We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome on a cold day”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Travelling through Burford on a bitterly cold February day we stopped for lunch at the Lamb. We were delighted with the building, the welcome, facilities and the food. First we visited the loos, which were clean, equipped with good quality hand soap, hand cream and individual hand towels for guests - much nicer than the usual paper or hot air hand drier.

On returning to the bar, the barman suggested we might like to have our lunch sitting by an open fire in a lounge next door - feeling cold and rather lurgy I jumped at the chance and was not disappointed. Large wing chairs by the fire were very comfortable, the decor was tasteful and relaxing. The building dates back to the 14th Century and we learnt that it is reputed to be the oldest pub in England. The staff were very friendly, made sure our every need was met and the fire was kept well stoked with logs. The Lamb has accommodation which we have yet to sample but if it was as good as our experience for lunch would be well worth consideration when visiting Burford which is such a delightful Cotswold town.

Our lunch of confit of duck was delicious, beautifully cooked and presented, though if I was going to be very picky, maybe a little short on vegetables. All in all a wonderful oasis of calm and a great watering hole en route back to Devon. We shall return next time we are passing through Burford and hope to stay there sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingdevonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

It is a fantastic to read such high praise. As a staff we are proud of and enjoy the Lamb Inn and this is a huge part of the ambience we try and create for everyone who visits. The confit duck leg is a dish that we are struggling to remove from the menu as the positive feedback has been so strong. Your glowing review has aided in keeping this dish on the menu for a few more months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 744 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic stay. The superior rooms are large and comfortable with some great touches. The service from all staff is superb and the quality of the food is excellent. Highly recommended for a relaxing break in a quality environment

Room Tip: Worth going for the more expensive premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

This is the kind of title we should advertise! Our staff really respond to praise of this ilk. Thank you for your glowing report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this lovely Inn. We had "Tannery" Room which was small but comfortable and well equipped. Most rooms seem to have a quiet position - as this was.
We thought that the value of the two-night,dinner and breakfast offer was excellent.....the food in the restaurant was superb for both dinner and breakfast. We didn't try the Bar Food but it seemed equally good.
The staff must have a special mention too....ALL were extremely attentive and friendly .....couldn't have been better ! We would also like to thank the Nightwatch man who dealt with noisy, drunk "neighbours" in the adjacent room to ours at 2am on our second night ! We hope he didn't use violence (we do really!!) but he was effective !
In summary, a really charming comfortable Inn, in a beautiful setting, with high standards throughout...we will definitely try to return in the summer to fully appreciate the garden !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I have passed on your regards to Mario who was the responsible body dealing with the noisy guests. I am very happy that this was a minor blot on your stay as it was such an unusual event. The Lamb Inn is usually tucked up in bed by 11.30pm! I hope your next visit will allow you a night to stay by the fire in our bar/lounge to enjoy the menu there. Although in a different style to our restaurant, it is an offering we are extremely proud of. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for a two night break on the midweek package. Great value - dinner was included in the restaurant on our first night - loved the food especially the scallop starter. We ate in the bar on our second night and this was good bar food - couldn't be faulted especially the steak and ale pie! Stayed in the Windrush room - pretty and comfortable with a comfy bed and lovely bathroom. We loved The Lamb and can't praise the staff highly enough - hopefully we will be back soon!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FiJay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. I hope we will see you again soon. We will try, but topping “perfect” has really set us a challenge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed Feb 2013

The Inn is very traditional with open fires and flagstone floors so ideal if that is what you are looking for . We were treating ourselves to a romantic night away and The Lamb in provided lovely accommodation . Our room was large ( we had auricula ) and very quiet - the bathroom in my view was under used as it was so large it is crying our for a roll top bath.
Importantly the bed was very large and very comfortable and the finishing touches of fresh mik and flapjacks in the room was appreciated.
The bar and restaurant did not disappoint and the restaurant food was stunning - we would definately go again .

Room Tip: Auricula is large and quiet being on one of two rooms in that section of the Inn - i think that thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjgBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Auricula is an often requested room and I am pleased it has another fan! That said, I would relish the opportunity to have you stay in other bedrooms. Each is decorated individually and as Sheep Street is quiet, all of our rooms offer a peaceful sleep. I will look forward to your returning visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We found the Lamb by accident, while wandering round Burford looking for somewhere to have a nice snack lunch on a cold miserable February day (we had been touring the Cotswolds in our motorhome and were on our way home). From the moment we entered the warmth of the fire, the cosiness and the service we got could not be faulted. I had the Seafood deli platter while my partner had the Meat platter. The variety and the quantity of the food was exellent. We found it good value for money. We will certainly come here again on our travels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your impromptu visit to the Lamb Inn. I am very pleased that you have noted the value in your meal as this is something we keep a regular eye on. I hope your first visit will not be your last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this old coaching inn for 2 nights in October 2013.A warm welcome to our bedroom overlooking Sheep Street with excellent facilites considering the age of the property.

Dinner was taken on both nights in the a la carte restaurant. the menu was varied and the quality of the food served was excellent with a good choice of wines.Service standards were very good and a excellent breakfast cooked to order.

A small cosy and comfortable residents lounge with log fires.

The hotel is part of a small group - Cotswold Inns & Hotels. They have given the Lamb Inn upgades in keeping with it's traditional heritage.

The hotel is well situated just of the main road in Burford - within 5 minutes walk from shops, tea rooms etc.

A positive recommendation for this lovely old coaching Inn - you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It is very nice to read genuine appreciation of the Lamb Inn which as a building stands at over 600 years old. We have a similar respect and enjoyment of the property. I look forward to receiving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,297 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
667 reviews
17.3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
12.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range: $163 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing