We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointing Rooms”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is the second time I stayed at the Bull and contrary to our first stay, I was extremely disappointed. The room we got was run-down and old (not the nice renovated "old" but the dark and mouldy "old") and it was freezing in the room, even with the heater set on maximum. Noisy hallways (you receive earplugs in the toiletries of the room), creaky floors. The breakfast was great like during our first stay but we wanted to order another breakfast at 09.35 and were told that the kitchen closed at 09.30.....can't blame anyone for that but when we asked if we could have a later check-out (the check-out time is at 11.00) we were told it was not possible but it was obvious that they didn't bother to check (and did not bother to tell us the reason we could not have a later check out). Very disappointing stay due to the room and service we received.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    143
    36
    23
    7
See reviews for
68
298
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The hotel we normally stay at in Burford was fully booked so having read the reviews we booked the Bull for three nights.

The car park was closed due to building work, so we had to park in the town car park approx. 5 min walk (which can be a problem trying to find a free space on a busy Saturday). We had a small double room, which was OK however the dressing table was thick with dust as were the wardrobe shelves, and the bathroom could have been better cleaned. We told reception who apologised and dusted the room.

There was a good choice for breakfast, nicely presented, filling and tasty, however the food was always burning hot, the waitress was very pleasant.

We chose to eat out in the evenings, there is a great little pub behind the hotel, not as touristy as the ones on the main road, with a log fire and really tasty food at reasonable prices.

The hotel is in a great location, Burford is a great base in which to explore many of the lovely areas of the Costwolds; Westonbirt Arboretum is a must if visiting in the Autumn.

Overall I think we were unlucky with the room we got, the staff were friendly, the location is perfect and I would have rated a "Good" if there was an option.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prosecco64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, West Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We took advantage of the winter mid-week offer. The food including £35 towards our dinner costs was exceptionally good and the family who keep this hotel worked really hard to make our stay enjoyable.
Book as soon as you can- as I am sure this deal cannot be repeated!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generalaviationpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent three nights in the Nell Gwynn room and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a great deal which included breakfast and dinner.

Room:
We had two rooms, Prince Rupert and Nell Gwynn. Our room faced the street, our friends the alley. We were never disturbed by the street noise but trucks do go up and down High Street starting very early. The bathrooms are large and the rooms not as small as we expected in a 500 year old building. Both still and sparkling water is provided in the room and refreshed as used as well as a tea/coffee tray.

Prince Rupert was simpler and since our friend was a single it was perfect. We were however placed at the opposite ends of the hotel. Rooms were very clean and the mattress a little soft for our tastes but we slept well.

Staff
The staff are lovely. They were all so friendly and accommodating. Anything we asked they were more than happy to provide. Service was great.

Food
Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choices and a very delicious porridge.

Dinner was also quite good, my one complaint is that there are not enough choices when you are staying three days. Also the same veggies show up on most plates and red cabbage just doesn't go with everything. Would have preferred more variety.

Cost
Cost was great however a couple of small things. We were not advised that getting a newspaper would be charged to our account, most hotels provide the newspaper. Also we were charged for the sparkling water we ordered with dinner even though we never went over our 35 pound meal allowance and we were never advised that we would be charged. On one of the three days we were charged for coffee. Small issues but disturbing none the less.

Internet worked great in the room on my iPhone.

Parking
There is a parking lot, very small, behind the building. On street may be available and there is a public parking lot not too far away.

Location
Right on High Street and there are plenty of shops and interesting things to see and do within an easy walk or drive.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay here. We had some problems with getting the heat correct in our rooms but this is a very old building. The hot water takes quite a while to get started but once it does it is great. The towels were large and fluffy.

The details here are well looked after and just the smiling greeting you get from the staff will make you want to return here. There is no elevator but the staff will happily carry your luggage up for you.

Room Tip: For quiet off of the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had a great stay, especially having been upgraded. We stayed in the "Trafalgar Suite" which was lovely and so full of character. The staff were wonderful and the food was great. We have told as many people as we can and highly recommend the place. If you are going to be picky and look for faults then you will find them, after all this place is 400+ years old. This is a hotel that I would take over most of the dozens of 5 star/corporate hotels I have stayed in, just because it has the quirks of a building full of history. We loved the low doors, crooked ceilings or floors and wished the exposed beams could tell their tales. We found this place tastefully decorated without the overdone decorated flowery patterns and stripes that seem to be common in the UK.

Room Tip: Sound does travel from the restaurant up to the Trafalgar Suite through a wooden panel in one corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The accommodation, the food and the staff are all excellent. This is the best place in Burford.

Room Tip: The 'Market Room' is beautiful and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend visit to the Bull at Burford where we took a group of friends on a surprise visit. We have had a thoroughly enjoyable time enhanced by the attention to detail evident throughout the hotel and the high standard of customer service delivered by the owners and the wonderful team of staff. Nothing has been too much trouble and the staff were very helpful with additional information that I requested regarding local transport and taxi services prior to our visit. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and we all enjoyed the varied and high quality breakfast that we were offered every morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
526 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Property: The Bull at Burford
Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing