We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel at Burford
Ranked #2 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

6 of us went here for lunch to escape the rain. Lovely open fire in the bar. Great food in the restaurant, beautifully presented. Wonderful waitress who was most helpful. Portions relatively small so room for the wonderful lemon tart. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank member0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    86
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
55
197
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Angel, the staff here were very kind and extremely welcoming. The rooms were clean, warm and cosy with beautiful en-suite facilities.
The breakfast was amazing and there was a wide variety of choice.
The hotel is set back from the main street, but there you can find lots of country pubs and restaurants.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this little pub last november when we called in for a quick drink. It had such a lovely atmosphere we booked there and then for my birthday this february. We've just spent a fab weeknd here and will definitely go back. The pub is only small which makes for an intimate and cosy ambience made even better by the roaring log fire. I've not stayed in pub rooms before so was a little wary about what to expect, however, the room was clean and nicely decorated with a cosy little lounge area just outside. The food is delicious- both breakfast and the evening meals. When we stayed the owners were just going off on holiday and we were a little worried it may not be the same laid back atmosphere as when we'd popped in in november. However, nothing to worry about at all - they could not have left their pub in better hands - the lovely Assumpta and her husband Peter and the other staff were great, so welcoming and so friendly. It made my birthday weekend extra special. The Cotswolds are my favourite part of the country and this pub provides a great base from which to explore. The publicans in our home village of Eynsford should go and stay here to learn a lesson or three in hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycenern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely stay at the Angel. Room was fab. Clean and tidy, and above all really cosy. The log fire in the bar was great! It was freezing outside.. Breakfast was LUSH. Nothing bad to say about the place and would return for another stay. Oh and i saw my first wild OWL. Yes sad i know but made my day. (oh owl wasnt in the inn may i add. that would be strange)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vckyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we went to a wedding. The room was pretty and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty. Service was good and return times flexible in the evening. The location is great, just off the High Street. Burford is a beautiful town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaLou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went ot Burford on Sunday 2/12/12 and was dreading having to squeeze into a crowded pub on the touristy main drag. Found this lovely little pub on a circuitous walk from the free riverside car park. Shown straight to a table - the place soon filled up but without any feeling of being jostled. Enjoyed the Hook Norton beer. Small menu but lovely fresh food - we had the duck and the roast beef. A feeling that although there seems to be some tasteful refurb work done, the pub will not have changed much for centuries, in a good way. We'll definitely come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 2 nights whilst visiting our daughter at RAF Brize Norton.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Terence who also assisted with our luggage to the room, this was very much appreciated after a very long and tiring journey.
The room was quite spacious and detailed for any traveller requirement, yes it was a bit tired, but clean and comfortable which is the main priority.
I have to say that for a 16th century building where I'm sure actions for modernisation and improvement are strictly limited I thought the amenities were very good.
Breakfast was excellent with a varied choice of cereals, juice, tea, coffee, toast and a hearty Full English nicely cooked and well presented.

Being accommodation providers ourselves we can appreciate the effort the owners had put in to providing a perfectly acceptable service and at a very competitive price, we will definitely return and also recommend to others.

(Don't be put off by social noise from the bar or dining areas in the evening, we never heard a thing after 11.00pm, but after all, it is an Inn)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castle_View_Hudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel at Burford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel at Burford

Property: The Angel at Burford
Address: 14 Witney Street, Burford OX18 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel at Burford 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16th-century coaching inn located in the picturesque market town known as 'The Gateway to The Cotswolds' gives the ideal location for a quick pint, a hearty high quality meal, or a welcoming break away. We pride ourselves on giving a warm welcome to all and ensuring that whatever your reason for visiting us, you will always want to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel at Burford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel At Burford Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing