We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old School House Luxury Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School House Luxury Cottage
The spacious lounge & dining area Enjoy your breakfast/lunch/dinner with a view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Old School House Luxury Cottage
The spacious lounge & dining area
Enjoy your breakfast/lunch/dinner with a view
The lounge leads upto the sunny kitchen
The lounge dresser is filled with books on the area as well as games for rainy days
The Sunny Kitchen has a great 7 burner range
The kitchen is fully equipped
Songbird has a Super King Size Bed
The sunny Songbird Bedroom
Sunset Bedroom faces West
Original Beams & windows give this sunny bedroom a lovely feel
Cozy Serenity single bedroom is light & bright
enjoy dining Alfresco in the South Facing Garden
The sunny garden overlooks the historic church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Burford, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Old School House was a perfect location for us to experience the Cotswalds, my father was visiting from New Zealand and he loved the rural English setting. The house was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, offering plenty of space for five adults. The kitchen was well kitted out for us to cook a big family roast, including an espresso coffee machine which we regularly used and a generous welcome pack. The location next to the churchyard was very picturesque, with a supermarket close by and about a 20 minute walk to the nearest pub. All-in-all it was a great stay and we would definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaram-l
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a lovely long weekend in the Old School House.
We rent cottages regularly so that we're able to go to our favorite stables in the area. We found the cottage very comfortable and cozy for weary bones after a long afternoon in the saddle.
Unusually for rented cottages, the kitchen was very well equipped to satisfy the two fastidious cooks in our party.
The whole place had a calm and peaceful atmosphere. Just what you need from a rural retreat. It was simply delightful to sit and enjoy the sunshine in the garden with a glass of wine, to watch the birds and world gently go by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable beds
Liked least: there wasn't a DVD player - but I think this has now been added
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
past0rjim
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful, well-appointed cottage convenient to all the places one would visit in the Cotswolds. Tracy is attentive and prompt in addressing needs. We loved our time in the Old School House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poundde
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This cottage has everything for a great stay”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautifully furnished and thoughtfully kitted out cottage. The welcome pack is a wonderful added bonus to arriving at this lovely cottage. Perfectly situated to visit loads of the gorgeous villages and towns around the Cotswolds. Also close to some fabulous restaurants. Found amongst the useful information listed (again, thoughtfully) in the cottage, by the delightful, helpful owner Tracy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria D
1 review
“Welcoming country retreat”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely week in a beautiful cottage. Gorgeous welcome pack Idyllic country life. Nice park in village for kids to play.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woollyner...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at The Old School House for the first weekend of July. We had driven past it many times and always wondered what it was like inside. Now we know and liked it so much we've already booked to stay again. It's in a lovely peaceful location next to the impressive village church and a short walk away from the village green which has a large play area suitable for kids of all ages. Inside the cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped. There is also a nice outside area for days when the sun is shining. There is a well-stocked Co-op within walking distance. There is no pub in the village but there are some good pubs for meals in Shipton-under-Wychwood which is only 2 miles away. Booking was straightforward and the owner acts promptly on comments left in the visitors book. We suggested there should be something for cooking pizzas on and she e:mailed us a few days after we left to say she'd already acted on this. Impressive!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Beds a bit too soft for us
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter G
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great old cottage with mod cons”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We just loved the place, its location, the warm reception and the welcome goodies. Well placed for touring this part of the Cotswolds and finding perfect hide-outs and looking for reasons to return. Only drawback was that we came with 2 granddaughters, who did cost us a fortune while shopping and eating out in Oxford.
All by all : an example of an outstanding holiday in this unique cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and amenities
Liked least: If anything, the neighbors (a graveyard)
Traveling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing