We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Charming 500+year old family operated hotel in pretty town in gorgeous part of the country.
Staff couldn't be friendlier. Located right in the middle of town with plenty to do and a good base for exploring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRoachBlackRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 564 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed for two nights on a midweek break at The Bull with friends on one of the Hotel's special deals that included B&B and an evening meal. It turned out to be fantastic value in all respects: comfortable rooms and excellent dining combined with truly outstanding service and personal attention.

We were made to feel most welcome and received first-class service from the Assistant Manager and his staff despite the fact that the owner managers, Jean-Marie Lauzier and his wife Clare, were away during our stay. Having acquired The Bull recently, their Web site says they aim to deliver service that matches Jean-Marie’s experience of working in Michelin star restaurants in France and in London. I feel they are well on the way to achieving that goal.

The hotel has plenty of character and charm throughout with bedrooms that are both comfortable and clean. Tables in the restaurant are very smartly laid out and are matched by an excellent menu and wine list. Our evening meals over two nights were extremely well-prepared and, once again, made the experience special. Breakfasts were excellent too. It was evident that a lot of attention had been given to meeting our requirements. A particular example of this is that one of our party is vegetarian and (even though there is a vegetarian choice on the evening menu that changes daily) the Chef provided additional choices and recommendations to meet their tastes. Another similar, though smaller detail, is that the usual tray of tea and coffee making items in each room also includes complimentary still and sparkling water as well as a note to invite guests to ask for fresh milk from reception if preferred. Little touches that mean a lot.

All-in-all, the level of service we received over the two days was greatly appreciated by all of us and made us feel our stay was special.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed for a night to celebrate my partners birthday. Had a beautiful 4 poster room, very warm and cosy. Dinner was fanatastic, superb food and attentive service. Have recommeded it to my sister and her husband who are going for their anniversary next month!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Lovely spot on Burford's High Street! Really charming room and lovely management who were very nice to us even after we had departed for London with the key to the room. (We mailed it back!)

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank potterstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed for the weekend 19-21st November. Burford itself is a shoppers delight with lots of quaint places to wonder round but the success of the weekend was the hotel and in particular the food. Its an old hotel so expect the odd creaking floorboard but the room, No.7 Queen Anne, was plenty big enough with two easy chairs. The over-bath shower took a bit of adjusting but worked well. Towels were changed every day and the room tidied when we were out in the morning. The breakfast was a selection of starters and main course including kippers and smoked haddock. You just didn't need a lunch! Dinner was very French - well the owner is, so that's not surprising then but anyway the selection was superb, the portions very good. All in all a most enjoyable gastronomic weekend. We did a half board at £145 a couple but you get £35 each towards the cost of food. If you want to spoil somebody then go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The service was good, from arrival through dinner to departure. The evening meal was excellent, including the little extras we got because we had starter/main. Bear in mind though that it is a restaurant, and not a bar - we actually went across the road to The Mermaid (lovely wood fire but a bit expensive) after dinner because the little bar was empty and completely lacking atmosphere. The room though was freezing when we arrived which made the perfectly nice room seem like a rip-off - first impressions count after all! We turned on the radiator and it took hours for the room to warm up, but by the time we went to bed it was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngmarrieds112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This is a very comfortable hotel that has been refurbished to a very high standard. Beautiful rooms, helpful staff and good food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
667 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $109 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of the popular Cotswold town of Burford, this historic former coaching inn offers 18 bedrooms catering for a variety of tastes, requirements and budgets and wonderful food in its restaurant and bar. The friendly staff are always on hand to offer help and advice. For best value try the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate, which gives you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing