We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Burford summer break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Mellor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Burford summer break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned from a summer special break at the Lamb. We had eaten there before but never stayed over; this time we opted for the D+B&B break. It was great value as the venue, rooms, staff and food are terrific. The real highlight was relaxinfg in the beaufiful classic English garden with afternoon tea and a very large jug of Pimms (part of the deal). The staff were very good; attentive and very professional. We ate both nights in the main restaurant which is very atmosperic with lovely modern paintings and traditional decor. The food is modern British with some superb elements; for example, the crayfish and scallop starters and the lamb loin main. I would also recommend the White Rioja which is very reasonably priced and goes very well with the smoked haddock.. Do have "early doors" drinks in the garden as they bring a good selection of nibbles with them and ensure you have sausage for breakfast. We worked up an appitite by walking to "The Barringons" two viliages approx 3 miles (6-7 miles round trip) from Burford (ask at reception for a map). The route followes the river Windrush and there is a convienient pub (The Fox) at Little Barrington about half way where one can stop for a pie and a pint. All in all a superp three day break. Burford too as an old wool town gas a lot to offer for those of us who enjoy the good things in life.

Room Tip: When booking ask the reception staff for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    156
    49
    17
    15
See reviews for
79
431
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I picked this hotel as a little treat for my husband's 60th birthday. It is everything I had hoped for and more. If you like cosy traditional Englishness, look no further. Burford's main street is busy with quite heavy traffic, but this hotel is on a side road and it is really very quiet and calm. We live in the middle of nowhere and it was a concern of mine that we would find it noisy being by a road, but believe me it is fine and we both slept well. We hope so much to return for a longer visit. Staff very attentive, food excellent and good value. There is a large garden to eat in which is really lovely and peaceful. My only slight negative comment would be that the bed was very hard in our room, (Aconite), so I would ask when booking for a softer bed than the one in this room if you are not a hard bed person. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Just take note of the bed comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had lunch in the gardens on a nice summer day and saw lots of happy residents of the hotel. Food is average but reasonable value for money for a hotel. Our only complaint is that there is a lack of vegetables in the main courses. Service was excellent and we will visit again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I said we'd be back, we did and another 5* review, so pleased our first visit experience wasn't a one off. The rooms, food, service and location are all amazing, special praise to the GM he is very 'visual' at the property, which having worked in the industry for a number of years is lovely to see when many dont choose to lead their team from the front. Now to work out when we can fit in another return visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BumblesF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Have visited Burford a few times, always thought it a beautiful town but never stayed over. My birthday was perfect excuse to make a night of it. Super little inn, all nooks and crannies and low ceilings and a gorgeous four poster bed overlooking the quiet road outside. Met Bill, the GM, great guy who wanted to chat about the Olympics opening ceremony and also made sure we got moved to a star table in the restaurant for dinner. Dinner is great value when part of the overnight package, the menu is engaging and modern and a varied wine list with no scary prices. Great food too, from dinner through to breakfast served in a contemporary yet still very English restaurant. Perfect courtyard with very pretty gardens for pre-dinner drinks. All in all a great night, for special occasions or just to indulge and get out of the city for a night. And I loved the iconic "Puffball Sheep" prints that are everywhere through the hotel, really captivating image of a sheep - go visit and you will see what I mean!

Room Tip: We stayed in the romantic four poster bedroom the Shepherd Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just returned home having spent four days touring the Cotswolds. It is a wonderful part of England to explore and an area we will want to go back to, as four days just weren't enough. There are the well known old little towns like Winchcombe, Stowe and Chipping Campden, but we hit the jackpot by staying in Burford, an excellent base from which to go and visit places such as Sudeley Castle and Hidcote. Try the croissants at Hufkins. They are to die for! The real delight was leaving the A and B roads and going along one track roads through golden corn fields to little gems such as Guiting Power, where time has stood still.
We stayed at the Lamb Inn, a lovely inn where everything was just perfect and to our liking. Fantastic staff, always helpful, nothing to much trouble. Charming rooms, good food and a pretty garden in which to enjoy Tea and Lunch. A big thank you to Milena and all the wonderful staff there. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed one night as a base for seeing some Cotswold villages. Burford is a delightful Cotswold village with lots of the usual yellow stone buildings. The hotel has no car park but this is not a problem as there is loads of on street parking nearby. Situated only 2 -3 minutes walk from village centre, but off the main drag so no traffic noise.
Reception was friendly and efficient and we were shown straight to our room. The room was lovely, big comfy bed, LCD Tv with all freeview channels. All well maintained throughout. Bathroom was large and well maintained with quality toiletries.
Breakfast in the restaurant next morning was excellent in quantity, quality and service. The full english breakfast was as good as I have ever had. In closing an exceellent base for touring in the Cotswolds. I would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing