We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our stay!”
Welcome to The Smithy, Chipping Norton
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Smithy, Chipping Norton
Characterful, contemporary living room A fabulous log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Welcome to The Smithy, Chipping Norton
Characterful, contemporary living room
A fabulous log burner
Dining table made up for six
Great for catching up with friends and family
A smart, stylish kitchen
Lovely cottage feel...
Convenient downstairs WC
The small courtyard garden is ideal for a relaxing coffee or glass of wine!
Bedroom 1, with two single beds
Great for children or adults
Bedroom 2, with a double bed
Smart and stylish
Bedroom 3, which contains a fixed single bed, plus an additional 75cm wide pull-out single bed
Lovely refurbished family bathroom
Lovely modern style
The Smithy
One of the traditional local pubs
Chipping Norton is a very popular Cotswold market town
A great base for exploring, or just grabbing a morning coffee!
A beautiful small town to relax in
An iconic view of Chipping Norton's old mill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MissSaucy
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay!”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for a week at The Smithy with four adults and a baby and the cottage was perfect size for that number of people.

The cottage looks as nice as the pictures and was very clean on arrival. We had a small issue come up with some unplanned roadworks and the owner was very helpful and responsive in dealing with this.

The location is fantastic - a 2 min walk to Sainsburys, co-op and a boots (amongst others) so very helpful when travelling with a baby. We weren't 100% sure about staying in Chipping Norton as it is further from other towns in the Cotswolds but actually found this to be a great spot for further adventures - close to great restaurants in Kingham (The Wild Rabbit, The Kingham Plough and Daylesford), as well as there being some good options locally in Chipping Norton (Wild Thyme and The Blue Boar), and not too far from Stow in the Wold and Bourton on the Water.

The only slight downside is that you have to rely on street parking although on the whole we didn't have many issues finding a park near the cottage.

Overall we thought this was great value and we would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi O
2 reviews
“Comfy cottage close to Oxford and the Cotswolds”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very well equipped cottage in a town conveniently located to exploring the Cotswolds and Oxford. 4 adults comfortably stayed in the cottage for a weekend and all amenities were thought of by the owners. The welcome kit had enough provisions to make tea and coffee before we arrived and the bottle of bubbly and flowers were a lovely touch. The owners left plenty of information for us to find our way around the town and surrounding countryside.

We left a suggestion with the owners to consider the condensation in the bathroom which builds up significantly after 4 showers. However, leaving the window open helped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sommer S
1 review
“The Perfect Winter Escape”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Smithy exceeded our expectations. The cottage was very cozy, in fact, it was so inviting we found it hard to leave. The owners have designed a lovely, welcoming home away perfect for a couple, family or small group to enjoy. The town centre of Chipping Norton is steps away, offering pubs, cafes, grocer and other shops in close proximity. There is a scenic meadow, historic church and other fine walking paths from the cottage. It's a great place to book if you are looking to escape the busy city or just a busy schedule. I have never had a more comfortable stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zpd6
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were 5 adults and one child and the cottage felt big enough for us all. The cottage was very clean, and had lovely touches. We were welcomed with some nice treats in the kitchen too. It was lovely waking up and only having to walk 1 min down the road straight into the beautiful countryside. All in all a great find.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace, the location and the well equipped kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageur0...
Rouen, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing