We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay...food could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay...food could be better”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Although it is a 600 year old building and has its charm in a small village full of such pubs, it is not something which is really visiting again and again. One time experience was good, staff were friendly but the food especially the fish dishes could have been better.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_away_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    137
    33
    22
    7
See reviews for
66
288
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Where to start: this establishment is top quality!
Stumbled across The Bull on a trip down memory lane with my Mum, whom went to school in Burford. The staff are lovely lovely people: that welcomed us with no hesitation. I do find that quality in customer service can be poor if you are only staying for one evening - NOT at The Bull.
The room we had was a twin BEAUTIFUL with a little court yard. The little extras in the room (shower cap, ear plug's, sewing kit, iron, extra pillows) was just lovely. Don't think it's nosy by the way: it isn't! Now onto the restaurant - Mum and I had the trout, and both asked if we could marry the chef!!! Seriously guys: this chef is a talent and needs to go on a cooking programme...he would win!!!
When the staff heard of Mum going to school in Burford: they really did go out of their way to talk to Mum about this/history etc...
The breakfast - didn't eat much, but so wish that I was hungry as it was just perfect!!!...great variety.
There is a small car park at The Bull but it's first come bases, but there is street parking and a FREE car park only down the road.
The only thing to say is - book book book!...we will definitely return, THANK YOU The Bull @ Burford

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here with friends during a lucky lull in the storms at the beginning of February.It's a fine old Grade 11 listed building which has seen a lot of life since its rebirth in 1620.

It's the type of building where you can fall down a step while cracking your skull on the door head as you enter your room. No plumb or level here. Lovely.

It is described by the owners as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms. So first the rooms. I always phone a hotel before booking to get a feel for the attitude of the staff and maybe get a better deal and preferential treatment. We were offered a super deal with a superior room with dinner and breakfast for £105pn for two including an allowance of £70 for dinner. How bad is that?!

Our room (Trafalgar) was a generous size with sofa, table & chairs work/dressing table, wardrobe & cupboard. The bedding was good quality and the TV big enough with excellent reception. Free wifi was on offer throughout the hotel although I should imagine that setting it up must have blown the engineer's mind. Generous supplies of assorted teas, biscuits & coffee and a range of current magazines completed the room.

In the bathroom the fittings were obviously recent, the towel rail was permanently hot and the towels & robes thick & fluffy. The selection of bathroom goodies extended to prophylactics - just in case I suppose.

All in all, a good room.

The High Street frontage belies the true size of this hotel. There are two lounges, a comfortable bar as well as the restaurant and a patio for kinder days. Tucked around the back is a very confined carpark which made me appreciate the parking sensors (though there is local parking.)

Breakfast was generous with good quality local ingredients. As a fish man I was able to have kippers (whole, not b in the b) on one day and haddock with spinach & egg the other. There were more than enough choices in the fruit & cereal department and homemade muesli, marmalades & honeycomb if you could squeeze it in.

Throughout our stay the staff, without exception, warrant a gold star review of their own. They were very friendly & helpful but most importantly they were there when we wanted them.

It was interesting to learn from the assistant manager that when he and his wife are in charge they stay in a different room each night to view the room from the customers' perspective & to pick up on any faults or improvements. A policy which other hoteliers might be wise to adopt.

All in all very good and we would stay again especially on the DBB rate. Yes dinner was good too but I have reviewed that on the restaurant site.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel is beautifully clean
Bedrooms are spacious, warm and spotlessly clean.
Ate in the bar along with my son and his partner, was impressed by the waiter finding out the ingredients of a certain desert which didn't suit us so an alternative was offered.
Food was delicious and hot throughout.
Breakfast was plentiful and of great quality.
Would highly recommend.
Checkout was easy and quick.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wonderful food on Sunday. All cooked from fresh ingredients - Sushi, tomato salad, quiche, prawns, pork and delicious sweets. The staff were very attentive and looked after the little people. Don't hesitate to eat here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generalaviationpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Popped in for lunch, lured by the "Homemade Pie Of The Day" sign outside, and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, and at around £10 per dish, very good value. We had pie, fish and an asian seafood curry and all were outstanding. Nice, friendly staff, only downside is no real ale on tap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipsterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were staying very close at the Golden Pheasant and had already eaten there one night and so decided to eat at the Bull on the next night.
We ate in the restaurant which was good, perhaps I was expecting more as the prices suggested it! Anyway it was fine but I'm still shocked by the price for one pint of ale ( direct from the barrel) and one white wine spritzer, I haven't paid nearly £9 for two drinks since the Langham in London and this is no Langham!
The place itself is very much like nearly all the buildings in Burford....very old ..quaint and therefore nothing really fits. All part of he charm of the place which no doubt would go down well for the American visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwitterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Property: The Bull at Burford
Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing