We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Fashioned Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel really is a restaurant with rooms - the building dates from 1475, so expect sloping floors, rooms all different shapes, 4-poster beds, and a ghost maybe ! We were there for a friends reunion on their Winter Extravaganza terms. This meant you had DBB in a superior room for £105 per night for 2 people to include £35 worth of food each from the menu. Our room was delightful on the first floor overlooking the main street. Good toiletries in the bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There was lounge on the first floor which we used extensively to chat with our friends. Dinner was a nice slow affair in the warm and cosy restaurant with a good choice for each course and a separate fish menu which included some delightful tasty lemon sole ! Small moan - it was a pity that bread was not provided with the soup rather than being an extra.
Breakfast was another delight - fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade muesli, and a good selection from a starter buffet together with comb honey ! Normal breakfast main courses with very local eggs, home baked bread and some very good marmalade.
Our hosts, Clare and Jean-Marie could not do enough for us -plenty of tourist books and magazines to look at, attentive service at every meal. They only have a small car park at the rear, otherwise you can park on the street for a limited period daytime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewellcomegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 567 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Burford is a must visit at least once to spend a little time in this stunning cotswold village. Shame about the busy rd running through it. The bull is a great location right in the centre. Friendly owners, excellent , quiet room at the back "Hamilton", which was only created at Easter from out buildings. Only had breakfast at the bull which was excellent, try the scrambled eggs & salmon.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we ate in the restaurant on both evenings. We had a large, very clean, room with a four poster bed and view of Burford High Street. The service was excellent, friendly and professional. The room was very comfy, great shower, free wifi, excellent tv, lovely bed! The food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was excellent. We parked overnight in free car park at bottom of the hill (there was room on the street and in hotel car park but we were happy leaving car in the big free car park). All in all a lovely short break in a beautiful village.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PSB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked in after a cancelled flight and was treated to an exceptional experience, the rooms are full of character and the breakfast second to none. Add all this to friendly helpful staff and you have all that is needed. Highly recommended and hope I get the chance to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_n_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed just one night in this small hotel. We were very surprised when shown to our room to find a four poster bed. Everything was spotless and a lovely modern en suite bathroom. There was tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water in our room. The staff were friendly and helpful and in the morning a very good choice for breakfast. No complaints and will hopefully return soon.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent a great night at the Bull Inn. We had a very friendly welcome and the staff were helpfull.
Had a magnifcent dinner which very well presented and most enjoyable. The presentation of dinner meals are in a league of their own compared to other hotels which we have eaten at in the area. Breakfast was also very good. The service all round was excellent.
The room was very comfortable and the decor typical of a small village hotel. There were a few cobwebs on the very high vaulted ceiling, otherwise the room was very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked this online, a standard double, on arrival greeted and directed to my room, I did have the option of being accompanied. The room was well appointed, however a bit cluttered, just down to the amount of magazines, tea/coffee making facilities and a few other odds and sods. The bed was comfortable and the television just big enough. The bathroom was clean with toiletries. The food was nice, homemade Beef and guinness pie superb. Breakfast was again good.
Overall I was completely satisfied, I found it good value, nice location, a good base for visiting the cotswolds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
750 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
670 reviews
0 mi away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
304 reviews
8.5 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the middle of the popular Cotswold town of Burford, this historic former coaching inn offers 18 bedrooms catering for a variety of tastes, requirements and budgets and wonderful food in its restaurant and bar. The friendly staff are always on hand to offer help and advice. For best value try the Dinner, Bed & Breakfast rate, which gives you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing