We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal home for a pre-Xmas meet up”
other travelers have booked this property
The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables The Cottages Elevation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables
The Cottages Elevation
The Collection of Converted Barns Dating Back to 1790.
The Barns in the Snow!
The Enclosed Garden with Open Garden Beyond
Adjacent Cottage - The Granary 2 Bed 95459
The View of the Cottages from the Alvescot Downs
The Neighbours!
Ample Parking Directly Adjacent to the Cottage
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Lounge/ Diner. Table Extends.
Lounge/ Diner
Downstairs Shower Room
Downstairs King
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Bathroom
The Hayloft Suite- Available on request
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft SeatingArea with TV
The Hayloft Kitchenette
The Hayloft En-suite
The Hayloft En-Suite
The Hayloft En-suite
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite- Available on request
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Kitchenette
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Optional Twin Annex
Games Room Also Includes Additional Washing Machine, Dryer and Freezer
Games Room Features Fitness Machines, Table Tennis, Pool and Darts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burford, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Chris M
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Ideal home for a pre-Xmas meet up”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have an annual meet up with old friends in the run up to Christmas. And our needs are quite specific - we need at least one downstairs bedroom and toilet/shower room, and at least one other bedroom and shower. We also need somewhere that accepts dogs. So The Stables ticked all those boxes. There was just one remaining problem - we were in the process of adopting another dog making thee between the two couples of us but we weren't sure whether or not we'd have her in time for this break. The details said "2 dogs accepted" So would that be a problem? Well, no! When I contacted the owners they couldn't have been more helpful - "why not book anyway and just let us know later if you get the third dog?" they replied.
So we did book and we're certainly glad we did, because this was a lovely barn conversion and an ideal place for us to meet up in the Cotswolds.
The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Downstairs there is underfloor heating which is very efficient and very welcome coming back in from walks out on cold days. It has all the equipment you could possibly need for a home away from home break. I think it might be a bit too cosy for 6 adults but for 4 adults and children it would be great - the third bedroom which we didn't use is huge an would be a good place for kids to get away from their adults! There is also a large games room/gym which would occupy them for many hours!
For dog owners, just across the road is a fabulous spot called Willow Meadow where there is a huge open area for the dogs to let off steam and a footpath that runs right past the end of the runway at Brize Norton RAF base and you get spectacular views of the planes taking off right above your head if you enjoy that sort of thing (I do enjoy that sort of thing!)
The only slight curious hitch was that when we arrived the towels which had been left out were all damp,
apparently the previous occupants had left late. But that was quickly sorted - no problem.
The Stables is not what you'd call a traditional Cotswold Cottage, but then we wouldn't find one of those which met our requirements anyway. But for a modern, comfortable base for a break it'd be hard to beat. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a great time. Many thanks for leaving the cottage so tidy. We would be delighted to welcome you and your lovely dogs back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage and very friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed at The Stables with 3 friends for a short break. We loved the cottage - it was perfect for 4 adults as we each had our own bedroom and the living area was comfortable for four. The ktichen was very well equipped and there was plenty of crockery and cutlery so we didn't have to wash up or run the dishwasher after each meal! The owners are very friendly and were extremely helpful from the moment we enquired providing information about local facilities and public transport as well as patiently responding to our questions about the heating system during our stay.
The property is surrounded by fields and horses making for a lovely view. The weather was awful so we thought we might try the games room out, but in the end the cottage was just too comfortable so that will have to wait for our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Service
Liked best: The living area - was able to cook and chat which made for a very sociable visit.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and for being such easy guests. We are delighted that you had a good time, despite the weather. Justine & Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anotherJu...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely spacious accommodation and excellent value!”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We really enjoyed staying at the stables. We chose the location to be near family - and for the table tennis table to keep my teenage son happy - but it was a really good location: close to supermarkets and the comforts of town but with a real feeling of being in the middle of nowhere! A public footpath leads from the door up into the fields and I was lucky enough to see a deer on my morning walk.

We particularly liked the fact that we were able to get our extended family round the extremely large extending table - and that there was room for grown up children to enjoy their own space.

.....I think we will probably be returning.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you had a great time and that it worked well for you and your family. The deer do venture out occasionally and it is quite special when you see one up close. We would be very happy to welcome you back and there is a discount for return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great facilities, great service”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed with 4 work colleagues as we had a contract to complete in the area. We found the facilities to be excellent and would love to have had more leasure time in which to use them. Justine and Andrew are the perfect hosts, always on hand to support when we needed anything.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs accommodation which has to be flexible enough to cater for between 2 and 10 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flexibility of the accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you so much. We do try to be as flexible as possible in terms of length of stay and number of guests, as not every group of visitors is a family of 4 wanting to stay a full week. We hope the business venture went well. You know where we are if you need to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley B
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic time staying at The Stables it is a beautiful cottage equipped with everything you could wish for. Comfortable beds and plenty of room for my two year and eight year old grandsons plus myself my husband daughter and her partner. The views around the cottage are lovely and my grandsons loved the watching the horses. We are hoping to book the Stables again for a longer period as this was only a very short break as we were on this part of the country to celebrate my grandaughters wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
We are so glad that you had a lovely time with your family. It's so important to make breaks away count. The horses are lovely, aren't they. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esgt1967
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at The Stables - 4 adults and 2 children - for 2 nights for husband's 50th birthday and the cottage was absolutely fantastic. Spacious and clean and the kids absolutely loved the Games Room - they were in there whenever we weren't out! Well stocked and clear instructions on everything. Only downside if you were to stay for a week is that there is no spare space for food, eg cereals as cupboards were full of crockery/cutlery and integrated appliances. Excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. As people suggest the addition of casserole dishes/ champagne glasses etc., we have obliged, so space is limited as you say. We will look into whether there is room for extra cupboards, so many thanks for your feedback. For instance, we are thinking that we could replace the washing machine with storage, as there are washing and drying facilities in the games room. We will see what we can do, but cottages will always be limited to some extent. We hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan W
Maasdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Very comfortable and clean cottage with fully equiped kitchen, 3 large, beautiful bedrooms and 2 modern bathrooms. Very quiet with beautiful view, but village, pubs and shops nearby. Living room bit small for family of 6, but okay. Lovely countryside, nice walks at doorstep and Oxford just 30 minutes away. The games room is a real plus, not only for children. Very friendly hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Living room (bit small for party of 6)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Thank you for your kind review Jan- much appreciated. We hope you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing