We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not stay in the finch room”
Review of Golden Pheasant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Pheasant
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“do not stay in the finch room”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was dirty, the bed extremely uncomfortable shower room paint peeling off; Curtains hanging off. One bedside table. Nowhere to sit. Cushions on bed stained. Cigarette burn on mattress Complained several times asked for an upgrade we were prepared to pay more. was told nothing available for our stay Tried to check out but were told we would still have to pay for 3 nights. No staff on day of first breakfast. Complained to booking.com on return home. Manager denied we had complained at the time, comes accross as very rude; There were detrimental comments in the visitors book and on several review sites wish I had looked into it further but it was a last minute trip and the photographs are very misleading. I have never reviewed a place badly and I have travelled the world but I felt that other travellers should be warned this is a terrible experience, it is not an hotel but a pub with bedrooms. Staff tried to be helpful and the food was good.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Finch room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YvonneH574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    106
    60
    45
    29
See reviews for
23
201
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Quiet possibly the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in.

Filthy rooms and horribly rude manager.

10 of us staying at the hotel for a local wedding and we all had no hot water but we were charged £75!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizziebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burford hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived about 2pm and managed to park at the back of the pub. The car park is small and there is probably room for 5 to 6 cars at a push. We were checked in ok. We were given a key/keyring with a bird picture on it. We entered what we thought was our room to find somebody else’s belongings in it? We found a room that was empty we assumed was ours? Later on we returned to the room to have a drink to have somebody else walk in on us! If you’re going to have one key opens all rooms at least number the rooms so people aren’t aware of it and don’t make the mistake we did with the keys.

The room was noisy as we were on the first floor over the pub and the main road is constantly busy day and night. The walls are paper thin you can hear every word through the walls! The shower was good hot water and there were soap and a small bottle of shampoo and conditioner. Plenty of towels etc.

Bed was comfy and clean bedding good pillows. Kettle tea coffee sugar milk and biscuits.

Breakfast was good sausage, bacon beans hash brown and a big mushroom and tomato and a choice of eggs. Toast cereals tea and coffee.

Booked through Booking.com a £50 room for bank holiday Sunday night half the price of most other local hotel so really can’t complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had an anniversary treat in the Cotswolds and stayed at the Golden Pheasant in Burford as our base camp overnight on Sat 18th August. Beautiful pictuesque town and it was a lovely hot day so that brought everyone out and the town was buzzing. The Golden Pheasant is on the High Street and a great location for browing the shops and visiting the many other pubs and hotels. We booked a double room which we got for £85 rather than the double at £110 and apparently on checkout Spencer told us we had got a steal of a bargain for some reason. The room was fine and overlooked the back courtyard and the breakfast next day was very good. My only disappointments (for the price) was that the free Wi Fi wasn't working and the en suite didn't even have a bar of soap (even Travelodge provide shampoo!). Also look out for the large wine at £6 a glass!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zen&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a KGB weekend break at the Golden Pheasant.
We checked in early afternoon on Friday, to be informed by Spencer, the hotel manager, that our room was the only room out of 22 in the hotel, which was not en suite, but that we had a private bathroom next door, just along the corridor.
When I asked if we could pay extra, and upgrade to an en suite, or suite, Spencer told us that unfortunately he had no rooms left, as the hotel was full.
We accepted this, and were shown to our room.
The room was a reasonable size, if somewhat dated, and the curtains were hanging off their track, although there was a pull down window blind.
The mattress was very soft and spongy, and the springs creaked whenever you turned.
Later the same afternoon, we were sitting in the hotel, and noticed a number of couples arrive with baggage to check in.
We wondered why, if ours was the only room in the hotel without an en suite, guests arriving later than us had managed to avoid being allocated our room?
I suspect it was because we were on a KGB deal!
The breakfasts were good quality, and our breakfast waitress was very friendly and accomodating.
The bar staff were also very attentive, and there was a courtyard garden area at the rear, to enjoy the sunshine.

So to summarise -

Pro's - good breakfasts, and friendly staff

Con's - Dont book the Goldcrest room if you are used to en suite accomodation, with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Dont book the Goldcrest room, as its the only room in the hotel which is not en suite, and the bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxcherrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel/b&b was really average. Nothing stood out as being terrible, and nothing stood out as being terrific. I stayed here for work and got it paid for but if I'd been on holiday and paid for it myself I would have been quite disappointed. The rooms (or at least the one I was in) and the hallway upstairs leading to the room needed renovating and a new carpet. It was very dated but not in a quirky rustic way. It didn't appear possible to be able to open the windows and the room got very hot. A fan in their would have been good. Food was nothing to write home about. Service was ok, but could have been friendlier I thought. I got back to the hotel after the bar was closed and had to walk all the way round the back in the dark to get in. It would have been nice if I was warned of this when checking in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathomso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a great stay at lovely Burford and managed to do some walking in the beautiful surrounding area despite the weather ! (rain but some sunshine)
Very friendly pub with nice rooms (we had a four poster) centrally located with great beer and tasty good value food. Many thanks to Spencer who is the manager and chef and Andrew, the new owner who is in the process of refreshing the bar area and the rooms. We had been before and noticed a great improvement this time.
Great place for a stay in the historic Cotswolds

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovablecockneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Property: Golden Pheasant
Address: High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Pheasant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Pheasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing