We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Cotswolds stay”
Review of Burford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Burford House
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Horsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Cotswolds stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2009

We have just returned from an excellent long weekend in the Cotswolds, staying at the Burford House Hotel in the centre of Burford. This is the perfect spot to see lots of the main attractions of the Cotswolds with easy access to locations such as Stow on the Wold, Chpping Campden, Hidcote Manor Gardens and Blenheim Palace. Burford itself is a lovely village with some unique shops to visit. Our favourites are Burford Woodcraft and the Needlework shop next door. Ian and Stewart, the owners of the Burford House Hotel, are perfect hosts and their staff are superb. It's a very friendly place and our room was just right with an excellent, and very large, bathroom. Breakfast was really good and we were very impressed with the quality of evening dinner when we ate their on a Saturday night. Overall, an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    72
    20
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
171
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

A long weekend for our wedding anniversary found us in Burford on the first sunny weekend of the year.
We stayed in the Wychwood room at the front of the hotel. We wanted a 4-poster and the others at the back were already booked. It is a beautiful room but we too found it very hot due to the towel rails in the bathroom that did not have an obvious 'off' switch. We slept the first night with the windows open, but found the street noise disturbed us - this was beginning to ruin our stay. I assumed the towel rails were linked to the central heating in the rest of the house and was annoyed at the wasteful use of energy. However, a quick word with the lovely staff at the office resulted in somebody being dispatched to locate the off switch and a much cooler, more pleasant remainder of the stay. I was assured that an accessible control was on the list of things to do.
The food was pretty good, not the best I've ever had but good none the less, and if you book dinner when you book your room then you get a discounted rate. We ate in the hotel one night and at restaurants in the town the other two and all were fine. You obviously do not have the same sort of choice as in the city but that isn't why you're here.
Service was personable, the bathroom was fab - bath plenty big enough for 2 - and if you want to be in the middle of a tourist town then the location is ideal. We didn't particularly like Burford during the day but it was lovely in the evening once the shops had shut and the crowds had gone.
All in all we had a lovely time and the staff were great, but I think it is a little overpriced for what it is. It is too close to a B&B for my liking (albeit a top-notch one) and I do not think we would stay again. Not that it is bad, it just wasn't as good as I wanted it to be for the money that we had paid.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed a few days for the Cheltenham Festival - about 30 minute drive away. Short review as there is not much to say.

Good points - Reception, really good food at Dinner and Breakfast, big bathroom, no problem with parking, country house atmosphere.

Not so good points - Small bed / lots of road noise in the front bedrooms

Would definitely stay again, but would book earlier to get the bigger rooms at the back of the hotel. Even if you don't stay the food is great at dinner and the breakfast much better than some reviews I have read.

We also tried the Indian restaurant a few doors away which is under new management and was pretty good.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Cosy, classy, warm, comfortable...and I could go on.
Really nice and spacious room with four posted bed, gowns in the wardrobe, magazines and books, tv and dvd.
Bathroom with bath and independent shower, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, nice warm towels and hairdryer.
Absolutely delightful breakfast and amazing dinner.
Service was friendly and kind.
Perfect romantic break (despite the snow!!)

  • Liked — Atmosphere, staff, food
  • Disliked — Everything was good. No complaint at all
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MartaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed at Burford House at the end of January 2009. Overall, it is a lovely place, very characterful and lovingly furnished - the style is older pieces of furniture mixed with contemporary bathrooms and twists. The owners have now been there for almost a year and they have obviously perfected some aspects - particularly the cooked English breakfast which was wonderful and changed daily according to the ingredients available locally. Burford is a lovely location and we can recommend the excellent new Indian restaurant down the road if you don't want to pay hotel prices for food.

One word of warning: we stayed in "Wychwood", which is one of the two four poster rooms charged at a more expensive rack rate. Wychwood is a lovely room but we would agree with other reviewers that it was very warm. It was also quite noisy once Burford through traffic began in the early morning especially because we had to leave the window open throughout the night due to the heat.

A second and more important point to know, when choosing a room, is that Wychwood is directly above the restaurant and kitchen. Although it was not unpleasant to be woken to the smell of freshly cooked bacon each morning, if you were a vegetarian you may not appreciate it! On a serious note, there was a persistent stale cooking odour in the room throughout our stay. When we let the owner know about this, he said that there is no extractor fan in the kitchen, which would explain the problem. Obviously in an older property you expect some limitations, but we were very surprised by this statement. We did notice that the kitchen door was constantly propped open throughout our stay, which simply allowed the smells to drift around the house.

If we had had our time at Burford House over again, we would have asked for the other four poster room because of these problems. The other four poster room is at the back of the property overlooking the garden so is probably much quieter, and was a bit further away from the kitchen. We would like to reiterate that it's a super little hotel in other respects and well worth considering on your Cotswolds shortlist - just choose your room with care!

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — The smell!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newlywed2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mashwort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the hotel and were very impressed. The room was large, characterful and very comfortable. There were nice touches such as the LCD TV with inbuilt DVD player, with DVDs available and some very nice teddies!

The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful. The garden room was very pleasant, shame the other sitting room doesn't have an open fire.

The location is spot on, with 4 or 5 good pubs within 2 minutes walking, although glad our room didn't overlook the main room.

Overall would recomend this hotel and well worth the price.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mashwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

One of the most homely, yet luxurious, hotels we've stayed at! Definitely worth a visit. Burford is gorgeous and the bakery opposite is now our favourite bakery in England.... try the lardy cake!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.1 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
721 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
540 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,214 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burford House

Property: Burford House
Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing