We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic new year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic new year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

each year my husband,myself & 2 friends go away every new year for a couple days.we decided to spend it at 'The Lamb' a black tie,meal & live music. what a fantastic night it was.the meal was absolutly fantastic,the service was brilliant. very warm & friendly & the band was really good.had a fantastic night.nothing was missed. a big thank you for making our new year a good one xx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    158
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
80
444
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have stayed at The Lamb on several occasions and always look forward to returning. On this occasion I encountered a few problems but they were sorted without fuss or difficulty--a sign of customer care.The bar food is excellent and can be taken in front of a roaring fire--I personally prefer the bar food to that in the restuarent but that is a matter of taste. The breakfast can only be descibed as 'magnificant'. Burford itself is a picturesque cotswold village which is close to other pretty towns and villages. My only comment is that the furniture in the common areas of the hotel is showing signs of heavy use and shabby chic might soon give way to shabby! Guests might like to know that off road parking is available in the Bay Tree Hotel ( a sister hotel) some 100 yards away as Sheep Street can be very busy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theriviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I spend a night at The Lamb a few nights before Christmas. We live about 10 miles away and have had lunch there many many times. In the Summer it has a wonderful garden to have lunch in, in the winter 3 relaxed rooms where you can sit in front of a roaring fire.
The food is great, mostly locally sourced and a lot of game. Service is very good.
We had a twin room which was on the small size but very well furnished and decorated, just what we needed for for a night away from the kids (Thanks Mum for baby sitting!).
The dining room is great, very luxurious with an interesting menu.
The Chef has obviously been watching Master Chef because his plates were very well put together. Unfortunately we found the food quite bland and very small sizes. Desserts were great.

Recommendations
Burford is a great Cotswolds town, lovely countryside and lots of attractions close by. Only 90 minutes (ish) from central London.

Great place for lunch time food. Great place to stay. Dinner was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Burford is a lovely Cotswolds town with plenty nice small shops, pubs and cafes. The Oxford Shirt Company clothes shop is a labryinthe and well worth visiting. Also nice delis and craft shops. The Lamb is a sister hotel to the Bay Tree next door. It is very welcoming with lots of small public rooms with open fires. The bar is very cosy and the beer and wine excellent. Staff are pleasant without being OTT. Stayed in a superior room 'Shepherd' which is a good choice, very spacious, comfy, four poster and fronting the hotel. Large shower room - no bath. We took the room and meal deal and ate in the restaurant. Food was good, a bit Master Chef in style, but if we visit again, which is likely, would go for the bar menu, which has more atmosphere and substantially cheaper.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to feature room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimbolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

We got a really good dinner bed and breakfast deal and will be going back again in the new year. The service was excellent, which was a pleasant surprise. Dinner was amazing, loads of appetizing things to choose from. Roaring fires going in all the cozy lounges. Breakfast was also very good, lots of extra choices instead of the usual full English, the Eggs Benedict was delicious.
Our one and only negative was that our bedroom was a tiny bit tatty, all the furniture and sanitary-wear was perfect but it could have done with a lick of paint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimboltonhotelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London W8
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Lamb nestles in a side road off Burford's high street. We arrive late from London, to receive a warm greeting from the Manager who sat us down by the fire to relax after we'd checked in. We were too late to make the restaurant but had an excellent bar meal sat in the bar next to a roaring fire - this place is made for a dull winter's day. Our room was very comfortable with a good bath and plenty of reading material. The Lamb is full of twisting corridors and stairs (apologies to the people I burst in on thinking it was our room - that was in another corridor) and great character. A relaxed morning with a great breakfast and again excellent service from the staff. Only regret - too short a time spent there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSLondonW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Booked food lovers special to celebrate my partners birthday. Staff welcomed our arrival & upgraded us straight away, big plus. Cream tea wonderful, dinner taster menu sublime & 6 course wine was the perfect accompaniment. Only criticism was mackerel was tough to remove from skin, though delicious once achieved. Room lovely & warm, bed comfy & supply of flapjacks kept us full between meals. Numerous breakfast choices - we recommend smoked salmon & scrambled eggs + full english.

sadly too expensive to return as soon as we'd hope, would like to try the other taster menus at other places in the chain

overall - great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.0 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
8.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Sheep Street, Burford OX18 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Sheep Street, in the heart of Burford; The Lamb Inn boasts 17 classic Cotswold bedrooms, with history around every corner. This dog-friendly hotel is also home to a traditional bar and comfy lounges, a beautifully manicured garden and a 3 Rosette awarded Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing