We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bull at Burford
Nearby Hotels
The Highway Inn(Burford)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burford House(Burford)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn for All Seasons(Burford)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burford Lodge(Burford)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Burford)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold Gateway Hotel(Burford)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillborough House(Burford)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Inn(Burford)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds(Burford)(Great Value!)
$65
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
362
165
46
24
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
165
46
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslithe hotel car parkhigh streetsuperior roomhomemade jamsuneven floorshistoric hotelold buildingcourtyard roomfour poster bedvenisonlovely restaurantsteeped in historyreception areaexcellent foodbottled waterfull english
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 604 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were struck by the comfy homely feel of the hotel. Rooms were spacious even the smaller doubles we a good size. Rooms were well equiped tea and coffe making, ironing board and iron even ear plugs (sometimes important for some couples!). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful the receptionist helped us to plan our onward bound trip. The restaurant meals were very good. Our group of four all enjoyed our meals tremendously. We tried the fish platter starter which we would recommend. The breakfasts were good although not quite up to the standards of dinner. The fruit salad was delicious though as was the freshly squeezed orange juice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titch5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went for a cheaper room and immediately on seeing this lovely place wished we had splurged for a better one, and for two nights. It was comfortable enough but just a little old and tired. Bathroom was just fine. Walls a few feet thick, labyrinthine hallways reminded me of something out of a Dickens novel - Bleak House actually. (That's a compliment if you aren't a fan...) The food was incredibly good at both dinner and breakfast and it was hard to understand why the dining room wasn't packed to the gills - probably a bit of a post-Olympics lull. The town is just delightful.

Room Tip: Don't go for the least expensive room, it is worth a little extra! even in the cheapest room, though, the bathroom was quite good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Burford is a lovely golden Cotswold town and The Bull was a perfect place to stay after spending a day in Oxford. The room in this 400 year old inn was quaint with views from the window along the picturesque main street and exposed beams. However, the bed was new and comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and the included English breakfast was good too. Parking is very tight and we had to park a couple of blocks away in a residential street, but it worked out ok for us. No lifts of course in an old building like this, so pack lightly!

Room Tip: The views from the top floor rooms (Charles the 2nd I think) were fantastic along the street.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionaandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had dinner here last time we were in the area and were impressed both with the food and the building itself.
Staying there last weekend exceeded our expectations. Room was lovely, food even better than remembered and staff first class.
The building has been renovated to a high standard (without losing any of its evident history and atmosphere) and it sits in a beautiful Cotswold village, complete with a striking and historic church and a range of pubs, restaurants and small shops.
Perfect location (both in itself and for travelling to other beautiful villages) and a pretty near perfect hotel spoilt only by the traffic noise - it is on the main street. May not be an issue for rooms at the back/side.

Room Tip: Traffic noise affects rooms at the front.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having been here for lunch a few months ago we decided next time we came to the Cotswolds we would stay here and we were not disappointed. Welcoming owners, lovely room and delightful food. They have it all. Comfortable residents lounge and a spacious bedroom. Their homemade ice creams are a must when dining. Perfect location we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews