We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food was fine...when it eventually came”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The food was fine...when it eventually came”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went for Saturday lunch in the bar and when we phoned to ask were told there was no need to book. They might want to re- think that little policy because they seem to have a kitchen which cannot cope. They might if bookings were staggered, who knows?

We ordered 3 deli platters (houmous, salami, that kind of thing) and just after I'd ordered I overheard an irate man complaining at the bar that his party had ordered 5 meals but only 4 had arrived. At the other end of the bar a customer from another table was complaining about the same thing. Poor waitress, I thought, they didn't need to be quite so tetchy with her. Three quarters of an hour later, when our food hadn't arrived, I felt their pain and was just as unimpressed and feeling pretty tetchy myself.

When I said to a passing waiter "excuse me, we've been waiting 45 minutes" he shrugged and said "everyone's waiting" - oh well, that's all right then. But just as we were about to leave it turned up and it was fine. Although on a platter with roast beef, ham and chorizo I'd have expected to be offered horseradish or mustard and there was no lemon with the fish platter (smoked salmon, trout, taramasalata, anchovies) so that was a bit rubbish too. Nice pesto and tapenade with the bread though and great chicken with the Caesar salad.

It's a really pretty pub, all Cotswold stone and trailing wisteria and sloping flagstones and I love the lack of music and the pretty garden and the Molton Brown in the loos but they need to sort out the kitchen and the service. There was a sweet woman behind the bar who was very apologetic and she knocked 25% off the bill which I appreciated but honestly, I'd rather have been fed within a reasonable time scale. If we had been we'd probably have had pudding, coffee, more drinks and spent more money but as it was we just wanted to eat and go.

To sum up: pretty pub, well meaning woman behind the bar, average food, terrible speed of service and for this reason I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    158
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
81
444
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at The Lamb for a joint birthday celebration, the weekend has been the perfect escape! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff, who apologised our room wasn't quite ready. We were more than happy to curl up in the bar and enjoy a satisfying Chardonnay and a pint of Hooky. Within 10 minutes we were shown to our room, the light and airy Auricula room. The room had everything you would need and even a Birthday card as it was my 40th! Such a lovely touch. We decided on informal dining and chose to eat in the bar. Again service was brilliant, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I recommend the scallops and black pudding starter, and the Ruby and White local steaks are melt in the mouth! After dinner you can relax in the stunning gardens or sit in the lounges where a well stocked library and plenty of newspapers will assist with your relaxation. A very comfortable bed gave a 5 star nights sleep! Breakfast is a must, the local farm sausages are amazing and the Drambuie Marmalade is divine. All in all Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband took me to the Lamb for a birthday weekend - the hotel was beautiful, staff were wonderfully helpful. We ate at the restaurant one night and the meal was amasing, the steak was beautiful and cooked to perfection - the cheese board was delightful.

The bar and lounge are lovely to relax in and catch up on some reading and the gardens the ideal place to have an afternoon cup of tea.

The location is perfect, a few minutes walk from the picturesques high street of Burford.

Would love to return soon and spend another relaxing weekend here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobkinsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent a summer special night here and the receptionist on booking recommend the Rosie room as we had a dog. What a find a room with it's own private garden. I must admit the room is not the largest so of your dog is a Great Dane it would be tight. :)) However the service was out of this world and the food was superb, normally on certain deals you get a lesser amount of food and service but not here. Top marks for a brilliant cheese board and well done to Mr Ramsey and his staff. Rush there it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from a summer special break at the Lamb. We had eaten there before but never stayed over; this time we opted for the D+B&B break. It was great value as the venue, rooms, staff and food are terrific. The real highlight was relaxinfg in the beaufiful classic English garden with afternoon tea and a very large jug of Pimms (part of the deal). The staff were very good; attentive and very professional. We ate both nights in the main restaurant which is very atmosperic with lovely modern paintings and traditional decor. The food is modern British with some superb elements; for example, the crayfish and scallop starters and the lamb loin main. I would also recommend the White Rioja which is very reasonably priced and goes very well with the smoked haddock.. Do have "early doors" drinks in the garden as they bring a good selection of nibbles with them and ensure you have sausage for breakfast. We worked up an appitite by walking to "The Barringons" two viliages approx 3 miles (6-7 miles round trip) from Burford (ask at reception for a map). The route followes the river Windrush and there is a convienient pub (The Fox) at Little Barrington about half way where one can stop for a pie and a pint. All in all a superp three day break. Burford too as an old wool town gas a lot to offer for those of us who enjoy the good things in life.

Room Tip: When booking ask the reception staff for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I picked this hotel as a little treat for my husband's 60th birthday. It is everything I had hoped for and more. If you like cosy traditional Englishness, look no further. Burford's main street is busy with quite heavy traffic, but this hotel is on a side road and it is really very quiet and calm. We live in the middle of nowhere and it was a concern of mine that we would find it noisy being by a road, but believe me it is fine and we both slept well. We hope so much to return for a longer visit. Staff very attentive, food excellent and good value. There is a large garden to eat in which is really lovely and peaceful. My only slight negative comment would be that the bed was very hard in our room, (Aconite), so I would ask when booking for a softer bed than the one in this room if you are not a hard bed person. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Just take note of the bed comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had lunch in the gardens on a nice summer day and saw lots of happy residents of the hotel. Food is average but reasonable value for money for a hotel. Our only complaint is that there is a lack of vegetables in the main courses. Service was excellent and we will visit again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
8.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing