent quality with good portion size and decent value for money, but we had to get out of the bar area to avoid the overpowering showing of Eastenders on the two TVs. With sound plumbed in to every corner of the bar and turned up quite loud, there wasn't a quiet area where you could sit, relax and chat.

Would I go again - probably, as long as I got a similar rate again and wanted to visit in the area. Otherwise it's too isolated unless you want to get away from it all.

As a reminder, don't confuse this with the Heythrop Park Resort, Golf & Country Club which is next dorr and interconnected. The "Resort" hotel is an old country house with a few magnificent rooms and a lot of small, very ordinary rooms from it's time as a jesuit Seminary and as Nat West's training & conference centre. Probably the ideal location for a wedding or similar, but not what I'd choose for an 'ordinary' stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitmachine2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Wow, thank you for the great comments, Our team work very hard to ensure that guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. The new Crowne Plaza hotel is aimed at the corporate events market, with a number of conference rooms. And we are fortunate to be such a busy hotel. With the many weddings and functions and events that we hold, we try very hard to ensure that they do not detract from the relaxing environment we offer our leisure guests. We have Spa/Leisure facilities and of course an amazing golf course. The Bainbridge Course at Heythrop Park Resort is a 7,008 yard par 72 golf course designed by renowned golf course architects Mackenzie & Ebert. The stunning course meanders through ancient woodland, lakes and streams and the design echoes the original landscape plan drawn up in 1706 with its historical bridges and monuments. The grounds on the estate are a delight to walk (I have done this several times with friends) there is a 1mile and a 2 mile circular walk, a walled garden and a pleasure garden. And if you are lucky you will encounter various wild life, such as deer (doe/buck) and rabbits, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards M Hall Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night on 25 Nov. It was late when we arrived. The parking lot was a little far, and it was drizzling. Hence, I got a little wet when I walked back to the lobby. But wow... lobby looks beautiful. Refer to photo.

As it was late, we were hungry. The restaurant staff were about to leave. They stayed back to serve us. I could not recall if the food was great, but certainly appreciate the kindness. Very friendly people... who chatted with us for a while.

The breakfast was great. The outside view was fanastic. A huge fountain, and took many photos. Overall impression is good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

I am glad that we meet your expectations. I do hope that potential future guests will be tempted to stay with us after reading your lovely comments.
We hope to see you again. Regards M Hall Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here on 15 December for a works christmas party.
Firstly let me state that the room and food was exceptionally good. Couldn't fault the level of service.
After the long drive up the driveway (not the best well-lit at 5pm on a dark december evening - so drive carefully), and finding a car space (again the entrances into the various rows weren't the best lit) the hotel looks stunning.
But:
(1) The hotel is huge and unfortunately the internal signage wasn't the best. Took nearly twenty minutes to find the function room we had been allocated (and we accidently joined another party). Same problem incurred on finding the bedroom after the function ended.
(2) Even when we asked staff where to go, they pointed in a direction - we went that way - and still got lost!

Overall we enjoyed the visit but next time would take a ball of string to help us find our way around!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Many thanks’ for your honest assessment of your stay with us. We constantly review comments and it is our aim to improve any imperfections that are posted on the Trip Advisor website. Your comments have been forwarded to my team.
Thank you I hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Regards M Hall Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,040 reviews
18.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.1 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
896 reviews
9 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,403 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: $100 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing