We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would highly recommend this.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maytime Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maytime Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We had the Yard and Groom Room. The room is slightly on the small side, but the quality is superb. Clean and very modern. Roll top bath and a power shower. Flat screen TV over the bed with loads of channels. Clock radio with iphone dock too. Lovely decorative features and the bedding was top quality too....Egyptian Cotton I believe. A very nice comfortable room. The food here was also excellent. The Balinese chef is a master. We had the fish and the lamb, both very good. Breakfast was also feshly cooked for us and made from local produce which was evident in the taste and quality. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. A lovely restaurant and bar area with the added bonus of a court yard to sit in with great comfy garden furniture and lots of local stone. There was live music in the bar and a hog roast in the court yard. A large, free car park at the rear made this the perfect place to stop and rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    57
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
208
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I saw some of the other reviews regarding the waiting staff before eating here so we went with some trepidation. However, we were put at ease as soon as we walked in and were shown to our table immediately (at our request). The restaurant has been sympathetically decorated since we went 3 years ago and it really was tastefully done. The menu choices were not typical but that was a bonus. The Nepalese chef has had an influence on what is offered and it was really nice to try some different flavours. I asked for advise when choosing and was given good information from our waiter - really impressed. It's not cheap but I think it is worth every penny. There is plenty of parking at the back and the accommodation is close but not so that you would be disturbed by the people in the restaurant, this may be different if they were drinking on the patio so you may want to ask about this if you are staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had read the reviews before booking and thought this place sounded lovely and it was. The atmosphere, inside and outside environments and the room we had were just perfect. The service was genuinely friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault the place or the staff. We had the Tack Room, which was calm, restful and very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was reasonably powerful. The weather was lovely and warm so no heating needed but we'd be happy to stay in the winter because the bathroom was well served by a large towel rail and under-floor heating. The towels were big and thick and a real treat. In the cooler months a towelling robe would add to the experience. The breakfasts were truly lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was beautifully presented. There was a good choice of cereals (all of the healthy variety, which is our personal preference) along with fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and fruit compote. There were also pastries which we didn't try. The cooked breakfast options covered all eventualities and we had four different combinations between us over the two breakfasts and all were delicious. We would return without thinking twice. We dined once in the evening and this meal was well cooked and nicely presented and not over priced. Again, the service was very good. We dined outside in the lovely courtyard garden area as the weather was so lovely. The inside dining areas look lovely and would be great during colder months. We have every confidence that no one would be disappointed by their experience which we don't often say.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the Maytime Inn on the 23rd and 24th of June en-route from Scotland to Wimbledon. We used the hotel as a base to discover Oxford and the surrounding area.
We stayed in the Boot Room which is at the front of the hotel and found the room to be beautifully re-furbished and very comfortable indeed with a King size bed. The en-suite had a large shower cubicle with a waterfall shower.
An added bonus was the very tasty cooked breakfast we had each morning. The produce looked and tasted like it was straight of the farm that morning. There was ample parking at the rear of the Inn.We would definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My Wife & I have just spent 2 nights at the Maytime (10th & 11th June) dining in the restaurant on both nights,
I have to say that we found it superb in every respect.
The recently refurbished rooms are beautifully decorated & the attention to detail second to none, there was even underfloor heating in the bathroom & the quality of the fittings was first class, the proprietors Dominic & Sabrina were a delightful couple & the staff were all very helpful & friendly.
We found the food excellent & the inclusion of a couple of Balinese dishes was a welcome surprise (I tried both & they were fabulous).
We have stayed & dined in lots of establishments in this price bracket & above, rarely do they come up to this standard.
Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Boot Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELIDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on June1st 2013 sharing a twin with a friend, we were on a fishing trip.
Our room was very recently refurbed as was the whole hotel. Wonderfully Egyptian cotton sheets and under floor heating in the bathroom made for a great stay. The small but interesting menu is well balanced and includes some delicious dishes from their Balinese chef. Room and breakfast for 2 was £140.00 and dinner for 2 with a bottle of Malbec £77.00
Good value and worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPonting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Maytime on Saturday 25th May 2013.

We arrived at around 3pm and were shown to the 'Saddlers Room' (the name affectionately given to our room for the night). As pub and accommodation have just had an extensive refurbishment, and the rooms have only been available to use for 3 weeks, the lovely smell of new carpet was delightful!

The room was lovely, decorated to a really high standard. The king size bed was very comfortable. Our room had an en-suite shower room (no bath), but the shower was great.

After checking in we asked the staff for a walking route, which they happily helped us with. The walk was beautiful (helped by the gorgeous weather) - crossing the river, through fields, we also stopped at the Swann Inn for a drink (and vowed to return for food as it looked so nice).

We ate at the Maytime that night. The service was very good, as was the food.

We retired to bed and were disturbed slightly by people going in/out of the other 2 rooms that were adjacent to ours (Tack and Farrier). The rooms aren't particularly sound proofed at the doors, and each of them have a lovely wooden sign (Do not disturb/Make the room up) on a piece of rope on the door - a really cute idea, but practically not great (they clatter every time the door is opened or closed). The noise settled down quick quickly though.

However, as there were children staying in one of the other 2 rooms next to us, and their parents in the other room - we were woken up at around 7am by repeatedly opening/closing of doors and clattering signs. Not great when the room price wasn't cheap! We mentioned it to the staff and they said they would look into it.

Breakfast was good.

All in all it was a lovely stay and I would recommend going if you're thinking about it. There were just a few niggles that need to be ironed out (but they are only on week 3!):

- The water pressure was not great (you had to wait about 15-20 seconds for the trickle of water to kick into full flow)
- Could have done with additional in-room tea/coffee options (e.g. peppermint/earl grey)
- The Saddlers/Tack rooms are right by the pub garden (essentially one of the walls of the garden, which isn't that big) - although this concerned me at first, because it wasn't that warm people didn't stay in the garden drinking until late - so it was actually fine. But this may be a consideration in the high summer months.
- Door sound proofing and clattering signs meant an early start!

Room Tip: Go for the Hunting Room, Yard/Groom room or the Boot Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateofNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
20.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
22.3 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.4 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maytime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maytime Inn

Property: The Maytime Inn
Address: Asthall, Burford OX18 4HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burford
#1 Business Hotel in Burford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Family Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maytime Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Maytime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maytime Hotel Burford
Maytime Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing