We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Value for money”
other travelers have booked this property
The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables The Cottages Elevation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables
The Cottages Elevation
The Collection of Converted Barns Dating Back to 1790.
The Barns in the Snow!
The Enclosed Garden with Open Garden Beyond
Adjacent Cottage - The Granary 2 Bed 95459
The View of the Cottages from the Alvescot Downs
The Neighbours!
Ample Parking Directly Adjacent to the Cottage
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Lounge/ Diner. Table Extends.
Lounge/ Diner
Downstairs Shower Room
Downstairs King
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Bathroom
The Hayloft Suite- Available on request
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft SeatingArea with TV
The Hayloft Kitchenette
The Hayloft En-suite
The Hayloft En-Suite
The Hayloft En-suite
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite- Available on request
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Kitchenette
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Wet Room
Games Room Also Includes Additional Washing Machine, Dryer and Freezer
Games Room Features Fitness Machines, Table Tennis, Pool and Darts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burford, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
544Sharon...
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Lovely place. Nice and private. Good base for lots of places. All you need for a nice break. Would use again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a good break here and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracyK143
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This cottage is so lovely that we now make a yearly pilgrimage.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The first time my friends and I stayed in this gorgeous cottage, we enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided make it a yearly thing. We all come from different parts of the UK so it's great to meet up somewhere that's reasonably easy to get to by public transport (check out the buses from Oxford train station to Carterton, then the cottage is only about 15 mins walk from the bus stop). One of us usually tries to bring a car so we can explore the countryside.

The cottage is perfect - well-equipped kitchen, lounge suite and dinner table that both seat 6, two bathrooms, VERY comfy beds, gorgeous views, fun games room with table tennis/snooker/darts/gym equipment etc.

The owners are absolutely lovely, they are very efficient and pleasant to deal with - another thing that keeps us coming back.

Lovely walks in the area - I would recommend having a look at the Oxfordshire city council website as it has ideas for walking routes (with very good directions, even for terrible map-readers like myself) - the website is:
http://www.oxfordshire.gov.uk/cms/public-site/walks-and-rides

Can't speak highly enough of this cottage. Enjoy it if you go - my friends and I will be jealous, we've only just left and already can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and the area
Liked least: Leaving!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and helpful tips for potential visitors. We are always delighted when our visitors have such a great time and wish to return. It's such a good idea getting friends in a central location for everyone. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The double mattress upstairs in the Stables has seen better days as a few springs making it a little uncomfortable.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the cottages worked so well with your wedding plans. It's an exciting, but stressful time for sure! We are also glad the wedding went well and would love a photo if you have time to email one. We would be delighted to welcome you or your friends and family back, so do stay in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TJVJ
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect peaceful well-equipped 'holiday-home' base from which to enjoy the pretty villages and local attractions”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family weekend was helped obviously by great weather but of course also by this accommodation- from the moment we arrived we each saw that reality matched the website description. And while spending time in the property it became increasingly obvious a lot of thought and effort had been put into every planning decision....all much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and all the little extras - eg. games room & toy chests
Liked least: The wi-fi signal was a little patchy around the property.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you and your family had a good time. You mentioned during your stay about how light the rooms are and how that may affect children sleeping- thank you for the feedback, which is always welcome. It is a south facing cottage, which is good in one way, but we understand the point completely. We have curtains and blinds already as you know, but they are light in colour to keep the cottage cheerful, so we have fitted black out linings to the curtains and we have ordered a black out blind in a dark colour for the large rooflight in the loft bedroom. Hopefully, that means it will be bright and cheerful during the day, but dark when you want it to be too. Many thanks again for your constructive feedback- much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: layout
Liked least: light curtains/blinds
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dronny11
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location, quallty home, clean and well kept, great for children.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We came here on a three night stay with our two young children, 5 & 6 as a place to meet up with the grandparents. It worked really well with our family upstairs and the grandparents in the room downstairs next to the living area.

It gave everyone a feeling of space and felt very comfortable. The children loved the loft room as it had a little sofa and a dvd player (no tv reception). There were two toy boxes which were great and the children loved the games room just around the corner. We all had lots of fun in there playing table tennis & darts. They also had a number of board games and books for lending out.

The only downside was the tv signal - it's freesat and when it rains, the signal drops out. Apart from that, it really is a great holiday rental and with the options of extra accommodation, makes for a wonderful place if you have a large family.

There were lots of places to visit nearby and the Cotswold Safari Park is a ten minute drive away. The Lamb Inn, Burford was charming with lovely food.

Thanks to the hosts who were very accommodating and answered all our questions!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games room
Liked least: Poor tv reception and broadband
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will look into the TV signal problem, as we move into the quieter months.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing