We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Burford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burford Lodge
Ranked #12 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is the 4th time we have stayed here. New management since last time. The service was excellent they provided most things we needed. They accommodated my disabled mother-in-law and they bought her breakfast to her room. They also provided us with a buffet on one of the nights, excellant food was served and the staff were extremly helpful with everything. Staff were friendly and polite. Rooms need some redecoration but overall clean and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights as I was getting married in a village a short drive away. We had a fab time, all the staff were really friendly and chatty, they did everything to help us. They provided a buffet for all my friends and family the evening before which was beautiful. Everyone enjoyed thereselves. Breakfast was lovely on the morning they bought my breakfast to my room on the morning of the wedding. We also got a little present in our room when we arrived back from the wedding. Loved our room winter's tale with it's amazing bath and lights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haylgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We booked a night at this hotel as we are house hunting in the area - we know Burford so knew it wa son a busy road - to be honest it didn't bother us but can understand it will some people. The rooms was nicely decorated, with a jacuzzi bath which wa snice - but was a little tired and could have done with touch up ready for the season. The staff were very polite but the poor girls seemed tired she was there at afternoon check in, bar in the evening, meal as waitress in the evening and then again in the morning!
The food was not really that good - I had the lamb which was nice but the veg tasted like it was the night befores heated up in a microwave my partner had the chicken which was dry the pecan pie was treacle tart with pecans?? the breakfast was also disappointing - no continental breakfast offered so I had toast which was served to me cold - to be honest we had to much on in the day to comment and I felt sorry for the poor girl serving us. Nice for one night - they need to lower the price, get a new chef - pref one that can cook! and lower their food prices too - it was so quiet in there on a Friday night - they need to up their game or they will go bust - just walk down Burford high street in the evening to see the roaring trade the others are doing shame

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

For the price we paid (£95 per room including breakfast) we would have been much better off staying at one of the places on the high street in Burford. This hotel is a 10 minute walk form the centre of burford and is located on a very busy road. The rooms were small but comfortable and breakfast and service was good. However, the location and the price for what you get is a real let down.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

All the food tasted dull and out of a packet,
Service loud and strange.
Owner didn't give a damn when we complained

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floodieMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burfordlodge, Mark Bullows - Owner at Burford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2010

I am interested to know this persons surname and find out what date they stayed or ate with us as I find it a bit strange that they had such a terrible meal, but decided to leave a review some 5 or 6 months later and not at the time ?
I also find it odd that this person only joined this website the day the review was left and not before?

I do not recall having a conversation with anyone who had obviously such strong opinions on their meal. All our food is fresh, home-made and not from a packet.

As this website allows reviews to be left by any person with access to the internet, I strongly suspect this review may be the words of a disgruntled ex-employee?
Other web sites where reviews can be left have the facility to be fully traced and verified that persons leaving the review did actually stay at that particular establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights(mon, tues) and were told on arrival that we wouldn't be able to eat lunch or dinner there as it was 'chefs days off'! We were not advised of this on booking and one of the reasons we decided to stay was because of the menu! We asked if the bar was open all day and were told that it often closes at around 6.30pm due to lack of customers (obviously guests staying are not a priority!) We found out that chef only seems to be there 3 days a wk so check when booking...otherwise walk into Burford and go to The Golden Pheasant...excellent food/service/value for money...they also have accommodation!!
Was difficult to sleep as the A40 is non-stop busy!
On the plus side of things....the room was very clean and staff were friendly although wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of the lady who served us breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueb164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

This is going to be a difficult review to write as we had a comfortable stay and the staff were very friendly but they missed a huge opportunity. We were with friends and booked this hotel as we wanted a "get away from it all break" in the Cotswolds. We always explore so the location was perfect. Its situated right on the A40 and just a short walk downhill to the village of Burford. The A40 is very busy and there is no two ways about it - your room will be noisy if you are facing the front or side of the hotel. We had read the reviews before we booked so it wasnt news to us when we arrived but I dont think we took into consideration the sash windows and old fashioned glazing system that seems to exagerate the traffic noise. Once we checked in and was shown to our rooms, we asked to change ours as the bed was very small and it was facing the road so it was also very noisy. The staff were more than helpful and offered to move our luggage whilst we went out to explore the local area. When we returned my husband asked to be moved again for the same reasons as before and once again they were more than obliging. We ended being on the top floor overlooking the car park which is the side of the hotel. As we saw three rooms in total, they are all perfectly furnished but the beds are very small doubles and the rooms are generally quite small too. Our matress was wafer thin and really needed replacing but everything else worked and was ok. The bar is set within an open plan area where there is tables and chairs for dinner and there is also a few sofas and comfy chairs. Its not huge but again perfectly adequate. We were staying for 2 nights arriving on Friday and after trying to get some drinks at the bar we were staggered to hear that they didnt have any draft beers on tap or Guiness. They had completely run out and their delivery was due for Monday. Disappointment was a bit of an understatement given that we had 2 ale drinkers in the party. We then asked for the menu and felt that if its inticed us enough we would just put up with the lack of beer and drink something else instead. We were even more surprised to hear that they didnt have any menus. The chef doesnt arrive until 6pm each night and he makes it up on the day. This is what we were told and we interpretated that, that he would basically see what was left over and make up a menu. Not really what we were looking for. At this point we got in our car and drove around Burford looking for a place to eat in the evening and we didnt have to look far. Within walking distance to the hotel was the Cotswolds Gateway Lodge Hotel, Bar & Restaurant and we had the most amazing meal with super customer service. We were not surprised to see the Burford Lodge in total darkness at 9.30pm when we returned. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and just felt it was such a shame. The hotel over the road was jammed to the rafters, people queing for tables and yet here was another lovely little hotel with no beer, no menus and totally closed on a Friday night????? Why didnt they think to drive the 30 minutes to the Hook Norton Brewery, brought a small box on ale and serve it to us? Anyhow they really did miss a trick as on the second night we went back to the hotel opposite and had another superb meal and spent even more money. I dont expect hotels to get it right every time but I had made them aware before we arrived that we were planning to eat in the hotel both nights so I kind of expected them to ask me what time I wanted to make a reservation (not that you needed to as it was so quiet) . In an indirect way, we felt forced out of the hotel and although we had a superb time on both evenings in the establishment opposite, we did feel a little bit sorry for them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.2 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford Lodge

Address: Oxford Road, Burford OX18 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: $92 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burford Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership since Spring 2012, this honey-coloured Cotswold Stone Lodge has eight individual en suite bedrooms. Our warm and welcoming small team of enthusiastic and caring local staff offer a friendly and charming atmosphere. In an area of outstanding natural beauty, the picture postcard town of Burford has a wealth of antique shops, cafes, bars, National Trust properties and delightful gardens. We serve light lunches and afternoon teas daily between 12:00 - 16:30. Our bar is open until 19:00. We hope your stay with us will be comfortable and memorable and we look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing