We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just A Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bull at Burford
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Just A Lovely Hotel!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Bull at Burford is not only a lovely hotel, it also has a wonderful restaurant,the place to eat when visiting the town. We have recently visited for the second time and once again we were not disappointed. The menu was excellent,; the food is wonderful and reasonably priced , it's not just for special occasions.
We found the staff to be both informed and helpful,which only added to a lovely evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    137
    33
    22
    7
See reviews for
66
288
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is family run so service is friendly and efficient. Our room was in the roofspace so restricted space but this was compensated by great skyline and panoramic view and fire door offering private balcony in effect. Recently refurbished and spotlessly clean with good quality linens. Restaurant fabulous and the cost belies the "fine dining" experience - highly recommended even if you stay elsewhere! Location excellent, town has enough variety of shops etc and is a good base for travelling from. Parking restricted at rear of hotel, but we had no trouble, and a free car park at end of high street. Linda & John, Childwall, Liverpool

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaGL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I was due to attend a wedding near to Burford and thought I'd book a nice local Hotel with character instead of the Travel lodge. The Bull has a very good review on this website and I was looking forward to spending the night there after the Wedding.
When I arrived I found that the staff were very helpful and friendly just like the review mentioned. However when I went up to the room I could not believe the difference from what I expected from the reviews. The room was clean and tidy although it was very poorly equipped. This may sound petty but...
There were no hooks to hang up my suit or my girlfriends dress, there was no room for my suitcase and that had to rest on the floor. The staff had said that they are used to the hotel being used for weddings, why then did they not have a full length mirror in the room? or even a decent sized one. There was no power point for my girlfriend's hair dryer close to the small mirror and nowhere for her to do her make-up. The shower had no wall mount or curtain and I had to hold the shower head whilst she washed her hair. There was no iron in the room, although they did provide on on request. Furthermore the room we were in had an interconnecting door with another room which had no sound proofing and let the snores in from the occupant next door. The next morning there was no hot water from the shower for about 20 mins. The breakfast was nice, but really nothing to write home about, I would not have paid the advertised price of £14 and thought that it had been money well spent.
I am always keen to support local businesses and was looking forward to the staying and enjoying the history and character of the Bull, I am very sorry to report that apart from the service I was very disappointed with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great hotel with an interesting history. Friendly staff. Lovely bedrooms,
most with four poster beds. Lovely sitting rooms, bar and dining room.
Lovely seated areas in front of and at side of hotel in a pretty courtyard.
Fab food. Had a superb evening meal and breakfast. Everything top quality and highly recommended!
Burford really pretty. Quieter and less commercialized than Bourton-on-the Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here 19th & 20th August 2011. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was on the top floor and had all the facilities you would expect. The bed was comfortable and the squeaky floorboards other guests have commented on is only to be expected from a 400-500 year old hotel! The food was first class. We ate there for our evening meal on the Saturday and I would recommend that you have a meal here, whether you are resident in the hotel or just in Burford itself. First class...we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane-VintageGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night break at The Bull in Burford - we stayed in a superior room which Nelson had slept in!!! The hotel itself is lovely and the food is excellent - really were impressed and would return again if only to savour the food once more!
The staff are very friendly and helpful! Many reviews say the car park is small and a problem - easily solved by parking in the street opposite the front of the hotel!!
All in all a lovely stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our two night break at the Bull was excellent -the young staff are well trained and attentive giving all visitors the feeling they are valued.Food was amazing superbly presented and tasted wonderful.Breakfast is served until 9:30am allowing guests a lie in before discovering the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull at Burford

Property: The Bull at Burford
Address: 105 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#3 Business Hotel in Burford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored and re-opened as a gourmet French restaurant with rooms, The Bull at Burford now offers a varied selection of dishes to suit all palates and beautiful accommodation to match. Situated in the popular village of Burford, this historic building has recently celebrated its fourth century operating as an inn and was officially re-opened by our local MP, The Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. David Cameron. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bull at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull At Burford Hotel Burford
Old Bull Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing