We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly service, brilliant value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel at Burford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel at Burford
Ranked #1 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, brilliant value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We took advantage of a great deal for a short break with bed, breakfast and evening meal. The food was fantastic with good fish and vegetarian options at dinner. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location all we could hope for down a quiet side street just off the main road through Burford. Our stay was all the more enjoyable for the friendly and professional service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexwoman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    84
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
54
194
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Tucked down one of the side roads the Angel is easy to find, let down only by the lack of parking, but that comes with Medieval towns.

We stayed in the Camargue room, which was well equipped and spacious. Once the heating kicked in, it was extremely warm with the ability to relax in bed, have a coffee and watch tv.

Whilst located above a restaurant, we did not hear any noise at all.

Breakfast of a full english variety, and a compliment of cereals, warm pastries and yoghurts were heartful and to be honest the best hotel breakfast we have had for many years.

The hosts Sandra and Paul, are warm and inviting and it would be a pleasure to return.

Whilst we did not eat in the restaurant, the menu was varied and the customers seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyntracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northolt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Recently we have stayed in hotels and this was our first foray into Restaurants with Rooms. Attracted by the two rosettes for food and an excellent deal we arrived with some trepidation. Tucked away off the main road, but easy to find, we arrived to a warm welcome from Paul. Our room was spacious and delightfully bright with a nice view over the quiet road below. A busy restaurant boded well for the food. Paul seemed to know everyone by name, clearly he and his restaurant are popular with the locals. We spent the afternoon exploring this delightfull Cotswold town with many interesting shops and an intriguing church.

Dinner in the evening was as good,if not better than,expected. The menu was varied but every item was wonderful. This restaurant clearly deserves its two rosettes, served always with a smile by Paul and his small, dedicated, staff. With only three bedrooms the service is personal, almost intimate and you are treated as a friend / guest - certainly not customers.

And so to bed ... The beds arer large and comfortable with all thge extras (bathrobes etc) you would expect in a very good 3* hotel. The floors creak, the village bells ring on the hour, but this is the charm of a 16th Century Inn in the Cotswolds.

We stayed just two nights with a freshly cooked breakfast of local produce setting us up each morning. The food was always light and although the portions were very generous the quality of the food meant that you never felt over filled.

One mystery - where are the tortuous stairs mentioned in the earlier review? Don't let anyone be put off by this - the stairs are fine and the rooms are worth it.

Thanks again to Paul for a wonderful few days. He has made his mark in the three years he's ownedthe Angel. let'shope he stays for many more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

The welcome on arrival makes up fully for the absence of parking accommodation. Helpful guidance on a parking place, an immediate carrying-in of suitcases, excellent first=floor bedrooms (tho' a tortuous staircase), and a warm and welcoming bar, followed by an innovative and enjoyable menu in the Dining-room. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoleendCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

what a lovely place. we were directed to the Angel by another hotel in Burford and we are so glad that we took the advice. The Angel is situated along a side road in Burford, giving you peace and quiet from the high street. The owner Mr Paul Swain is a very friendly and likable person. The service is impeccable and the room was perfectly clean and comfortable.We were given a front door key just incase we wanted to be out past Paul's bedtime. In the evening we discovered that many of the locals ate in the restaurant ,so needless to say the food was also of a very high quality. There is a secluded garden that was perfect for a late afternoon drink and newspaper reading. We paid £85 for our room with breakfast (Midweek) and I will most definatley return when we are in the Cotswolds next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

We had a very warm welcome and were shown to a French bed room nicely decorated with everything you could possible need , lovely big fluffy towels which were a delight, the only slight complaint was the slowness of the water for filling the bath and the poor shower. The buiding is full of character being 400 years old and has been thoughtfully furnished. Paul was very welcoming and obviously a popular landlord' We enjoyed our dinner in the evening after walking through the town which has some lovely shops in the High Street..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manxbat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

If you love peace and quiet and great food then this is the place for you.

Paul and Sandra are great hosts and made us feel very welcome from the start. We slept in the Simione room which has a nice classical theme with roman and geek art everywhere. The bed was fantastic, Comfortable and with real sheets.

The bathroom had all the usual items with a bath, shower (over the bath), soft towels and toiletries.

The restaurant was superb and the food extremely enjoyable. The menu had lots of options and had some very good dishes including fish, fowl and vegetarian. I would also recommend the cheese board was a work of art.

A further highlight was th breakfast. The full english is the best I have ever had in a hotel and when Paul asked if i wanted an extra egg i thought I had died and gone to heaven. It included a good pork sausage, bacon tomatoe, a large mushroom and fried bread, yummy.

Also available was haddock and poached egg which my partner said was delicious.

This is a real treat and put it on your shortlist if you are visiting the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Burford

Property: The Angel at Burford
Address: 14 Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16th-century coaching inn located in the picturesque market town known as 'The Gateway to The Cotswolds' gives the ideal location for a quick pint, a hearty high quality meal, or a welcoming break away. We pride ourselves on giving a warm welcome to all and ensuring that whatever your reason for visiting us, you will always want to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Angel at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel At Burford Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing