We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub for eating and accommodation”
Review of The Maytime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Maytime Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week just for one night during our Cotswold tour and on leaving, wished we had been able to stay longer. We received a warm welcome from both the French manager and from one of his staff, Tim. The room we stayed in, The Hunting Room, was beautifully furnished. There were really nice little touches in the room, for example, the information booklet housed in a wooden box resembling a decorative old book and hairdryer in a decorative 'old' wooden box in keeping with the theme of the room. The bathroom was gorgeous with a beautiful deep bath and spacious shower with extra large shower jet. After a little walk around the hamlet we settled on a very comfy leather sofa in the main bar area which had a very relaxed atmosphere. The menu, although not huge is very interesting with some unusual dishes not normally associated I would assume, with a Cotswold pub. Everything we ordered was absolutely delicious and also very well presented. The manager was very knowledgeable with regards to the wine list and the wines chosen were perfect with the food. We really enjoyed our short stay at The Maytime and will definitely try to stay there again and will recommend it to our friends!! Oh, and the breakfast was also yummy If you are looking for a great pub with good food accommodation then give The Maytime a try!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendytiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

first impressions were good but we left feeling a little let down by our experience.The barman was pleasant and we received a friendly welcome. Lunch however was very disappointing. The menu was very unimaginative and when the main courses arrived we were dissappointed with the quality. Presentation was poor and the portion sizes were very small.Perhaps our expectations were too high, everything looks great on the website and the sample sunday lunch menu looks apertising,however we were offered chicken, beef or fish cakes. just a shame because it has the potential to be so much better.Please ask the waiting staff to wait for a few minutes after they serve your main course to ask the 'is everything OK with your meal before you have had chance to pick up your knife and fork.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penelope956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Turning up, you feel you are stopping in a country pub, however you are greeted very pleasantly and then show to your room. I stayed in the 'boot room' and I have to say it was very well decorated with nice touches here and there. A very comfortable king size bed with an equally modern bathroom. No bath is present in this room, however the large glass shower unit more than makes up for it. The breakfast is very nice and the service is excellent. The main menu is not of my liking but the bar menu would suffice for a few days stay. If you had to stay longer and was a fussy eater, you would soon become bored of the food as the choice is limited. This is not a criticism but a view from my perspective and a larger menu would probably remove the niche this place offers.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank MarkPocock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a day of touring the area we recognosed this area from our research and called in to the Maytime to see if they had a room available. Helpful staff allowed us to look at the rooms and we chose the Tack room and retuned here at around 4pm to check in. All went very smoothly and we adjourned to the bar for drinks. Seems to attract a few locals but there was only one other guest there at this time. Booked for dinner, which was ok, menu was unusual for this area, my wife enjoyed a duck dish but I had a Beef and Ale pie which left a lot to be desired, overcooked, dry and fatty meat. Waitress mentioned this was her last night working here and the hotel was looking for new staff, but her service was fine. Breakfast was again acceptable without being brilliant and the service a little haphazard. At this point I would put this down to teething problems associated with a newer establishment. Its a great old building that has been well preserved and matched to the newer parts of the building out the back. The rooms are great and the outside courtyard would have been great to relax in had the weather been better. Overall we would return here should our travels retuns us to this area, we would like to walk along the river as it is a charming part of the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are of an excellent level and fitted out to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnandmichele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Situated in a lovely quiet village, this is a charming Inn. Lovely walks nearby. The room in which we stayed was clean and modern. Dinner food is good but the shortish choice on the menu did not change during our three night stay; not a major matter. Friendly staff. There is an attractive outdoor patio.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, and had a very relaxed time. The 2 staff members on duty were fantastic. Tim, was a very knowledgeable lad about where products in the bar were sorced from and making you feel generally attended to. The food was lovely, the room was lovely (farriers room) and the grounds spot on. Would definitely stay again, if I'm ever in the Cotswolds. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyjc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for just one night and wished in every way that it had been for a week. Lovely room, excellent staff, great food. You won't be disappointed. Even the small details are catered for like providing a small thermos with your milk for teas and coffees. No more UHT here!

Room Tip: Book early. We was a very late booking and didn't get a choice of rooms but the one we had was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanonTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
2.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
556 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
657 reviews
20.0 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maytime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maytime Inn

Address: Asthall, Burford OX18 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#1 Business Hotel in Burford
#5 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range: $122 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maytime Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Maytime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maytime Hotel Burford
Maytime Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing