We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Anniversary meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn for All Seasons
Ranked #7 of 15 Burford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was our first visit to the Inn , we were looking for a meal to finish off our 19th wedding anniversary day out. Nice friendly welcome to the bar itself , nice warm atmosphere and a comfy old leather armchair to sit in over in the corner , magic.
We both ordered the Angus steak and we weren't dissapointed with the quality ,taste or portion size . To top it off was a bowl of fantastic fat crunchy chips to go with it , all in all I'd say the best steak I've eaten to date. In fact , don't think I'll bother with fillet anymore , the Ribeye was miles better.
Can't comment on accomadation as it was just an evening out for us and not an overnighter.

Big thumbs up from us and we'd happily eat there again .

D&C

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank The_Grouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattsharp, Marketing at Inn for All Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Inn for All Seasons
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 336 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovell pub with rooms. Good value rooms and, while beside a busy A road, walks to open countryside to the rear. Rooms were a good size. The best thing here though is the food- lovely dishes, really well cooked and amazingly good value for the quality. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Inn is a timewarp to the 70's with all the original furnishings from that era including nylon bedspreads. Rooms seem to be photographed with fish-eye lenses and we were somewhat crushed in the family room. The hotel dispenses with the usual hello's and good byes, just as well because they would not be heard above the din of the A40 traffic pumelling past the front of the hotel - the hotel is not in Burford but 5 miles away in another county with no escape for alternative evening entertainment. Within minutes of arriving I noticed our ceiling dripping water which I responsibly placed a bucket under before informing our hostess who seemed to have forgotten me already by asking me the room number to which she had just shown me. No attempt to apologise or remedy the dripping happened during my two night stay. The only upside to the Inn is that it takes dogs, this somewhat constrained me from taking my immediate leave of the establishment and finding another hostelry. I would like to think my dog had a decent stay but the owners viscious snarling black Alsation practically attacked anyone walking from their cars outside and took hold of my dog on the back of his the neck and I fear would have killed him(I am not joking now) had we not had him on the lead and able to pull him out of the way. I am always surprised when I go onto review sites like this and see so many people have given good reviews when the whole experience can be ranked unsavory in the extreme.

Room Tip: Avoid those directly facing the A40 which is only 30 yards away from speeding traffic.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Clarkybravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattsharp, Public Relations Manager at Inn for All Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We have taken these comments very seriously and looked into both matters raised by the guest. The hotel dog Ted, is called ted as he is just that - a real teddy bear that gets on with everyone and every dog. He is very submissive and well known for his laid back temperament. He has never welcomed any guest with any sort of aggression; he simply would not be here after so many years if he was affecting the business. We are a family Inn that happily welcomes dogs, we can confidently offer this as he would not stir up any form of aggression in any other dog, he simply would never react. People feel very comfortable bringing their dogs and they often cuddle up with Ted., children love him too, he is very popular. The Guest told the owner that her dog was ‘practically attacked’’ by Ted. The guest was asked if he was bitten and she said ‘’No’’. He is a dog and occasionally dogs bark, even the laid back ones do at times. If he frightened the guest in anyway we are sorry, but we are glad she appreciated the fact that we are rare in that dogs are welcome, it is for this reason many places do not accept dogs as there is a risk that dogs will not get on. Our locals enjoy walking and stopping in for drinks and lunch and we confidently offer this as we know Ted has a good reputation.
We were experiencing extreme summer downpours and any 16th century Inn may at one time or another experience a teething problem which needs rectifying, sorry we could not rectify this immediately. The slate in the roof was replaced the next day. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and sorry our staff asked for your room number, they wanted to make sure they knew the exact situation, it was to be accurate rather than to cause offence. sorry if asking for a room number was perceived as insulting, it was never intended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Restaurant did not appear overly busy when we arrived around 7.40. Ordered food, although my husband prefers fillet steak which was not on the menu he ordered rib eye instead - £22.50. My choice was the chicken poached and roasted with boulanger potatoes - £14.25.
Service was very slow and it took almost an hour to arrive. 8.45 is a bit late to eat for us.
Total with drinks £43.25 - £2.60 for a J2O £4.40 for a beer! Not impressed overall with my chicken, and the rib eye steak was `o.k' . We found another pub five miles away the following evening and fillet steak was on the menu for £19.95. The food for us both was amazing, and you can guess where we will be going next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank indigoblue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Picked this hotel because it accommodated dogs and what a lovely place with reasonable prices. The welcome was second to none from this family run establishment. Real country pub style bar and restaurant . Although our dog was not allowed in the restaurant a table was reserved for us in the bar area where the dog could sit drooling over our dinners. The food was excellent and varied, with a very good fish menu, the chef obviously has attention to detail. Try the fish soup but only order a small mains, scrummy! Good wines (with a special recommendation of chilled beujoulais from the owner) and excellent cider.
All rooms were charming, clean, comfortable and spacious including TV, nice bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities (in plentiful supply). Lovely lounge area.
Best of all were the welcome Hugo (our Rottweiller/Great Dane puppy) got from Ted & Bob the resident dogs. I don't know who enjoyed our stay more, Hugo or us.
Location on the A40 not a problem traffic noise did not disturb us and just 25 mins from Cheltenham.
Note: we booked at 4pm on the day of arrival (arrived at 7pm) and checked out late neither of which were a problem. The owner also accommodated a late night booking for my collegue without a bat of an eyelid and was she pleased she stayed here rather than the soulless city centre hotel she had booked.
If you expect a five star hotel go to Claridges if you want home from home come here, it cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Spent one night which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Arrived at lunchtime and also had lunch. All the food was excellent, fresh and well presented with plenty on the plates. Our dog accompanied us and the walking was also lovely - pity the weather wasn't a bit warmer but this didn't spoil a wonderful weekend. Accommodation was fine if a little dated. Would recommend the hotel to friends and family. (The landlord isn't bad considering he's an Arsenal fan!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We didn't stay but stopped en route from London to Cirencester for breakfast. Excellent fresh food served in lovely pub surroundings with none of that pub in the morning smell. Would have liked longer to stay and explore the various rooms and to look at all the pictures.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manderlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burford hotels
3.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
547 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
386 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
2.9 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
557 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn for All Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn for All Seasons

Address: The Barringtons, Burford OX8 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Burford
Price Range: $105 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn for All Seasons 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Cotswolds, 5 miles outside of Burford. Our 16th-century coaching inn has large open fireplaces, flagstone floors and exposed wooden beams. Our restaurant offers locally sourced, seasonal food. Our rooms are light and modern, with the charm of the old. All rooms are en-suite with digital TV. We are located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham with good road and rail links. A privately owned, family run business with charm and character. Many local tourism spots for all the family. Function room available for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn for All Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn For All Seasons Hotel Burford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing